We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go temple-hunting by day, stretch & relax at Phoenix by night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go temple-hunting by day, stretch & relax at Phoenix by night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hassle-free online booking for my travel party of 7 adults. Emailed queries and requests for an extra bed were replied to speedily. Smooth check-in, well-appointed rooms. Regular rooms are small-ish. The smell of a dead rodent steadily increased in one room of ours the longer the air conditioning was kept on, so we were transferred to a suite at no extra charge. Two thumbs up for the free upgrade to a bigger and better room.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms that overlooks the small courtyard that has a fountain. Rooms overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    662
    125
    22
    12
See reviews for
433
865
190
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

A must see, or must stay hotel...the original building has been restored to a high standard. It seems the staff really enjoy working here, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are not too expensive, reasonable...comfortable, good quality linen and bathrooms. Pool is ok, doesn't get much sun. Massage excellent. Food in resturant was wonderful, if not a little pricy. All in all yes stay here for the atmosphere alone

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A landmark in Java’s cultural capital, Phoenix is for the price we pay ($80 without breakfast) one of the best value-for-money hotels we have stayed at. While retaining its colonial grandeur, rooms are quite modern and very clean, typical of five-star business hotels in Asia, even if bathroom amenities are below standard. After sending an e-mail asking for a room with balcony overlooking the open courtyard and the swimming pool, the management promptly responded that they would try their best to accommodate us though we never expected to be offered a near-corner room next to an executive suite, a long walk from the lift but truly an oasis of calm perfect for post-Borobudur rest and relaxation. “City-view” units are much noisier and the views nothing to write home about.

Although we can’t comment on the breakfast served in an elegant art-deco space, the complimentary salak is too dry, not sweet and juicy like those grown in Bali or Thailand. Budget travellers will rejoice when they discover Circle K close by but unfortunately it can take up to ten minutes just to cross the street as it’s among Yogya’s busiest. Yet the location next to Tugu monument is more asset than liability. All the major attractions can be conveniently reached within 15 minutes by Trans Jogja BRT (take bus 1A/1B from/to the airport and to/from Jalan Malioboro). For the adventurous, it’s worth rubbing elbows with locals at Angkringan Lek Man (daily 6 pm to 4 am), 15 minutes away by foot, for nasi kucing (literally cat’s rice) and kopi joss (espresso dipped with burning coal).

With its central location, amazing staff and comfortable rooms, this colonial gem is definitely on our "gold list" of hotels we can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murwillumbah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel. The facilities are excellent. The staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is old style but in immaculate condition with updated amenities. The restaurants are first class with a varied menu. The hotel has a lovely pool area and its spa is wonderful. My wife and I stayed for a week in order to visit Borobodur and Prambanam both of which are easily accessible by the local (cheap) taxis. The only problem we had the whole time was a corrupt customs officer and his friends at the airport on departure. Beware the scam they try of claiming anything as an historical artefact. Despite this I would go again as the area is fascinating and the hotel is an absolute delight.

Room Tip: We stayed high up where it was quiet. Stay away from function rooms as they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We very much appreciate for sharing your review related with your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked a 3-night stay for a King Executive and were upgraded to a suite facing the pool. The hotel is charming and its set-up reminded us a bit of the Raffles Hotel in Singapore.
1. Restaurants in the City.
Kesuma: Exquisite but service is slow. If you have an early morning the next day, start your dinner early.
Via Via: best Gado-Gado we have eaten.
Restaurant on site at the hotel: Good local food. Reasonably priced for a hotel. Breakfasts are fantastic.

2. Transport.
We used Annas Tour for a car and driver. They are fairly professional.
Bus 1A. The bus conductors spoke English and were helpful. But the bus could get really crowded and hot.

3. Hotel spa. Acceptable, could be better.

4. I did not give the hotel a 5 because they kept failing to replenish shampoos and soaps. The quality of the toiletries could also be improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that your experience concerning the bathroom amenities did not meet your expectations. Our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family (myself, hubby, 4 years old son and an elderly mum) stayed at Phoenix Hotel for 5 days and 4 nights during our visit to Yogyakarta last April. We had a wonderful experience staying there as the hotel employees are very helpful and friendly. We never had problems communicating as they spoke fluent English. The rooms are very clean and their room service was great. I would like to say THANK YOU to Ms Ira (Reservation Dept) for arranging our requirements perfectly without any hiccups. Not forgetting the hotel employees (I wish I can remember all the names) who served us from the day we arrived until we departed.
We also booked our transportation with the hotel itself and everything was planned perfectly. Our driver was Pak Dani and Pak Susilo and I must say both of them are very friendly and patient. Next, we tried Ayurvedic and another massage at their Spa and Massage Centre. It was very refreshing and priced at reasonable pricing.
Breakfast will be served at Ground Floor and the Hotel served both local and international menu. Do try their local “Jamu Drink”.

Room Tip: Try to get room at their second building facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your kind words have been passed to our team especially Ms. Ira, Pak Dani and Pak Susilo. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This revamped colonial mansion is the best hotel in the region. It has all the modern amenities (and they all work) at C19th prices-except for alcohol which as is common in Java is prohibitively expensive. The swimming pool featured in advertisements doesn't do justice to the atmosphere created by the openness, ceiling fans and shutters in the public spaces, the carp pond through the dining area and the french provincial courtyard cafe, complete with fountain, gamelon orchestra and reasonably priced fabric shop. Add to this white marble on the floors everywhere, very very good service and a fantastic five star buffet breakfast included. Only criticism I have is too much furniture in the smallish rooms (no built ins) which meant there was only space for access to one travel bag per room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.