We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class &culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A touch of class &culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times. Happy to say that with each stay, am even more impressed. Staff are friendly, and can't do enough for you.

I requested a room on the ground level as did not want to walk too far to the lift at the back, to gain access to the higher floors. The lift at the front was broken so if your room was upstairs at the front, you had to climb two flights of stairs. Not great for elderly guests. My room had everything I required. Bathroom was clean although very small. Not big enough for more than one person!

Lighting in room was inadequate for reading or doing any work. Even bedside lights were not great

Breakfast was a very good spread of both western and local food. The latter was served by staff dresses in regional dress - a nice cultural touch.

Apart from the earthquake late at night, (!!), my one night stay was uneventful.. Room service was excellent and fast.

The only downside was ordering lunch in the coffee shop. Took 30 mins for food to come. I almost cancelled my order as had to get to the airport. There were other guests who waited even longer. Need to get more staff in kitchen at lunchtime?.

Taxis are readily available. This hotel is close to malls, restaurants, and top universities, schools.

Overall a memorable experience...can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Iwin_12

Greeting from your memorable hotel in Yogyakarta

Welcome back “home”, we are particularly happy to have repeating visitors in the Phoenix and it makes us proud.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us, we do apologies for the inconvenience that you met during your stay. I have noted every single one of them, and we shared them with the relevant departments. Rest assures that the necessary amends will be put in place.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.




Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    662
    125
    22
    12
See reviews for
433
866
190
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourme
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is my third stay at the Phoenix Yogyakarta and it just gets better and better. The unique charm and style of the place is only surpassed by the friendly and sincere service of the staff. I'm a solo traveller this time and the staff have been incredibly friendly. They genuinely seem to love working here and the energy and enthusiasm shines through. From the moment I arrive to when I leave and at all times in between, they make me feel like I've come home.

Room Tip: Each room has so much character that it's hard to choose a bad one. The balconies on the externa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Travis T

Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for being our returnee guest and welcome back to your “home” in Yogyakarta.

Thank you once again for your kind words about our staff and our hotel. You had so nicely described what we would like all the guests to feel at the Phoenix. It is especially nice to receive compliments and we will certainly convey your compliments to all our associates.

Thank you for your generous words.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My sincere compliments for the general manager, Mr. Evrard , and his assistant, Mr. Ferry Iswoyo.

We spent for a 3nd time in a row in this magnificent colonial hotel. It is one of the best hotels in Yogyakarta with good value for money. We strongly recommend to book this hotel in Yogyakarta.

And again we are overwhelmed with this hotel’s personality, friendliness and attention to detail.
 We recommend to book at least a deluxe room. This hotel has a high luxury level and personalized and excellent service, delicious Italian food. It is really the staff, who make all the difference. Some of the staff members knew our name before we arrived. I think they studied the arrival list. But their habit of greeting you by name, their friendliness seems very natural and is therefore most pleasing.

There is one minor thing and that is the wifi internet connection. They promise you high speed internet access. However, in peak period’s there is hardly connection. I think their broad width is too limited. They did really their best to improve the speed but they did not resolve this problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Dutchenk

Very Warm Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta….

Thank you for being our returnee guest, we are truly grateful for your feedback and recommendation of our hotel.

All the team joins Pak Ferry and myself to sincerely thank you and your parents. You make us very proud thanks to your comments, and we are sincerely joyful if we can reach your satisfaction.

We are sorry for your unsatisfactory wifi experience, we have tried to improve it during your stay, but we are very happy to announce that we will have a general upgrade of our internet services in February.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in our property and hope you will enjoy it even more with an upgraded wifi experience.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Love this hotel over all, but I got smoking room even I already asked for no smoking room because I have alergy, when I asked to change the room they didn't gave me and said that they hadn't other room. For that I was so disappointed and I thought because I took a free night room? my allergy came and that made me so uncomfortable.. the bed also so small, I have to took extra bed for my son.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Jenny S

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta……

First of all, I sincerely apologies if we did not give you the non smoking room you expected, that is definitively our mistake and we will work to avoid similar mistakes to be done in the future.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again soon for a better experience.

Very Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night after visiting Borobudur in the morning, so we could also see Prambanan on a relaxed schedule during an excursion from our Bali trip. Services are a bit pricey, we used a hotel car to go to the site and some local shopping and it could have been done for much less with a local taxi in retrospect. The room was comfortable and what you would pay for equivalent room in the US. (There are plenty of less expensive alternatives in Yogya of course.)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear winchestermom

Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your feedback that and for the time you dedicated to it.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit in Yogyakarta and I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here for another enjoyable visit.

Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Some places know their business and do it well - this is one of them. Location is good for getting around town - you can walk to Palace and main shopping strip if you want. The room was very comfortable and clean, The in house restaurant Excellent - Would come back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear MrPaul50

Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you so much for your comments on our hotel and for your appreciation of the work we are doing. It is a rare pleasure to receive this kind of appreciation, and I would like you to be sure that I have shared your comments to our team.

Thank you for brightening our day and giving us the extra motivation to continue serving our hotel with heart.

Thank you once again for your recommendation, we are waiting to welcoming you back in what we would like to be your home in Jogja.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A beautiful-chic hotel with colonial architecture. Tasty breakfast with choices international and local menu. I love the Nasi Gudeg and Jamu beras kencur.

However, the toilet was leaking but they solved it pretty fast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Yurinastoop

Greetings from your memorable hotel in Yogyakarta…

It was our pleasure to have you staying with us and I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and you are giving a great feedback to our hotel and the services that we provide.
Furthermore we do apology if something could have happened with the toilet of your room; we will ensure that this will not happen again.

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta team looks forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.