We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ribbon Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Ribbon Dive Resort to your Saves list
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my BF went there last nov.22 to celebrate our anniversary by trying discover scuba diving. Very affordable rates/packages. ;)
Our instructor is Marcus and he's a nice person. Equipment/gears are in good condition.
I also love the way they accomodate/serve their customers. We planned to go to white beach after our dsd, and I asked the receptionist if where can we take our shower and told me that we can use one of the rooms there to take showers. They also gave us towels to use. ;) Kudos for this resort! If I will pursue diving, I will return to this resort to do the course.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRibb0n, Owner at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Guys

Thanks for the review and we're very happy you enjoyed yourselves. A point noting is that if you have completed the Discover Scuba with us you can continue to your Open Water with us at a discounted rate. Also we give discounts if you book directly with us.

Glad you enjoyed yourselves, and even if it is not with us, I hope you go on to complete your Open Water and become regular divers. If you live in the Philippines there is no excuse in my opinion :)

Take Care, Marcus says Hi

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    38
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
67
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just got back after doing 13 dives with them. Dive schedule was typically at 1000, 1230, 1500 plus night dive if someone is interested. An 0800 hour dive can be requested as well. The restaurant beside the staging area is convenient before and/or after a dive. Dive and restaurant operations appears to be managed well with courteous and professional customer service. I would not hesitate to dive with these folks if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRibb0n, Owner at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for the review, and more importantly thank you for your stay with us.

We are always very happy to read these reviews. I often find different members of our staff reading all the comments on tripadvisor, they know that their service is being appreciated.

Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We came to Sabang to dive and were delighted with our choice of resort. The room was clean and tidy and there is a large fan and air-con unit. The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The dive staff were great, very friendly and fun to be around. The diving is lovely, with some spectacular diving right in front of the resort or up to 15 min away by boat. The resort is a little way along the beach from Sabang itself, which is great, you can walk into town to pub/club and then come back to a nice quiet resort. The restaurant served good food. The pool was clean and tidy. Overall, I'd definitely recommend Blue Ribbon (or indeed Sabang) to anyone who wanted to go on a well priced diving holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRibb0n, Owner at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It means a lot to us.

We hope to see you again soon. Remember if you stay with us over 2 times, we give an extra 10% discount on everything to reward customer loyalty.

Take care and hopefully see you again in the future.

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place does exactly what it says on the tin....
It is not a 5 star resort and they do not think they are, this is a great little sociable hotel, with good food, great staff, great diving staff who are very helpful and always willing to listen...
I went on my own and met some great people, diving was superb, I learnt a lot, I went there with a liking to dive, I came back loving to dive...
Lots of great dive sites only a short boat ride away, I managed 4 dives in one day....
The only thing that wasn't too great was the speed of the Wi-Fi, but then I can live without it..
Would certainly recommend this hotel if you are going diving, I shall certainly stay there again without a doubt....
Very cost effective, I had a bungalow, very large and could sleep 4 people...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRibb0n, Manager at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Ian

Thanks for the review.

We have been battling with different internet providers for years, trying to find one that is acceptable. Finally we have got three new connections to Smart's updated service, and the internet is about 100 times better than it was.

You won't be streaming off Netflix on it, yet for general day to day use it more than acceptable now.

We hope to see you again in the future, and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Take Care

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have just come back from blue ribbon and had a great experience there. The rooms are basic but adequate and the location and staff are great. I went on my own but with wife and kids would probably stay else where and just dive with Blue ribbon. But for those who are on their own or on a budget this is the best place I have found in puerto galera and I have been going for many years.

I will definitely return, hopefully next month :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic Bay
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

To be honest I was expecting a good to very good set up based on the Trip Advisor reviews I had read. But the accommodation and facilities were average by western standards. But the rates are inexpensive and the staff friendly. So in the end I enjoyed my stay. But it was poor weather and at high there was no beach at all. If you are on a strict budget it is certainly worth considering, but don't expect too much in the way of rooms and facilities.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the front away so noise from local houses not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRibb0n, Owner at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi, and thanks for the review.

This is one problem we seem to have. We are not a luxury resort, and our rooms have all the amenities you need, yet some people see our high ratings and then believe we are going to be contenders to the more luxurious, more expensive resorts in terms of room amenities.

You were not diving with us, if you notice all the great reviews are from the divers, where a lot of them agree that the rooms are not the selling factor of the resort (even though they are great value for their price).

The beach is not the reason you come to Sabang and Small Lalaguna. If you want the nicest beaches you need to head over to White Beach or Aninuan. Sabang and Small Lalaguna are the divers beaches, the dive sites are so close to us here, where at White beach or Aninuan you have to travel for 30 minutes to get here.

Anyways, thanks for staying with us and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Their rooms are big, its clean and their ref is full of mini-bar stuff. The prices here is very affordable. They don't try to rip you off. Diving is great in the island and their prices are lower compared to others. They only have a few rooms but they are all well maintained. They have a small Jacuzzi in the center of the resort and a nice small pool. Staff are friendly.

Though they allow you to check out late if there is no one. Its hard boarding your hired boat because the tide gets low in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ribbon Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ribbon Dive Resort

Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ribbon Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort is located on Small Lalaguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Philippines. We have 14 Bungalows and rooms located around a tranquil garden, on the beach front. We have a gym and a small diver training pool. We have a 24 hour reception, and housekeeping is included in the room charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Ribbon Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.