We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterfront hotel but owner Chuck can be dishonest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation to your Saves list
Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great waterfront hotel but owner Chuck can be dishonest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Got there after arriving on Sabang pier and visiting a couple of other options on the waterfront and having to say no a million times to the sometimes harassing people who want you to come to their hotel. I visited the rooms of Dive VIP, horrible... 6 or 7 huge cockroaches in the bathroom...

I had exchange a couple of emails with owner Chuck who responded fairly quickly. Even though he told me the price was 800 pesos per night for a queen bed fan room, we verbally agreed for a price of 700 pesos when I arrived there (it was low season and you can definitely find rooms around at 500 or 600 pesos if you search).

Their hotel is very nice because it is on the second floor so the many vendors on the beach don't really have access to you all the time. Plus, their restaurant where you can hang out has a great wooden boat like ambiance, very nice.

The three fan rooms just next to the reception desk have an amazing view (see photos) on the Sabang bay and you can here the waves break on the beach at night, very pleasant.

The diving with them was great, thanks to Mas, Marco, Lhedy, Bhon and boat Captain with the funny hat! I like it because they have a mix of foreigners (Mas, Marco) and local (Bhon and Big Boy) divemasters and instructors. Equipment was in good order and staff helpful. I paid 1200 pesos per dive including equipment although you can find dive operators in Sabang that will charge as low as 900 pesos per dive.

The only downside was the attitude of owner Chuck who, when it was time to pay my bill, tried to charge me 800 pesos a night (we agreed on 700 as previously said) because I did not eat once in his restaurant. Sorry dude, but you can bring that up when you never mentioned that in the first place. Plus, I chose to dive with your company even though it was pricier than other places and I had a couple of drinks in your bar. Not pleasant at all and he is not so friendly in general... maybe time to retire my friend!

I would recommend this place and go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckdriver, Owner at Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Imagine you are running resort restaurant , trying to make money so you can pay your staff all the bills and try to put some aside for retirement , and your guest brings food from the outside and then asked your staff for knives and forks plates to eat so he can eat in his room , and in a six day stay didn't eat once in your restuarant , had a few drinks but that wouldn't pay for the pay one hours electricity here, this person is most probably is a government worker where he has no worries about money in his pocket, but then again its becoming more popular that tourist bring their own drinks packet food in , but in the end this does not help pay the bills and my retirement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Been staying at capt greggs now for last few years, excellent value, great staff, excellent location, great food -would recommend the Chuck burger- not for the feint hearted !!!!
All staff very friendly, great dive location, own dive shop and boat, the diving couldnt be easier.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwajalein, Marshall Islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been diving at Sabang since 2005, and a few years back started trekking there twice annually. I have always stayed at Capt'n Gregg's for the great staff (restaurant and dive center) and atmosphere, awesome location (central), and panoramic view of Sabang harbor. This ain't Marriott or Hilton or Shangri-la but for the money it is outstanding value. Choice of new rooms upstairs and (as I call them) classic rooms on the restaurant and dive center levels all priced with and without aircon providing flexibility especially if you're travelling a in group with mixed personal budgets. No truths are told nightly at the Tea Table where Chuck's famous Jin Juice is always available and local Filipinos, local Ex-pats, and Guests mingle and laugh. Capt'n Gregg's accepts cash and credit cards. (There is an additional 6% banking fee for credit cards.) Always love my stays and feel sad leaving my home away from home when the holiday is up because the staff and local friends that you've made during your stay see you off with a personal touch.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have great views, and the rooms on the restaurant level have pretty damned good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I had been there for the August first week long weekend and had an excellent time.
The location is almost about half a minute from the Sabang pier (you can actually see the hotel board while the boat docks into the station)
The food was excellent, infact, we did not even wish to try the food somewhere else. The chilli garlic bread was really good, fresh and well toasted/warmed. We had that a couple of time.
The owner Chuck and the staff Karen and team were really nice, warm and accommodating.
They have a dive shop and diving for the first time my experience was really very good. Mads (instructor) was really very patient with me :)
The only point to note was that they charge a 5% fee when paying by credit cards and they only accept Visa.
Apart from that, an excellent stay and had a wonderful time.
Thanks Chuck and team!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore (Canadian)
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Went there with two friends who were there for the diving and they just loved the place. I had one of the nicer rooms on the top floor with a great ocean view from the balcony. No complaints at all. Food was decent and I swear they put something in those Gin Juice to make you giggle.
As I was not there for the diving, I was disappointed by the (lack of) beach in Sabang but this has nothing to do with the place we stayed at. If you go to Sabang, be prepared for this. If you like diving with a great place to stay, you will love Capt'n Gregg's.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my 2nd stay with Capt'n Greggs. Both times I have been thrilled with the place. It is affordable, clean and comfortable. If you're expecting The Hilton, its not.... its a good quality dive resort. Rooms are always clean, always well maintained (I broke the shower in my room and it was repaired within an hour). The restaurant has excellent food, the service is absolutely impeccable. As others have noted, please be aware that the beach is.... hmmmmmm at Sabang. But, the reason for going there is to dive. Capt'n Greggs has one of the best reputations for its diving - although to be honest, I stayed 10 days this trip and was sick the whole time, so didn't get to go under with them... Dive prices are good, sites are good and the quality of training is exceptional (this from my previous trip). I couldn't recommend anywhere more than this place.

Room Tip: I like the downstairs room, its bigger and has direct access from the dive shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

3 nights stay at the resort. Everything was great. Had a good deal by emailing the resort directly, and the standard room is a steal! excellent location, good food, and a good massage downstairs! diving was very affordably priced with excellent divemasters. Just be aware that there is no nice beach at sabang and the white beach was disappointing. This is really a place for divers. Previous complaints of being noisy at night was unwarranted as i slept very well each night. Recharged myself during the holidays.

just a tiny little area for improvement, there were a few visible cobwebs around the corners of the room so the cleanliness can be improved. Did Not inform the staff as it was just a few nights stay and i must say, the service of the crew is excellent. overall, a fantastic stay and very good value for money! get the standard room if possible, cheap and excellent!

Room Tip: standard room, skip the stairs and enjoy the seabreeze and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation

Address: | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated right on the beach you can have your meals looking at Batangas luzon we cater for 50 seats 11 rooms and dive shop most wit wifi all have hat and cold water tv safes aircons 4 deluxe rooms have their own balcony's standard rooms all face the ocean , diveshop right on the beach front 5 minutes to all the dive sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt`n Gregg`s Hotel Puerto Galera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.