We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confident Expectation - Okay Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro to your Saves list
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Dagen 60, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 120 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Denpasar, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Confident Expectation - Okay Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The only down fall was the bad smell came from the water in the toilet.

Breakfast:
The quality of breakfast somehow inconsistent. I like the croissant, but on my last day, the croissant I had was a bit tough and smell. Was it the yesterday's croissant? Also, the guava juice was terrible. The rest of the food was okay. However, the porridge, melon, and omelette were very good! :)

Rooms:
I found the pillow wasn't tender enough and the lighting in the room was quite a few which affects the brightness. Hangers could be probably added and the slipper shall have two pairs in the room, because the room's standard is occupied by 2 people/room, isn't it? so you should prepare 2 pairs, or you should count how many people are staying the room itself to get each pair of them.
Another thing was the TV. Most of channels have blur image.

Overall, I had a good stay at your hotel. One more thing of my feedback that to include the airport transfer of the cost. That would be great.
Please take a look of my comments above which need to be improved.
Thank you, cheers..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    30
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
21
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall ok & and clean but rooms that we stayed have just enough space to sleep & shower, no wardrobe closet but hanger and bench only and no safe box in the room. In my opinion it may not be suitable for more than 2 nights stay if you are travelling with children and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Hi,
The location is great, it takes less then 10 minutes walk to get to Malioboro street. Staff are very professional and polite, Housekeeping is very quick in responding o requests (iron, tea bags).
I had to use a network cable for my work and had none, they made their IT person to loan me one. Breakfast is a mixture of local and western BF. Fresh and nice. Their coffee is excellent.
The pool on the roof top is wonderful the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable (for my taste).
Now, what I do not like in a hotel room is the fact that the rooms have no carpet and also there is no soap in the bathroom. They provide you only with an all-in-one soap dispenser in the shower (I personally hate that). They have free WiFi with excellent connection. The internet speed is fairly good.

In addition, I was given a room right under the pool n the 5th floor, the room was comfortable but I could not stand the never ending humming which might had come from the pool pump.
I complained to the reception and requested to change room . They immediately complied and proposed another room which I viewed first before taking. The room was quite until that noise started; behind the hotel there is a school and the children have sports activities, which are noisy. In the afternoon silence settled but he next day, at 7 a.m there were some loud announcements at the school and then sports activities started again. I wake early, however, this disturbs me when trying to work.
I might try another hotel next time.
p.s.: At the airport, it is not necessary to take those taxi's from the tour company, i is very expensive, just walk out of the Yogiyagarta airport and wait for a taxi outside. They are professional as long as they use the meter. You must ask them before you seat in.

I hope this will help.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them that you do not want a room at the back facing the school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I love the location. It is only 3 minutes walking distance to the famous Malioboro Street.

We spent only 2 nights in this hotel.
Me and my wife enjoy staying at this hotel.
The price is surprisingly affordable and the service you get is very professional.
Definitely not the type of shoe-box room type.

We didn't have a chance to have breakfast in this hotel, since we always get early to chase the sunrise in Borobudur and another day to have a trip to Pindul Cave.
So, I dont have anything to say about the food.

The only downside about the room is that the pillow provided is way too mushy, i barely can hold your head.

All-in-all, I might considering to spend another night in this hotel on my next visit to Jogjakarta.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Close to malioboro market but be aware of expensive free art exhibit which happened to be a scam. They keep telling us that its the last day, and they will make you buy expensive painting which you can always buy at malioboro market with way cheaper price. Hotel has good variety bfast. The pool is awesome. Its a good value for your money. The hotel needs good maintenance as we see black mold in the sink and the shower. Service was good, the staff is very attentive about our needs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I booked this hotel through agoda. But, the staff checked me in quickly and gave me a spacious room on the 6th floor. Even though the staffs can't speak much in English, but their service is excellent and they are willing to help solving the problem.
The location is excellent which is just in walking distance to Molioboro Street and the village of Sosrowijayan.
The choices of food for breakfast is not in a great variety, but taste good and sufficient to fulfill my need.
That's a shallow pool on the 6th floor and I love to relax myself in it while talking to the staffs working rooftop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in deluxe rooms on 5th floor. Wonderful rooms, comfortable bed with flat screen TV with lots of news channels like BBS / CNN and many movie channels too, apart from Indonesia. Modern designed room with window overlooking one part of Jogjakarta. Water kettle was in the room. Complimentary coffee & tea, 2 water bottles were replaced daily. House keeping was daily.

Only wish there was some sliding glass dividing the shower from the wash basin. Each time you take a shower, the washbasin area gets wet as there is No door. Wish there was hand soap in bathroom. Only soap was from liquid soap dispenser in the shower. Toothbrush & other basis amenities were there.

Staff from front desk to coffee house need a pat on their back. Friendly service and attentive.
Swimming pool / meeting rooms are located on roof (6th floor). The room top pool had great view of Joga.

Breakfast is from 6am - 10 am and had good selection of international & local items. There is a smoking section and egg counter. Charming staff with good service.

Jalan Malioboro is only 10 min walk away - so, I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe rooms as you get better view as located on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro

Address: Jalan Dagen 60, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 120 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.