We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Tangahan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mega Inn - Tangkahan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sumatra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mega Inn - Tangkahan
Save
You added Mega Inn - Tangkahan to your Saves list
Tangkahan Dc Namo Slalang Kode Pos 20852 | Kec. Btang Serangan Kab. Langkat, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 327 Sumatra B&B and Inns
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Tangahan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having read other TA reports in Mega Inn we tried to book a room but they were full 3 months ahead of our trip so we had to stay at Jungle Lodge which was terrible compared to Mega Inn so we decided to eat at Mega Inn each day. The rooms all looked very basic but were much better than all the others on offer in the village (we saw most of them during our stay). Western toilets, sink & shower (no hot water in village), large bed with mozzie net (essential) and power socket and electricity in the room. The restaurant was very attractive and the food simple but good and very cheap. Beer available and many delicious fruit drinks/ shakes. DO NOT miss the elephant treking and washing while you are in Tangahan, its what most people go there for and is the most wonderful experience. Fairly expensive but so worth it. Very well run and the 8 elephants are extremely well cared for and have a happy life.

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mega Inn for one night. We knew it would be basic accommodation and they have tried their best to make the rooms comfortable. The staff are fantastic and our highlight has to be the elephant trek and bathing. It's a great place to stay and very few tourists so its seems more real. The road is very bumpy and due to the new airport in medan it took us over 6 hours to get there as we were stuck for 2 hours in medan. We didn't arrive until 8.30pm and we had to walk across the rope bridge in the dark (All part of the experience). We would like to thank Augus (not sure of spelling) as he really looked after us when we arrived carrying our heavy suitcase in the pitch black for the 15 minute walk and then spending all morning with us at the elephants taking photos and generally making sure we were okay. He works at tourist information. Tangkahan was great experience and something we will always remember. Thank you to the staff at mega inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

When you want to visit Tangkahan, remember you are going there to see the beautiful unspoiled nature and the wonderful elephants. Mega Inn is very basic, do not expect more than a bed (with a very small and somewhat smelly moskito net) and bath room that doesn't really deserve the name. If these are your expectations, you will have a great time. Hotel staff is very friendly and the food is good.And as said before, the surroundings are absolutely beautiful. Do skip the elephant trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed one night for elephant trekking. Very authentic, cracks in the floor, monkeys on the roof friendly staff. Not luxury but a real jungle experience. Staff helpful and friendly, perfect spot for taking an elephant trip up river and a tube back down. Great family adventure

Room Tip: Forget it, this is basic jungle, come here for the unique experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The rooms is very basic but so lovely as you stay in the jungle and next to the river. So natural and friendly staffs. As a note when i stayed here for 3 nights last year the electricity is out about 10 pm as they are just using a generator for power.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson new zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Where to start with Tangkahan? mega's is a very basic place to stay but eh people are the best. They made four 60 year olds so welcome and looked after our every need. Yes the rooms are basic but their rustic simplicity provides the charm of Tangkahan. If you expect luxury and gourmet food, this is not the place for you. If however you want the friendliest people and fantastic nature then this is the place. The elephant riding is a fantastic experience. I would have loved for it to go on longer.
If you are thinking of going to Tangjahan, please take a simple reading book with you. Mega has set up an English club for the local children. Books are hard to come by, so if you have room in your luggage please take a book along.
Mega, thank you so much for a fantastic stay. We can't thank you enough for the experiences that we had there.
Ps my muscles have recovered from the steps!

Room Tip: Rooms are all facing a square garden so to much to choose between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labin, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mega Inn in June 2013. We had a room overlooking the river with really nice views. Rooms are basic but very cute with a real "jungle feeling". :) The food in the restaurant is very tasty and staff working there very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed elephant riding and washing very much.

Room Tip: Gecko room has really nice views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mega Inn - Tangkahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mega Inn - Tangkahan

Address: Tangkahan Dc Namo Slalang Kode Pos 20852 | Kec. Btang Serangan Kab. Langkat, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Sumatra
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mega Inn - Tangkahan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.