We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice shopping arcade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yogyakarta Bird Market

Yogyakarta Bird Market
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 113 things to do in Yogyakarta
Attraction details
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice shopping arcade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Want to buy some pets? Like a fish, bird, cat? They provide all pets, also little Lion..haha
With a good price we can buy it all..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    22
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The bird market is no longer near Taman Sarik (the Water Palace) and is approx 2k south. It is a long way to go in traffic to spend half an hour. However it is very interesting - clearly the market has been laid out so there is spaces between the stalls and concrete paths and I assume that the old market was not like that. When we went we saw birds (including 2 tiny owls), fish and a couple of civets, but not monkeys etc. The market consists of a myriad of pretty cages with caged birds in them. There were lots of bugs (live trays of grubs and open aquariums of locusts).

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Be part of a travel documentary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Every bone in my body tells me that I shouldn't go here, but it is fascinating, colourful, wrong and exciting. If you want to change the world of animal welfare, either go here or avoid at all costs. If you have made it to the fantastic city of Yogyakarta then you need to see the bird market. There are some lovely little tea houses for a refreshment stop. But while in town do not miss the batik and silver manufacturers for the best souvenirs of Java.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

it is hell for animals including those illegal ones like owls, monkeys... and others for medicines like gecko, bats, etc

on the other hand, i was amazed to see them at the market. it was like going to a zoo. (i know it is bad and we shouldn't encourage it)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“bird market - a hell for all animals.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

i heard about this place and saw some on you tube. When i first reach this place i can feel that it is a hell for all kinds of animals especially birds. There are lots of different species birds and all the birds were captured and put into a small birds cage. I can see most of the birds are going insane already as the doesnt have a space to breath. there also lots of gecko, bats, fish, dog , rooster , snake, monkey etc ect. I wonder why there is no law to protect these poor creature and some of these are endangered species.
For me is an experience to visit these kind of market but for all those animal, we hope they will live in the forest freedomly like we do in our country.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yogyakarta Bird Market also viewed

 
Yogyakarta, Java
 

Been to Yogyakarta Bird Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yogyakarta Bird Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.