We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with Traditional Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morolejar

Morolejar
Jalan Kaliurang Km 13 Ngaglik, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 356 restaurants in Yogyakarta
Restaurant details
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant with Traditional Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food is delicious and also the restaurant is unique because all the gazebo is above fish pond. When you enter inside the restaurant you can feel the tranquil environment. The restaurant is surrounded by rice field and you can see Merapi if its not cloudy. Its right place to enjoy food with family and friends

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    4
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“nice stop before Merapi volcano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First time seeing the exterior of this restaurant I don't think they will serve a good food, well the exterior is so dusty and seem neglected. But i saw so many tours car are park here so, we just give it try. Its understandable why the exterior is so dusty, well this place is close to Merapi volcano area and this volcano is the most active in java so the dust is coming from the volcano i guess and they just getting bored to clean :) .when we enter this place actually is like some small eating villa divide by the fish pool and in the entry they offer traditional cake also. ok so we ordered all Indonesian dish, from grilled carper fish, grilled soya bean cake ( tempeh ), sauted water lilly in shrimp sauce and shrimp fried in salty egg. The food was ok , nothing so special. one of out standing most is the coconut drink in palm sugar syrup, just so fresh after Volcano adventure :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“nice food, good place to relax...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

nice food and cheap...
the view is also nice...
the place is nice for relax...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta,Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bad food,dirty place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The place looks dirty,also foods are very bad in taste also in serving...nor only the foods but the drinks also...I ordered milkshake,the glass was dirty and the milkshake tasted so bad...well,that was the first and the last time I asked my family went there..the only good thing is all the staffs are friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple Local Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I loved how traditional this place was, we go here a lot and it is a nice place for kids as they can explore and there is a playground. The price is also good value for money but the place could use a clean up and less ants. But it is charming and you can often buy organic produce at a small stand sold by the farmer herself on the way out.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morolejar also viewed

 

Been to Morolejar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morolejar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.