We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No lights? Really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant

Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant
Sabang, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 230 Restaurants in Palawan Island
Restaurant details
Iloilo City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No lights? Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had to find a hotel to stay at that could get us a pass for the underground river. Poor planning on our part - we did not realize how far in advance you need to get the permit. Well it turns out my girlfriends cousin/aunt/somebody runs the Taraw hotel.

When we arrived I was hoping for a shower to freshen up after the long van ride. Well, being a standard Philippine hotel the cr in our room was pretty nasty (cr - comfort room - restroom). There was no light and when I asked about it they said the power stays off until 6 PM. No. I mean no light bulb. Not on the porch, the bedroom, or the cr! So they get us bulbs, and bring a fan. But we can't use them until 6 PM. As soon as we got to sleep they turned the power back off (around 11PM?) so no fan! Are you freaking serious? You better have a flashlight for any after hours bathroom visits ha ha!

The food we had at the restaurant was pretty good. But if you ever saw the "cheese shop" skit on Monty Python you know how the menu works. You ask for something and they tell you no. Ask for something else... no. Pizza? Well... it is on the menu but it will take me an hour to make it - do you really want it? Ok, not for lunch how about I order it at lunchtime for dinner? Well... I really won't have time to make it. Then why is it on the menu?

And to add insult to injury when we got home they called us to say they undercharged us for the meals and we had to send them another p1,000.

Beautiful location, fair hotel, lousy service. The only reason I rated this as highly as I did was because the view of the beach is spectacular. But I won't stay there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

As part of a Palawan tour we had lunch at this restaurant. We had a great view over the water and the seafood lunch was very good. Service was acceptable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth to eat. (when there is no choice)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I dont know how to have a review at this restaurant. . After our tour at the underground river, we headed to taraw restaurant to have some lunch. Buffet was set with variety of filipino food. The food tasted good like the adobo and the pork chop. The soup was tasteless. Free softdrinks. Vendors were allowed to sell their products while your eating. Staff are not that friendly. One was always speaking how honest he is. I don't care about your honesty sir.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Budget Buffet Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via Local Picks

The buffet lunch was included in the price of Underground river trip from Puerto Princesa
Food was ok if basic (cheaper fatty meats used) But by the time we arrived everyone was hungry so would eat almost anything.
Food was plentiful and replenished regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
“Foods from Heaven!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I super enjoyed the buffet lunch here though it's simple but the taste is heaven. I really don't know the price of it since it is included in our package but you will know that they put their hearts on their foods. I super like the chicken adobo and the soup (it was tinola but they used buko juice instead of water). The taste is original which i haven't tasted before and truly foods from heaven..We also got to taste "TAMILOK". The place is simple but very relaxing!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.