We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience by far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja to your Saves list
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Jend Sudirman 19, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was very impressed by the level of service rendered by the hotel staff. Very,very approachable and willing to go the extra mile to help make our stay more pleasurable. Stayed for 2nights and it was a very pleasant stay indeed. The concierge, Ms Shanti, certainly made us feel very welcomed when we first arrived at the hotel. She even helped us to book a taxi and play tickets that we decided to go for at the last minute. We really appreciate what she had done for us as we definitely would not be able to do so on our own. The reception staff who checked us in was equally helpful although i could not recall his name. Every staff that we encountered were very helpful and we could not see anyone that has a 'sour face' on them.
Loved the entertainment provided at the lobby, enjoyed the music n singing.

Breakfast spread was fantabulous! You will be spoiled for choice if you choose to stay in this hotel. The room is very spacious, with a view of the mountains. Very splendid!

My family and me really enjoyed our stay here. Kudos to all the staff for always having a smile on your faces and for going the extra mile for the guests. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    117
    41
    10
    2
See reviews for
51
37
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Everytime we come back to Yogyakarta, we would like to stay in different hotels for a change.
Once we stayed in Santika Premiere Jogja and the kids love it.
The difference that Santika has which my kids did not find it everywhere else is they have mini becak by the pool, so the kids loved to ride them and made it an unforgettable stay for them.

Room Tip: if you love to stay in the city center of jogja, this is the placce. nearby to famous malioboro stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangladesh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed there four days along with my wife who had previous knowledge about the hotel. Actually she booked it herself without asking for my opinion. I found the hotel an excellent one compared with the price charged and in consideration of the good accommodation with accompanying room service, wide lobby, wide choice for breakfast and much more. The rooms have enough space and the required furniture; the members of the staff are very cordial and smiling. The location of the hotel is also good. Taxies can be easily found there when required. We left the hotel with full satisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked this hotel room via agoda.com, so we got a good bargain for it. It's very near Malioboro St where you can get lotsa local Batik and souvenirs (abt 5 minutes). 1 hour to Borobudur, 45 minutes to Prambanan.
A ride by trishaw from the hotel to Malioboro St should cost you around 10,000 -15, 000 INR. Santika is considered a luxurious hotel, so be prepared to be charged/asked extra by the trishaw/taxi driver.
The hotel interior is clean and beautiful. The staff are very polite and courteous. They always bow down and great you. However, we did not get a very good view form our hotel room. Probably because we paid less via Agoda.com. So, they gave us the worst possible view.
But the rooms were clean and tidy. So no complaints there. The rooms are spacious too. Did not get breakfast either, because the room was through Agoda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Me and my friend enjoy all the advantages of staying in this hotel. Firstly, the room is cozy and spacious, and the pool is lovely. Second, It was so easy to reach the city centre by foot, with practical bus @ 3000 rupiahs per trip, or even with traditional becak vehicle. We had great assistance from the hotel's customer relation to find transportation for our customized day trip to visit favorite travel destination, and the choosen trips were well managed with lower price than regular travel agent. Last but not least, we also have chance to try the famous noodle stall across the street (opens at 04.00 PM). Sadly, i could not fit in the schedule to try the famous original javanese breakfast at this shor trip. Next time i would definitely come again to enjoy all the comfort of staying here.

Room Tip: Executive suites with pool view is most reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel needs some freshening up. The room we stayed in seemed taken from the '80s, so as soon as we came in the room we were a bit disapponted.

At the end of our three days there though, we had the time to appreciate how welcoming and kind all the staff are, and the excellent breakfast that was served every morning. Also, the position is perfect in Jogja.

Overall recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podimore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were very hopeful of a good stay having used the Santika chain elsewhere. Check in was fine though all the reception staff had rather more limited English than is usual in a chain hotel.
The room was also fine though as others have commented the bathrooms are very worn and could benefit from refurbishment. The pool is OK but is surrounded on two sides by the tables and chairs of the eating area which gives a rather cramped feel and spaces to sunbathe are limited.
The hotel was very full for Ramadan and perhaps as a result of this breakfast was a poor experience. There was an extensive choice of Indonesian food but the Western options were rather less impressive.Perhaps not surprising as there were hardly any Westerners staying. Several food items would run out every day and replacements were very slow to arrive. The staff were willing but a bit uncoordinated with some of them were actually running between the breakfast area and the rather distant inside preparation area to try to cope. This gave a somewhat frantic and fraught feel to breakfast. There were queues for some items and on occasions we were gazumped in the queue by Indonesians and the staff allowed this to happen.
On one morning we were treated to the amazing site of the breakfast manager calling a number of the more senior waiting staff together, in full view of the guests, towards the end of the breakfast time and haranging them for about 10 minutes in the most incredible style. Embarrassing and felt sorry for the staff. Shades of Basil Fawlty!
Our biggest problem however came when we felt the hotel failed to act in a proper way in connection with an outside non guest. We had been approached by a person while eating at a nearby restaurant. He joined us at our table and spoke to us for about 2 hours. The best interpretation was that he wanted to practice his English which often happens and is fine. However, the subjects he chose to talk and ask about were ones, we felt needed to be answered with care.
the next night we were preparing to go to bed and our room phone rang. This man had come to the hotel and described us to reception who had then identified us and then allowed the man to use the reception phone to call us direct in our room. We felt this was totally unacceptable and raised this with the hotel manager the next morning. We were not convinced he understood how inappropriate this was or the role a hotel reception should play in screening outside and uncalled for visitors and for the security of guests.
The next night we were returning after a meal and this same person was sat in reception and approached us again. We made our excuses and quickly went to our room. Half an hour later we felt we should tell reception that he had returned and were alarmed that he was still sat there and approached us again. Only after we spoke to a manager was he asked to leave.
We are very experienced worldwide travellers and not at all neurotic or easily worried but we did not feel that this was professionally handled by the hotel for whom security should be a key priority.
Overall there were willing staff but several staff training issues and the overall experience was unsatisfactory.
We would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#8 of 136 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#11 of 136 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Yogyakarta
Novotel Yogyakarta
#34 of 136 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 136 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja

Address: Jalan Jend Sudirman 19, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja honours classic Javanese artistry and the city's rich cultural heritage. This iconic four-star property is steeped in old world charm yet offers all the necessary facilities and conveniences that every modern traveller has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.