We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribal Hills Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tribal Hills Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Tribal Hills Mountain Resort
Baragay Aninuan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 45 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my gf stayed here for 3D2N, the place is awesome! you can see the mountains right in front of your room and the Aninuan beach on the other side. The place has an excellent view! especially when you're in their restaurant where you can see the breath taking view of Aninuan beach. The resort offers free breakfast but for few selections only, they also offer free trekking but for those who have asthma it's not recommended for you guys coz you have to cross 6-8 rivers and you have to walk for about 45min. to 1hr. one way, but once you reach the Aninuan falls it's all worth it. But, for those people who's looking for adventure i'll recommend this to you guys.
The resort is near to Aninuan beach, you can walk for about 10-15min. Or they can drop you off or pick you up from Aninuan beach to the resort any time you want for free. But if you want to go to White beach they have scheduled free service 3x a day Or they can take you there any time but you have to pay P200/one way or you can ride a tricycle for P100/one way. Since the resort is located on the top of the hill, you have to expect that the road is steep but you can text or call their driver to pick you up to the resort or drop you off to the main road for free. The place is quite at night coz it's far from disco bars etc. so it's a perfect place for me to sleep.
The staff are friendly and accommodating.
The resort is clean and their rooms are spacious and looks elegant for a cheaper price compare to other hotel and resort. So, overall i'll give 5 stars to Triball Hills Resort.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clark Freeport Zone, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My girl friend and I have been return guests. Last December we had stayed at Tribal Hills for three nights, this time we booked three nights, again, looking forward to a quiet, relaxing stay at Tribal Hills.

The resort is close to the beaches, but on a steep slope, so transportation to and from the resort to the beaches is crucial. Although the resort offers 3 round trips a day, the service never really worked without problems and waiting and we did have a serious, quite intimidating experience with locals harassing us during a pick up at 10 pm at White beach one day. The regular shuttle arrived 1 hour late.

We tried the restaurant the very first night, waited 1 and 1/2 hours for our food, which was very average this time, and were presented a bill that was 20% higher than the prices advertised in the menu. After that we only had our free breakfasts there.

We spent several hours by the pool, but not once the staff at the pool bar was present to serve us drinks or turn on the Jaccuzzi etc. Staff seemed pretty busy to entertain themselves and the management obviously did not mind that. The music that was playing at the pool to entertain the staff playing billiards was so loud, that swimming was not very relaxing, either.

All in all, we were so disappointed that we will try another place next time.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms are not worth the extra money because the balconies are all open and there's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We chose this resort for our honeymoon trip because of great reviews. And no doubt all the reviews we read were fair. The rates are inexpensive as the others offer with great amenities. The rooms are huge and with overlooking balcony. Split type aircon was quiet and every staff was accomodating. There are few guests so you can have a private time with the pool. Overall experience is great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Quiet place, clean rooms with nice designs,friendly staffs, breathtaking view and good food. We got our voucher from metrodeal for affordable price and stayed in standard room. When you miss their shuttle services to white beach at the morning, you can walk it down since the stairs are not that steep. We experienced some sudden electricity and water loss so we called the staffs and they easily fixed it. Also, we love chillin outside the room where you can see the pool.

Some improvements: telephone service to easily contact staffs rather than calling through their mobile no


Overall: We will surely go back here and we hope there's a promo again!

Room Tip: AC at Room 4 doesnt seem to work properly. Other tips: *On trekking to aninuan falls(it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you're looking for a place to relax and unwind. you better stay in this place, it has a breathtaking view of the mountains and the sea. and if you're an adventurous person, you can climb the resort without riding in the shuttle. It was fun. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are spacious, their food is good. Definitely we will visiting this resort next summer again.. Love to stay in this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on standard suite are okey and less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here over Summer of 2014 for 3d and 2n. All I can say is that the room was very spacious and elegant. I love the concept of the sliding doors leading to the veranda. The bathroom was equally luxurious as well. There was a kitchen at the first floor of the unit. The veranda is overlooking the mountains of Aninuan. Visitors can also get a view of the sea at the restaurant and at the garden. The pool area is also very nice. A 24 hour wine and juice bar is also available for people who would want to take a sip while swimming.

On the contrary. there are a few things that require improvement. One is the shuttle service which I think should provide frequent transfers to guest who would want to go to White Beach. There are no local phones available in the guest rooms as well. The hotel should also give more breakfast options to the guests. Housekeeping is upon request only and they charge extra if you ask for new towels. The pathway leading to the main road is very steep.

Overall, the hotel is as good as the pictures. Would love to stay here in the future.

Tip: Always ask for the rooms on the upper floor which has the best mountain view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Breathtaking view,very relaxing,its not too far from white beach.sadly we only stayed for 1 night cos we want to explore the white beach and we only have 4nights in puerto galera,their food is good.staff are nice,the only problem is when u want to drink at the bar and there is no staff to serve u drink u have to climb up and go to reception to find someone to serve u a drink.hope they have a buzzer and also no phone in the room.but our stay is still relaxing cos of the view.would love to come back next time and stay a bit longer.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribal Hills Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribal Hills Mountain Resort

Address: Baragay Aninuan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a hillside overlooking the sea and with breathtaking views of Mt. Malasimbo and the surrounding peaks, Tribal Hills offers the best of all worlds. Close to Aninuan and Talipanan beaches, breathtaking mountain and sea views and a short distance from the nightlife at White Beach. With our own beautiful swimming pool, excellent food and free shuttle to local attractions we are a family friendly resort. Come visit us at Tribal Hills! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tribal Hills Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribal Hills Mountain Hotel Puerto Galera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribal Hills Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.