We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you select Small La Laguna in Mindoro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Out of the Blue Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Galera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Out of the Blue Resort
Save
You added Out of the Blue Resort to your Saves list
Small La Laguna Beach,, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Out of the Blue Luxury Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
paris
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good choice if you select Small La Laguna in Mindoro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Mindoro is the closest island in Philippines to Luzon where Manila international airport is located. Accordingly, you can join it by car and boat and are not required to take a new plane. As a consequence, it is very crowded during the week end, particularly the Northern capital Puerto Galera and its seaside attraction, Sabang with the neighboring Small and Big La Laguna plus White Beach. If you choose to get there, Out of the Blue is a nice resort, not too big but upper standard, with a cosy accommodation including a nice swimming pool. You can have access for a reasonable budget to "villa" which is a large junior suite, nicely furbished and where you can cook in your private kitchen, which has been our choice all nights except one. Breakfast is included, classical international eggs and beverage, just beware the "orange juice" which is actually the famous "TANG" that consists in sugar and chemical. It is the only provision we can find for this resort, not too serious indeed. The welcome was warm and always smiling, the service is no default including a daily laundry which allows you to "travel light". Beware : there is no direct beach access from the resort, you have to negociate a boat to get to the fabulous surrounding sorkelling, beaches and scuba diving places (but it is worth the deal and a kind of habit to negociate daily at progressive discounts). The interest of the place is that it is 10 minutes walking from Sabang downtown where you find shops, bars, restaurants, one diving center each 5 meters and you cross also all the old fat whites guys that are coming here for sexual company (don't be surprised, it is frequent in Philippines). So in Out of The Blue you have convenience of downtown without being downtown. Once again we suggest to select accommodations located upstairs in height. Even if it is hard to join at the end of a busy day, the view and the ambiance are no comparison with rooms down the swimming pool. Overall a good location for starting in Philippines by Mindoro Oriental. Next time, extend your Philippine trip to other more remote islands.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    32
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
56
72
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastwood City QC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights,,, YES short, but memorable. Thank you Dani, Jea and Tricia. The best customer service.

Yummy food (i love the Aussie meat pie! Delicioso!), very nice and comfortable rooms (we booked JS 1, Villa 5 and villa 9), Very clean,,, sooo relaxing...

My compliment to Chef Rey also :)

To sum it up, i will end it with MLTR's song...

"But then you came along to my surprise and stole my heart before my very eyes".... - Out of the Blue

Room Tip: If you hate climbing up the stairs, choose Jacuzzi Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for 10 nights and I would definetely rate this resort as one of the best vacation choices in my experience. We stayed in Jacuzzi Suite 2 - new, clean, cozy, well-equipped room with all desired amenities including Jacuzzi and DVD player. The latter was quite helpful in my diving studies. Other important thing to mention is a very quiet AirCon (comparing to other even 5-star hotels), so nothing disturbes your sleep after a long diving day :)
The resort itself has the terrace-style design, so you can have better seaview if you climb at higher terrace levels. Some other reviewers consider that kind of climbing as a painful experience but I wouldn't say so.
The included breakfast served by Verandah restaraunt is very good but prepare yourself to wait longer if you come there after 9am because of the kitchen rush hour.
Regarding diving - the resort is less than minute away from Action divers - well-managed dive shop, which are their strategic partners, hence you can book all-in-one stay&dive packages of your choice.
We will definetely stay here if we come again to Puerto Galera area.

Room Tip: Take Jacuzzi Suite (1,2,3,4) if you don't like climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in March and were absolutely delighted with our Villa. We stayed in Villa 1, which has 3 bedrooms and was perfect for a group of 3 couples. Our villa was opposite one of the pools, which was fantastic, we had lunch bought up to the pool deck one day which was very pleasant. We decided to try there BBQ, which they cooked for us on our balcony, the meal was magnificent and would highly recommend people to try it.
Everything about this place is excellent and thanks to Dani for greeting us on the beach after our long journey from Legazpi, it was lovely to catch up with another Aussie.
The free laundry service was a bonus, and the staff were excellent and went out of there way to help us. We also would recommend Action Diver for any scuba diving.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed in March for 5 nights, scuba diving, have stayed about 6 times before, the place just keeps eating better, the new pool is awesome, the staff are great, the accommodation is virtually perfect, very high class, the food is also top notch, will be back again in September and will book the pool side spa room again. Cannot wait !!!

Room Tip: They are all great but I really like the newer spa rooms over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our first trip was a weekend escape from Manila. We came down with friends and were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, spacious (especially the villa), well run with friendly service. Considering everything that was included this place was a brilliant bargain!

Because there was 4 of us, we split the price for the private outrigger boat there and back. We would highly recommend this option. The boats were clean, well managed, on time and took us directly to Out Of The Blue without hassle.

Dani greeted us upon arrival and took us directly to our rooms. We each had a Jacuzzi Suite (next to the lovely new pool) for two nights and spent the 3rd night in the 3 bedroom villa. The Jacuzzi suites are a great option for a romantic getaway. The Villa is a great deal for family and friends or an extended stay. There was plenty of space in the Villa as to not overcrowd one another. Everything advertised on the website was accurate. The best service was the free laundry! Another bonus was Action Divers next door making scuba diving convenient.

We had such a lovely time the first weekend, we came back the following week for another 3 nights! This was our favourite place in Puerto Galera and Sabang!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Villa number 1, which had 3 bedrooms, and two great balconies with nice views over the water. our own kitchen and dining area, tv, DVD player and stereo. Two swimming pools and within walking distance to local restaurants and shops.

The staff were extremely helpful and helped us with all of our requests and organised our transfers.

We had our own private BBQ one night in our villa which was great and highly recommended.

We enjoyed our stay at Out of the Blue and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Out of the Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of the Blue Resort

Address: Small La Laguna Beach,, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Out of the Blue Luxury Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out of the Blue Resort overlooks Verde Strait, lovely Small La Laguna beach and the popular dive shops and other resorts lining the shore. The striking villas and suites, with their stunning views and soothing sea breezes, provide the perfect environment for a family vacation, romantic getaway or those seeking something out of the ordinary. After a day's diving or exploring by boat, relax in The Verandah - our great bar and restaurant. Alternatively, sip cocktails on your own spacious terrace or just relax poolside at either of our 2 swimming pools. Choose from 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedroom apartments or a private jacuzzi suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Out Of The Blue Private Villas Hotel Puerto Galera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of the Blue Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.