We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRULY FIVE STAR WITH HERITAGE TOUCH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deals!
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“TRULY FIVE STAR WITH HERITAGE TOUCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there during my Yogyakarta trip with other 5 friends. I booked 3 superior rooms. And were upgraded to deluxe for free. Good offer! Since most deluxe room have pool view and come with balcony. Well, my room had no balcony attached BUT very very big and spacious. I think the biggest for deluxe.

The hotel itself partly built on 1930's and new wings attached to. You won't easily find the difference though. Decorations were all superb and antiques. Once I read a review that this hotel is a palace beside the Keraton.

Lobby is small and colourful with many stained glass decorations. Well it is dutch colonial style building. I found one big lounge attached to lobby showing javanese heritage, pictures displaying lifestyles during dutch colonial in Java, antiques furnitures, and paintings of past Sultans of Yogyakarta.

Restaurant is on heritage wing which partly terrace, with very old functional fountains on it. Javanese gamelan orchestra will accompany your breakfast and high-tea experience.

I spent mostly in new wing near swimming pool. The pool is clean yet fresh! You'll easily find people swim or just sunbathing. Towel is everywhere. It is inviting!

Bedding was extraordinary. Large Batik fabric displaying Phoenix bird hangs on the wall. Flat LCD TV has various channel incl movies. Marble in bedroom and bathroom always shines and polished. Bathroom is efficient with BIG showerhead. Felt like showering in the rain.

Please do stay at this hotel whenever you are in Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Your kind words have been passed to our team.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    608
    120
    21
    11
See reviews for
394
804
178
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

a wonderful experience to stay at this well managed property. The rooms are spacious, and modern. The overall colonial style is well kept and adds a lot of charme to the whole hotel. The staff is well trained and amazingly english is understood and spoken in all departments i have encountered during my stay.
Of course the friendlyness is also one of a kind here.

The pool area is great, an inviting place after seeing Borobodur and the city.
The breakfast is one of the best i ever had in Asia. A nice treat for all is the employee who would consult you with local healthy javanese food. There is a live gamelan player every morning of our stay. What a start of the day!

The only three disappointments: in the great atmosphere of the breakfast on the 1918 terrace, we were disturbed by the big noise the juicer. A smaller one with less noise or a different location will help tremendously to keep the atmosphere. There were no english newspapers to read on each morning. Also the choice of paintings toward the newer section of the hotel, next to the elevator, (near the swimming pool) is quite awkward, those three paintings do not correspond at all with the other carefully chosen artworks.
I will definatly be back for a new stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.
I am sorry that some points in our property did not meet your expectation.
At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Staying here was a highlight in our Java tour. Our 1st room faced a construction site- was not a huge problem but we requested and were given a pool facing room for the last 2 nights-which was tremendous! The breakfast buffet is vast and good. Afternoon tea was OK nothing special. The pool side lunch menu was not good at all for local cuisine but those who ate Western food liked it. Getting a drink at the pool takes far too long and I mean far too long. If they had faster service i would have had at least 5 pina coladas [which were well made!] but because it took so long to order and then get a drink-I only had 2!

The pool is small but nice when it is not full of children yelling in it. It must have been a local swimming club or something- but when it was free from the crowds it is quite pleasant.

The hotel is well located-the spa service is affordable and great -internet access was good- staff are all very nice. the ambience of the place is great and the value for money is exceptional. The hotel came highly recommended to us by some swiss girlfriends and we will highly recommend it on to anyone who wants a few chaming colonial styled days in Yogja.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Overall very good. But breakfast on the second day (7 July 2011) was irritating. It took half an hour to replenish sausages and bacons, guests (not only me) left standing to wait for them and I ended up finishing my eggs without those items. Room cleanliness is very good. Pool service is very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.
Please allow me to express my apologies related to our service on the breakfast, especially at the egg station. At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles (Belgique)
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Phoenix Hotel combines colonial tradtions with modern comfortable rooms. We preferred the rooms with a balcony looking at the swimming pool. The excellent and varied breakfast is served near the patio. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Great hotel. Great room, bed and good breakfast. They seemed to barely cope with breakfast rush but the food was good and service with many smiles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Your kind words have been passed to our team.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The hotel is built in a beautiful colonial style that one wouldn't expect when seeing it from outside. Perfect service, beautiful dining area, very good food (breakfast and diner) - nothing to add.
We had expected more from Yogja and had booked 5 nights (far too long) which was eased by the great hotel, where we relaxed in our spare time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your kind words have been passed to our team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.