We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary hotel but outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inna Garuda Malioboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inna Garuda Malioboro to your Saves list
Inna Garuda Malioboro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Malioboro no. 60, Yogyakarta 55213, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 132 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Legendary hotel but outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

just one night stayed there. nice old hotel. large and clean room. special breakfast variety but just so so. You can see a Gamelan set in lobby and large lobby there.
Need to renovate this hotel and choose younger staff to make it feel fresh hotel.
This is the first and large hotel in Malioboro street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    92
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
26
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel used to be very nice. It's a colonial building, but it has seen better days. The rooms are outdated, the bathroom very old - dirty carpets. Everything needs to be renovated and changed. The hotel has character, but it's not a comfortable or nice place to stay. I would recommend staying at a chained hotel.

The food is horrible - many strange things in the buffet. It's a Muslim country, so no pork.

There is a Garuda Indonesia Airlines office in front of the hotel (in the hotel's premises), so that's very convenient.

Won't stay again..but good for those on a budget and can't afford a better hotel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are old and are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in Inna Garuda after moving from another hotel in Yogyakarta. We ordered a Junior Suite room and have a pleasant stay and rest. The location is in front of Malioboro street, which means that you can reach almost of the places of interest in center of Yogyakarta by walking.
Overall, we are very satisfied to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite on the 3rd Floor beside the pool are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The location is excellent. If there's a reason to upgrade my rating from average to very good, it is because of the hotel location.

The main building is an old colonial-era building. It has more modern extensions, guests rooms are located at the main building. No worry, it has been renovated.

A traditional musical set will greet you at the entrance.

About the location at Malioboro street, it is the heart of Yogyakarta's shoppings and tourism attractions.

Walk, just walk the street, do not take any motorbike taxi or any vehicles.
This bustling city street will greet you nicely. A nice experience.

At night, the Malioboro will be transformed into a center of street-food vendors extravaganza.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel give us traditional music especially in the lobby. The location in the northest of Malioboro Street, so every night we can shopping in the Malioboro on foot. Angkringan food can be found around this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our stay was short but I they made a good impression, and feel quite grateful to the staff for taking care of us. The reason we came to Inna Garuda was that I started to come down with Heat Exhaustion after a morning visit to Borobudur and we needed a place to relax and cool down. Our driver took us to Inna Garuda so that I could cool down in the lobby, but I soon realized that this was some serious heat exhaustion. The staff gave me ice to help cool own but we ended up getting a room for a short stay of about 5 hours. The hotel staff did not hesitate and gave us a good price, nice room and offered to send the hotel doctor. The doctor came quickly and helped me out. My wife had a good meal at the hotel as well.
Although I stayed there for less than desirable reasons, I liked the hotel and would be happy to stay there if I came to Yogyakarta again. I am grateful to the friendly staff and doctor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The strongest reason for choosing this hotel was the best location on malioboro street,which is the favorite road of the tourists. Easy to find this hotel which is located close to the railway station. The hotel is spacious and quite an old hotel, hotel rooms and supporting equipment would be better if restored. However, the room was fit for use. Breakfast provided quite good and varied. Kinda hard to find parking especially on weekends when the hotel has several events simultaneously.

Room Tip: Request a room which is not to far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#40 of 132 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#15 of 132 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#26 of 132 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#20 of 132 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
#45 of 132 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harper Mangkubumi
Harper Mangkubumi
#16 of 132 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inna Garuda Malioboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inna Garuda Malioboro

Address: Jl. Malioboro no. 60, Yogyakarta 55213, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inna Garuda Malioboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically Located in The Heart of Yogyakarta " Malioboro " Inna Garuda's 222 rooms are furnished in classic but modern elegance and face Malioboro Street, the heart of Yogyakarta. All the amenities expected in an international standard hotel are at your fingertips because You are everything to us! We are located in the heart of Jogja. Jogja is the name of both city and region in Indonesia. It is famous for its genuine friendliness and you may not be worried about its streets at all day long. In fact, some say that it is never sleeps city. INNA Garuda is located in the heart of the city "in the shopper's paradise of Malioboro" street, near the Sultan's Palace, 42 kilometers from the famous Borobudur Budhist temple, 17 kilometers from the Hindu temple of Prambanan. Everything you need to see in Jogja is close at hand. We have facilities to meet all your convention need. 18 Meeting rooms of various size fully equipped with convention facilities as well as internet services plus HOTSPOT/WI FI. We have suitable room for your need. 222 Rooms with variety of accomodation : superior, deluxe, junior suite, executive suite, Garuda Suite and President Suite. Fully equipped as for a 4 star international Hotel Standard. INNA Garuda is the right place for conventions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Inna Garuda Malioboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inna Garuda Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inna Garuda Malioboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.