We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If i have three thumbs ill give it a three thumbs up!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Aninuan Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If i have three thumbs ill give it a three thumbs up!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I have been to Puerto Galera a million times and have always settle for White Beach thinking that it's the best that the galera strip could offer. I still could not believe the switch of mood and scenery considering that it's only separated by some rock formation.

We were skeptical at first because a lot of resorts looks better on their websites...but our jaws dropped when we saw the place. We hope they would maintain this kind of set up.

The resort is awesome. Service is great (holler to aiza). And the view is spectacular. If you want to feel like you own the world...come here! My friends and I are now calling this place "our secret paradise".

I can't wait to bring all my loved ones here! I suggest you catch a glimpse of the Sunset at Aninuan too...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    39
    13
    3
    10
See reviews for
75
68
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I went there for my new years party.
I came alone and left with a new "family".
very nice place and nice people. My favourite drink at the cosy bar was the mango-shake with rum.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Living in manila, Sunset at Aninuan is the perfect escape. I myself have been several times in the last two years and left more than satisfied every time.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The beds are very comfortable (which is not always the case in manila) and i liked that the "beach feel" was brought into the room.

The resort's location is both relaxing and quite private unlike white beach. There are enough deck chairs for every guest and there are also hammocks if you would like to have a lie down.

I have to admit that especially loved the service and the bar! i have never had such great treatment at a resort before and the owner is always there to make sure that you are having a good time. The food is a little pricey but is worth it. they have something for everybody on the menu and accommodate to your child's fussy appetite.

i cant wait to go back!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — its next to tamaraw
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

This resort is so amazing. The staff is so friendly, helpful and chef is magnificent. Great food and service is top notch.The rooms was very nice and clean . Very nice set-up and so romantic,specially the dinning tables, night or day is always fabulous day. Great view from our room to the beach, it is very classy and affordable to anyone. It is walking distance to white beach,relaxing sound of the waves.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Puerto Galera has many resorts to offer, but none compare to Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort. After visiting different areas surrounding this resort, including the nearby White Beach, I was able to compare the other resort choices and was incredibly satisfied with having the luxury of staying at this specific resort. A luxury is was indeed.

The resort itself is beautiful. The rooms are big, bright, and very very clean. It was easy to feel at home in our room. We woke up every morning to the sounds of the waves, and ended each night with the sight of a beautiful sunset, visible from every room in the resort.

The resorts property is very well planned, allowing for privacy from visitors from other resorts and also locals. We were able to relax by getting massages on the beach or by enjoying other recreational activities. We visited a local village and also the beautiful Tamaraw falls with a tour offered by the resort. We also took a nature hike and saw many beautiful things. The resort is also very close and within walking distance to White Beach, an area with a busy nightlife, where we had a great time. But most enjoyable was being able to lay in the sun and swim all day in the clear water.

The food at the resort was delicious, offering a great selection including traditional filipino dishes. However, We were most impressed by the service we received by the employees at the resort. They were always on hand to help with anything needed, and always worked with a smile on their faces. They were great to talk to and by the end our stay, we knew most of them by name.

The resort may be a little pricier then those surrounding it, but it is certainly worth it. I would definitely be willing to pay a little more to stay in this resort again when visiting the Philippines in the future. Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort was an amazing place to stay and was the highlight of our trip through the Philippines. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone interested in visiting the country!

  • Liked — The privacy and the view.
  • Disliked — It ended too soon.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

We moved to the Philippines from Belgium almost 2 years ago and keep on comming back to this resort, last weekend it was the 6th or 7th time. We first checked it out in June 07 when recommended by a collegue for our beach party that we planned following our wedding in Belgium and it was love at first sight. The location is really top, the resort is right on the beach with in the back virgin hills with a waterfall to discover at walking distance, far away from the Manilla hassle, as soon as you set foot on the shore you immediately feel at home in this paradise...
The rooms in the new part might not be cheap but it is good value when you finally find a place that is adapted to your taste which is not so easy in the Philippines if you don't want to spend an awful lot of money.
We came back with my parents in November 07 and spent another wonderful 4 days.
We rented the whole resort in January 08 and the owner of the resort helped us to organize the most memorable wedding beach party ever for us and our guests. Despite the rain it was without doubt the best time I ever had in my life: 6 months pregnant surrounded by my closest friends in the greatest spot on earth! Up to the smallest detail it was perfect, the flowers and the candles that lead our guests to an idylic spot on the beach where we exchanged our vows and had a little ceremony prepared by our friends, life music to give it this extra romantic touch, a cocktail fountain, a great buffet and we all danced under the stars and the palmtrees with flowers, tasteful little lights and candles everywhere.
When our daughter was 9 days old, we returned with my sister who came to visit us, a month later we came with my in-laws and last weekend we brought 2 other couples with babies. Everyone just loved it.
The staff is super friendly and they can arrange whatever you want: diving, a banca boat ride, a ride around the island, massage, manicure, pedicure... at very reasonable prices. The food is also good and the beach bar is great. Just bring a baby monitor and you can have a great night out with the sound of the waves at 2 steps of your room.
I would have kept this as my little secret place but I feel I have to recommend this place because they do a great job.
We keep on discovering new places in the Philippines that we like, but we will still keep on comming back to see the sunset at Aninuan beach resort!

  • Liked — The relaxing ambiance, all stress is immediately gone.
  • Disliked — That you have to check out eventually;)
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Quezon City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Me and my boyfriend went there last August where it was rainy here in Manila just to have a quick vacation over the weekend. We loved everything that is there... The friendly staff, the comfy bed, the drinks at the bar and the food... even if what you wanted wasn't in the menu, you can ask them to cook it and that was one of the highlights of our trip for we both are pescatarians. Of course, the promised breathtaking sunset is there which was magnificent. We stayed there for two nights and we wanted to stay longer if not for our work. We would definitely tell our friends of our satisfying trip.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — The trip was quite long.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort

Address: Aninuan Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is on the Tropical Island of Oriental Mindoro, fronting the West Philippine Sea. With the newly built South Luzon Express Way, directly routing to Batangas Port, it's only 2-3 hours by car and ferry boat from Manila International Airport. This resort is one of the most attractive in Puerto Galera with a breathtaking sunset that made the place popular to honeymooners. Situated right on the best beach in Puerto Galera, it's just a step from your room to the crystal clear water and house reef ideal for the snorkelers. It's perfect for weddings and families with children. It has a unique combination of style, location and palm-studded arrangement of dwellings with beach front sea views. With the in-house dive centre, modern gym, spa, infinity pool and suites, one can easily say that it is one of the best in Puerto Galera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At Aninuan Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.