We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, great sevice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, great sevice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. This is the first time I've ever asked to do the in-hotel tour. Although only a small part of the hotel is from the early 1900's, they have captured the feel throughout the hotel, and any minute, I expected Hercule Poirot to pop around the corner.

The rooms were very comfortable, and we had interconnecting rooms. Had a little trouble with this because if we shut an interconnecting door, we discovered that we needed a key from housekeeping to open it again.

Our room was quite some way from the front desk, so this might be something to discuss if you have any difficulties walking.

Breakfast choice was good, with local specialties presented by staff in traditional costume, as well as a range of western food.

The pool looked great, but we didn't find time to have a splash there.

Wasn't far away from the Marlioboro (sp?) shopping precinct, and about a 5 minute taxi ride to the sultan's palace or water palace.

We organised a day trip with a hotel driver, who was very helpful in guiding us to and from each attraction and keeping unwelcome hawkers away from us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your experience during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel. We were glad to read about your enjoyable stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    662
    125
    22
    12
See reviews for
433
863
190
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I go back to the Phoenix because I love the attention to detail in the building itself and in the way the staff present themselves. The rooms are very comfortable and the atmosphere makes it a genuine experience. However the food and service have slipped since my last visit. Our room was not made up on one of the days and the breakfasts are not at their previous standard. I would still recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We very much appreciate for your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

i have been coming to indonesia for 20 years and i reckon its a great place, the room and the staff are excellent and the buffet breakfast is sensational, we are here on our honeymoon and the extras given to us have been totally unexpected-i would recommend the pheonix hotel to everyone-even if you are a backpacker on a budget make this hotel your one splurge-you won't regret it

Room Tip: pool view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate for sharing your comments related with your stay with us. We were pleased to receive positive feedback. We are looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had three superior rooms overlooking the pool which were very good. Breakfast and meals generally were of reasonably quality and service was ok.

The pool, though small, is nicely situated and good for youngsters. Location is central and good for both shopping and site seeing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and glad to read about you enjoyable stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Whenever you are in Yogyakarta, you should try staying at Phoenix Hotel. Starting from entering into the hotel, walking down the halls and staying at the room you would find a different ambiance, like we were taking back to 1900's Javanese era. I thought at first the hotel will be spooky considering that it was built in 1918, but the renovation and the current ambiance are far from spooky. We were given a room with a pool view, the room itself is not that big but it's very comfortable with Javanese architecture atmosphere. The breakfast are superb with a traditional Javanese food with a touch of Dutch colonial menu. The hotel location is not that far from Malioboro about 1 KM but the hotel provided you with a becak in front of the hotel for about 25K rupiah one way. The hotel service is also top notch, no flaw at all from the reception, housekeeping and restaurant staff. I was there last December with my family and my 10 year old daughter are so impressed with the hotel that she wanted to go back there immediately after we arrived at our home. Highly recommended to stay in this hotel considering that the price is also quite cheap if you book it through Mercure chain internet.

Room Tip: Request for a room overlooking the pool as it has a balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had an excellent weekend stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. The rooms and service are great. It isn't in the center of the main shopping area, but it isn't all that far if you want to walk or take a very inexpensive ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the outside, this hotel seems to be rather simple. When we arrived, we were wondering what all the hype was about, from rave past reviews that we read. However, all these changed when we stepped into the hotel. It was an experience, to say the least. The decor, atmosphere, and architecture was superb.
We were given a pool side room which really pleased us (and our kids). Open the glass doors, and we were just steps away from the deck chairs and pool. Fortunately, noise was not a problem. Normally one would expect pool side room to be noisier but we did not encounter this. Perhaps when we were there, the activity level around the pool was minimal. Total number of people around the pool side was < 10 including us. More than adequate pool deck chairs.
Room was charming, cozy and comfortable. Bed were a little hard, which was to our liking. Duvets that came with the bedding was very nice. Flat screen TV, cable TV channels, really nothing to complaint about.
Breakfast spread was very good. Check out the selection of fruit juices on offer (see attached photo). Then there is the choice of traditional concocted beverage (jamu), useful if you have a sore throat, cold, etc.
Location of hotel is convenient. It is walkable to Malioboro Street, just over 1 km. We walked with kids and it took some 20minutes. A straight forward walk - come out of the hotel, turn right. At the first traffic light, turn left and cross the street. The all the way straight and you will see Malioboro Street. Alternatively, becak will cost total IDR 20000 for 2 adults (one way). Same price coming back.
For those who need to know, there is a McDonalds within short walking distance. Come out of the hotel main entrance, look to your left and you will see it.
Taxi to airport was pretty cheap. Around IDR 30000. Journey took around 25 minutes. We initially asked the hotel about the hotel transport to airport (IDR 80000), but they recommended us to take the metered taxi, which they hailed for us.
Service overall was fantastic, from check in, to breakfast, to pool side, to checkout. Concierge was also most helpful in giving recommendations and useful information.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.