We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hospitality and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ndalem Mbak Charly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ndalem Mbak Charly to your Saves list
Ndalem Mbak Charly
Jalan Nuri no 6, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hospitality and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

During the summer I spent a month at Ndalem Mbak Charly and was very impressed by the excellence in service, cleanliness, and overall comfort provided by the accommodation. While the purpose of my stay was related to school, I could definitely see myself returning on a holiday or exploration with friends and family. The room, common areas, and bathroom were all exceptionally clean and provided utilities (advanced AC, Filtered water machine, Western-style plumbing) that were beyond satisfying. Additionally, the owners and management of the homestay, Charly and Aria, went out of their way to organize trips throughout central Java and ensure that our stay in Jogja was very enjoyable. They were very helpful in pointing us towards the local hot spots and guided us through the culture and food diversity. In my experiences staying at hotels, hostels, and homestays throughout the globe, I have never experienced such amazing hospitality as I did at Mbak Charly. Some additional notes about the stay: great proximity to both traditional/local cuisine and Western cuisine, coffee shops, entertainment and shopping. Perfect location to avoid the hustle/bustle and tourist traps present on Marlioboro Street and get a real sense of Jogja. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was here for two weeks for holiday. This is a very nice place. It is a strategic place (in the center of the city), cheap, clean, good room, WI-FI, feels like home. I will stay here next time when i go to jogja. Thanks Mr. Arya and Mrs. Charly :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stay at ndalem mbak charly 2 nights, it was cheap and good location. Room and bathroom were clean. Friendly staff. I will go there again with friends, because we could rent 1 whole house. The owner, ibu Charly makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I just spent one month at Ndalem Mbak Charly with a few friends on a school program. It was a great place to stay. I felt really at home while I was here. The room that I stayed in was nice and clean and had good AC. Charly and Aria were so kind and helped us with anything and everything that we needed, from booking tours and flights for us to taking us to great places to eat and karaoke. The rest of the staff was also friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here the next time that I am in Jogja!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ndalem Mbak Charly ( The House of Charly ) is a homestay located in the downtown of Yogyakarta, Indonesia. It is near public areas, such as restaurants, universities, malls, station, and airport Adi Sucipto. It offers a clean comfortable neat room ( tv inside ), with good service provided. It has also free high speed internet connectivity ( wifi ) for its guests. On the contrary, the price is affordable, around IDR 90.000 - IDR 125.000 per night. Highly recommended for business trip, or holiday trip, either Indonesian tourist or international tourist ( the owner is able to speak in English, Dutch, and Indonesia as well. ) Really fits to its tagline, "Just Like Home".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ndalem Mbak Charly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndalem Mbak Charly

Address: Jalan Nuri no 6, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a cheap, clean, simple but neat place to stay in Jogjakarta (also not noisy despite the very strategic location in the centre of the city, surrounded by Jogja factory outlets, restaurants, cafes and the university UGM, UNY, Sanata Dharma, Atmajaya, UIN). Then Homestay Ndalem Mbak Charly is the right place to be.Homestay Jogja Ndalem Mbak Charly provide daily lodging in Jogja city, similar to a guest house or inn, with besides only bedrooms also a spacious living room with tv, lounge in the little garden at the back, garage and WIFI Internet. The homestay offers clean, simple but comfortable, safe rooms which are not noisy and cheap. Our homestay will give you a feeling of being home.The homestay is comprised with air-conditioned and fan rooms. All rooms are fresh / simple designed and equipped with 22 inch LED TV, table, chairs and comfortable beds. Each room can be occupied by 1 to 3 people (4 people with extra bed). To be. NEW FACILITY: FOR AN EXTRA SURCHARGE WE HAVE NOW SWIMMING POOL FACILITY. CHECK THE PICTURES FOR THE SWIMMING POOL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ndalem Mbak Charly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ndalem Mbak Charly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.