We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely stay here at Hotel Tentrem again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta to your Saves list
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. A.M. Sangaji 72A, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would definitely stay here at Hotel Tentrem again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We got the first impression of TOP 5 STARS hotel with a combination of modern yet a classy traditional Indonesian culture. My family have experienced late check-in process around 11pm and the staffs are very helpful and friendly. We were given a room immediately.The room is spacious and comfortable. Not to forget the nice view of the swimming pool. The hotels also offer great facilities. the fitness area smells nice and provides almost every machine you will need. The kids love the kids area. Duck king restaurant is a must try! and mini market in front of the hotel adds another +

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    114
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
120
59
20
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

first time i walked in to this hotel ... WOW....seriously? this kind of hotel exists in Jogjakarta?
Definitely more than a 5-star hotel... maybe 6 or 7...
I stayed there for 3 nights with my family (i wish i've stayed longer). i will definitely come back in the next future....
The staff is the best, very friendly and in a good manner, the pool is great, breakfast is awesome and not forgetting the duck king and the HEAVENLY kids playground...my kids loveeddd it !!!!
The room is very spacious, we got the twin bed for me, my husbands and my 2 kids... probably one of the best hotel room in Indonesia !!
Recommended !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived at 2 pm but the room was not ready.We decided not to make a fuss since they said it would be ready in 30 minutes then we went to the kids club to wait. After 1 hour, we came back up and again the room was not ready and no other room was available. However, the most dissapointing thing is that the receptionist and receptionist manager both tried to downgrade our room to deluxe while we have paid premier room with balcony

This is really not a five star service and the first time in my experience that a hotel trying to downgrade because of their own inefficiency in getting the room ready

Finally the room was ready at 3.30 pm then they broke another dissapointing news that the pool was under maintenance. They later called us around 4 pm that the ph balance of the pool was already normal. When we went to swim the water was green and many impurities on top of the water surface
Due to the above reason we gave hotel Tentrem 2 out of 5

Nonetheless
The kids club is amazing
Room is very nice and spacious
Grand duck king is a must try

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If not the best hotel in Jogya, it would have certainly be in the top 3, particularly for value, as this hotel would command twice the price if it were in say Jakarta. The hotel is (literally) brand new and although it seems like no expense was sparred, it still tries and retains in Javanese charm.

Best points:

Facilities/presentation: Well, you would almost certainly expect this to be it's strong point, given its marketing itself as a 5 star hotel, offering high level of luxury (by its own admission) and its brand new (hasnt even had its official grand opening according to the staff.

Rooms are very spacious, massive LCD TV and equally spacious bathroom/toilet (has a rain shower as well).

Hotel also has indoor playground for children (open until 10pm at night) and is overseen by 2 women (great for traveling families like myself). As for the hotel gym - best equipped I have ever seen, hands down.

Service: Not sure if it was because it was a brand new hotel or its the central Javanese politeness, but the service and friendliness did not go unnoticed by myself & my family.

The food also at the Kayumanis restaurant I thought also was very good, as good as the food I had at the Kepinski Hotel in Jakarta. Breakfest and dinner buffett I thought offered excellent range and was tasty as well. Buffett dinner was about 180k inc tax and I def got my monies worth.

If I had to provide a fault, maybe the location isn't as central as some others, if your looking to be near the tourist area of Kraton/Malioboro. Having said that, taxis are very cheap and is only about 15 min ride from the hotel and 20 min ride from airport.

I was also fortunate enough to meet the owner of the hotel (who was staying in the room opposite for the night) and he thanked me for staying at his hotel. He was very friendly and keen for feedback, so its no wonder why the hotel standard was quite high.

If your looking for a new, clean hotel with good value and good service, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and I absolutely loved it! The property is new and everything is immaculate, I personally loved the pool and the bar by the pool, prices are very affordable and service is great, a bit slow, but everyone at the hotel takes pride on their job!
The hotel provides with a shuttle to go to Malioboro street every hour, that comes very handy! Breakfast buffet was very nice and they also provide you with a breakfast box if you need to leave before 6 AM.
We had a massage at the SPA and that was great, also the gym, the jacuzzi and the sauna are amazing.
My only minor complain will be the AC in the room, it is very noisy and not very strong.
Hope you guys enjoy this hotel, and please, do go to Borobudur in the early morning for the sunrise, it is absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klagenfurt
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

even the hotel just did the soft opening and there was still a lot of work going on, it was a perfect stay and it is a very luxury and trendy place to spend some days during business acitvities in Jogja - now you can get a opening promotion price which is really unbelievable for this kind of hotel, the breakfast is one of the best I ever had, very special and a lot of choices....the pool area is very well done, with nice coffee shop and bar on the poolside...the rooms are superb, some of them with balcony, for smokers and a cozy lounge outside....the gym is great and it lures you to do some training there....all in one, a perfect hotel, will be even more perfect after all the last things are done and it will run normally....I love it

Room Tip: if you are smoker you should take the rooms with balcony and of course the rooms with pool view are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I didn't expect to find a luxurious and tasteful hotel in Yogyakarta and enjoyed the stay very much. The room is modern, clean and classy. Breakfast selection was equally great - there are some local food as well. The spa is a great destination after your shopping trip to relax your tired muscle. Well done! (by the way, the only drawback was the air condition and wifi which sometimes didn't work - which understandable because this hotel was newly opened).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. A.M. Sangaji 72A, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta is strategically located in the heart of the city, a minute stroll from the vibrant well-known district of Malioboro. 20-25 Minutes drive will take you to Adi Sutjipto International Airport and the Tugu Train Station is a short drive away. This area is also famous for its wide array of dining and entertainments options with the downtown just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.