We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banaue Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banaue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banaue Homestay
Pangngat, Poblacion, Banaue, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WI-FI&WELCOME DRINK
Ranked #2 of 9 Banaue B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Banaue Homestay deserves to be #1 on Tripadvisor because Bea and her family are the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and help us where they could. When we arrived from the overnight bus at 6:15am there already someone waiting to pick us up. She also helped me out with buying the overnight bus back to Manila so I didn't have to worry about taking care of that in the short time I was there and risk having it being booked out. She also organised 2 excellent tours for us, one was an excellent hike from the Banaue viewpoint to the bottom of the rice terraces with a guide, and the next day a trip to Batad where we would hike from the Saddle point to the rice terraces, to tepia falls and back. After our long hike Bea let us hang out the guest house until our bus arrived to wind down and let us get changed and take a shower, which really made a difference as we didn't want to be dirty and sweaty from a long hike on the overnight bus back to Manila. I really felt at home there and welcome and I hope she retains the top spot here because she really deserves it. For guests expecting luxury accommodation - the rooms are basic but for the price you are paying very good value in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    34
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
39
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Banaue. Our goals were to hike the terraces in town, hike to Batad one day, and do a day trip to the Sagada Caves. We arrived in the morning, as all buses come in the morning, and there was someone waiting for us with our names on a board. The trycicle ride to the homestay was less than a minute. We could have walked for sure, but a ride was nice after the bus ride and having our bags.
I told Bea our goals, and she set them all up for us, and had us on our way for our first guided guide in a few hours.
She had a laminated sheet with all the prices of guides and rides for the main attractions to see which was great for budgetting and deciding what we wanted to do.
She was a great host, and I liked how the family was always around to have conversations with.
The rooms are very basic, nothing special. A bed and desk and view of the terraces. We didn't have a bathroom but there were two bathrooms with showers to use communally. Each had a hot water tank, but since eveyone gets up early at the same time for hikes, I found my showers only luke warm.
The location is great, as its up above the city, so its very very quiet, but its a five min walk to town.
I recommend walking to town and eating at the Sanafe restaurant ( they have breakfast lunch and dinner), it was really good there, lots of selection and pretty cheap.

Room Tip: if your a non smoker, ask for a room not right above the patio. We were right above the dinner patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights and Bea and the girls made us feel right at home.
The rooms are small & basic, but super clean. As are the shared bathrooms and the communal area.
Nothing better than having brekky on the tiny balcony whilst gazing at the terraces.
The place is located close enough to town to be convenient, but just far enough away to escape the noisy hustle and bustle.
Great value for money!
Thanks Bea.….we'll be back. :-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I found the rooms to be a bit pricey, considering they don't include private bathroom. That said, they are clean, have a view and are reasonably comfortable. The bathrooms are also well-maintained.

Location is good- a bit far from the chaotic market area, but close enough (~5 min walk) not to feel isolated.

Breakfast is ok, but not included in the room rate and is actually a little bit pricey.

By far the key selling point of this place is the service. Bea will really do whatever she can to help you out with your planning and I think this makes the difference between a good trip and a great trip. Within an hour of our arrival, one of their staff was sitting down with us, and helped us plan two days worth of treks- at quite reasonable rates.

If you are strictly looking for good-value rooms, maybe you can find them elsewhere if you do your research. But the service here is excellent, which is something you don't often find in budget guesthouses in the region.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

2/2-5に宿泊しました。世界一周の旅の最初の宿がここだったのですが、一人旅と知って、オーナーのベアやその家族が気を使ってくれ、幸先のよいスタートになりました。本当の家族のように心からもてなしてもらったおかげで寂しさを感じる余裕なんてありませんでした。むしろこれからはどうしよう?と心配なくらいです。宿はとても清潔で居心地良く、窓から見える景色が最高です。バス停からは近いのですが、バナウェの中心地からは程よく離れているので、夜は静かで星がとても奇麗です。バナウェの景色と彼らのおかげでフィリピンが大好きになりました。

I stayed there from February 2nd to 5th. It was the first stay of my global tour and a good first step. I never felt lonely owing to their hospitality like real family. Banaue Homestay is clean and comfortable and the view from the window of the dining room is superb. It's very near from the bus station. And It's very quiet and you can see starry sky at night since It's located in suitable distance from the center of Banaue. I came to like Philippines very much because of beautiful views of Banaue and Bea and her family's warmth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I spent two nights in Banaue Homestay and really enjoyed it. The rooms are basic, but good. The common room is a good place to meet other guests. And Bea and the others were great! If I ever come back to Banaue, I know where I will stay...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Miss Bea and staff crew are carefull and sweet persons! They will make you feel that Banaue Homestay, feels like home. The rooms are clean and the food is also good. Banaue Homestay have a good view on the ricefields! Really good place to stay!

Chung Pong Li

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banaue Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banaue Homestay

Address: Pangngat, Poblacion, Banaue, Luzon, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Ifugao Province > Banaue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banaue
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very basic, clean and simple accommodation that is located less than 10 minutes walk from Banaue town proper and from the bus station. 5 Rooms with 1 room with attached bathroom and 4 rooms with shared bathrooms. 3 Of our rooms is facing the rice terraces. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banaue Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banaue Homestay to your Saves list