We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, historic, colonial elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stunning, historic, colonial elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Set in a beautiful colonial building, this hotel is supreme elegance in Yogyakarta. Clean, comfortable rooms. Balconies that look over the pool. A picturesque pool surrounded by colonial beauty. A convenient home base for exploring the city, Borobudur and Prambanan. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments related with your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    661
    125
    22
    12
See reviews for
433
863
190
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Before we make the booking a week before our departure, we decided to pay extra for the balcony room. Much to our surprise, when we checked in to the hotel, we were given a room with a balcony facing the ugly construction site. This wasn't what twe were expecting so we made a request for a change of room with pool-facing balcony. Our request were granted and we were given the room without much fuss. However, I am quite annoyed with the fact that if they have pool facing rooms available, why did they not assign us the moment we checked in? We may seem nice and polite but definitely not to be taken for a ride.

This incident asides, the staffs were really friendly and helpful. So thumbs up for that! This charming little boutique hotel without doubt provides the best value for money. The ambience is great and the building is full of charm!

Not so much about the food though.We had room service one evening at the balcony and it was lovely. My food was cold when it was served. During our stay we tried the breakfast, which was actually quite a dissapointment. The in-house spa massage was alright, nothing too fantastic. Well, Yogyakarta is not really known for its massage and spa anyway.

Overall I would recommend a stay in this hotel just for the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to sharing your comments related with your stay with us. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Probably the most beautiful hotel in Yogyakarta! Old world charm allover. All public spaces are extremely beautiful and super clean. The rooms are very comfortable, however, the best ones have balconies facing the pool. Hotel serves wonderful buffet breakfast. Quality of food in all restaurants is very good. But the best of all is the most friendly, courteous and efficient staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. This is the first time I've ever asked to do the in-hotel tour. Although only a small part of the hotel is from the early 1900's, they have captured the feel throughout the hotel, and any minute, I expected Hercule Poirot to pop around the corner.

The rooms were very comfortable, and we had interconnecting rooms. Had a little trouble with this because if we shut an interconnecting door, we discovered that we needed a key from housekeeping to open it again.

Our room was quite some way from the front desk, so this might be something to discuss if you have any difficulties walking.

Breakfast choice was good, with local specialties presented by staff in traditional costume, as well as a range of western food.

The pool looked great, but we didn't find time to have a splash there.

Wasn't far away from the Marlioboro (sp?) shopping precinct, and about a 5 minute taxi ride to the sultan's palace or water palace.

We organised a day trip with a hotel driver, who was very helpful in guiding us to and from each attraction and keeping unwelcome hawkers away from us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your experience during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel. We were glad to read about your enjoyable stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I go back to the Phoenix because I love the attention to detail in the building itself and in the way the staff present themselves. The rooms are very comfortable and the atmosphere makes it a genuine experience. However the food and service have slipped since my last visit. Our room was not made up on one of the days and the breakfasts are not at their previous standard. I would still recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We very much appreciate for your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

i have been coming to indonesia for 20 years and i reckon its a great place, the room and the staff are excellent and the buffet breakfast is sensational, we are here on our honeymoon and the extras given to us have been totally unexpected-i would recommend the pheonix hotel to everyone-even if you are a backpacker on a budget make this hotel your one splurge-you won't regret it

Room Tip: pool view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate for sharing your comments related with your stay with us. We were pleased to receive positive feedback. We are looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.