We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort
Barangay Palangan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Kids had fun swimming both in the swimming pool and yhe beach. Staff was super great. They go through great lengths just to make your stay comfortable. Only downside was, if you make your booking through booking.com, you won't be able to pay using a card, you'd have to queue in quite a long line to use the atm in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The resort has an original architecture and layout. The direct access to the pool and beach is very practical, and the "tree-house" type Nipa Hut ensure a nice panorama of the bay and you can spend quiet times up there.
The rooms are very clean and will all comfort equipment and hot water.
The pool is original with a nice "waterfall" and a Jacuzzi. However, the pool water was blurry and didn't look very welcoming.
All in all, a great stay and a warm service form the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was supposed to stay in another hotel for the "Puerto Galera Reggae Festival" however it was fully booked. We were told to contact Dolphin Bay instead. Luckily for us, we were able to book their ambassador suite. We were picked up by their staff at Muelle pier. It was a nice and cozy room (only problem is that their safe deposit box was broken). From the suite's veranda you will see the pool (yes they have a pool) and the beach front which I found very relaxing. You can also lounge at their restaurant and read books (they have two bookshelves) or (of course) try their mouth watering food. This place is good for family, friends, or couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Dolphin Bay and had an absolutely lovely time. Unfortunately though if we come back to Puerto Galera, we'll probably stay somewhere else.

Pros:
- lovely staff and owners
- the restaurant was amazing! Great food - especially Filipino food. We really enjoyed the kinilaw, pancit bihon, and adobo.
- tasty complimentary breakfast
- the bed was foam and quite comfortable

Cons:
- complimentary shuttle to Sabang or Muelle jetty was only upon arrival. When we needed to go to town for the day, we had to pay. On our return trip to the Muelle jetty, we ended up having to take a tricycle because the shuttle was suddenly not available.
- the bathroom in our room flooded every time we used the shower and never dried.
- it's 287 stairs from the beach to the road. It's a good workout, but it's exhausting as well!
- the restaurant bar can be loud late into the night. One night they were partying loudly until 4am!
- we did a tour through the hotel and it didn't meet our expectations. On the plus side though, when we made this known, the hotel understood and decreased what we paid by 66% which seemed more than fair to us.

All in all, we loved our trip to Puerto Galera. We met some great people and had a great time. Dolphin Bay was definitely a part of the plusses, but it was also part of the negatives. We were given reasons - the typhoons damaged the building and they are now repairing things, the owners just returned from spending the last few months in europe, etc, - but whatever the reason, the hotel has a ways to go to be up to standard.

Room Tip: ask how many steps between your room and the restaurant as well as your room and the street! While...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We all stayed here as part of a Wedding Party. The Staff were great and Friendly. The Manager tried his best, but was Sacked by the Owner for trying his best with the limited resources he had.
No hot water for days on end. Room service once in 5 days, and Stairs, Stairs, Stairs. If you like walking up and down Stairs and really rough rooms, this might be for you.
Apparently during our stay the Owner hadnt paid the staff for months, and was busy sailing around the world on his new boat. No wonder they didnt want to do much.
So, to sum up, Nice Staff, but a disaster of a Hotel. Run as far as you can from the Dolphin Bay.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a wonderful family holiday at Dolphinbay. It was especially nice because there actually wasn't anyone else staying at the resort when we were so we got special treatment. :) The staff were very nice and going the extra mile for us by offering to drive us around Puerta Galera and cooking any meal on the menu for us. As I am now on the topic of menus, let me mention that the food was absolutely amazing. They have lovely chefs there who make beautiful food - the menu is very large. The hotel itself is quite small with very nice rooms. They were very clean and comfortable. The deluxe room has an extra small room with a bunk bed which was very nice. The pool was nice and the grounds beautiful. The beach is very clean and the water is crystal clear - true paradise. The restaurant has the most spectacular view of the beach - it is truly enchanting, with mountains in the background and nothing but nature. They have kayaks and we often took them out to nearby private beaches. It was absolutely beautiful. The few minor things such as sometimes a lack of hot water or internet really didn't affect our holiday negatively. There were too many wonderful things for this to matter. Overall, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

myself and my fiancee had a relaxing time it has a nice pool and a great veiw the service from the staff is very good but the manager is very disorganised and does not know how to operate a resort l found his effort as a manager very unsatisfactory also l noticed people from the filipines got better treatment there so to all my fellow australians and new zealanders my advice is not to stay at the dolphin bay

Room Tip: do not take a room up the stairs its a very long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort

Address: Barangay Palangan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the unspoiled waters and white sand beaches of Puerto Galera. DOLPHINBAY RESORT is a serene, isolated and quiet place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.