We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole place seems very confused” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oxen Free

Oxen Free
Jalan Sosrowijayan No.2, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
62-274-555492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 501 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Eclectic, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Late Night
Description: Offering a select menu of local and international favorites, fine coffee, a range of beers and special menu of mixed drinks OXEN FREE has something to entice all tastes.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The whole place seems very confused”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I ate here one of my days in Yogya and while the food was ok, it was a bit pretentious, the whole setting is a bit confusing, I'm not sure restaurant/bar knows what direction it's going or what kind of crowd it's trying to attract. It's trying very hard to be trendy but there was no atmosphere, lighting was terrible and the staff just hung around the doorway laughing and joking, very hard to get their attention. I ordered a steak tempe assuming it was a steak but it was just a measly serving of veg, fries and a burger made out of mashed beans, while very tasty it was not really satisfying and my waiter could not explain to me why there was no steak, he simply walked away. Not a pleasant experience overall, unfriendly, overpriced and overcomplicated, this place needs to simplify.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxenFree, Public Relations Manager at Oxen Free, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
ConorMc

Thank you for taking the time to visit, review and provide us with your feedback. I will be speaking with our management this evening in regards to a number of the points raised.

We are, however, a bit confused as to what you ordered. We have not had tempe steak on our menu for some months. We are also unsure of your understanding of tempe steak, but essentially it is a vegetarian burger (or steak) made out of mashed soy beans (tempe). After checking our prior menu we concede that this may not have been explained in such detail but assumed that tempe steak was a universally understood vegetarian dish. Aside from the confusion we are glad that you found it tasty but are sorry that our waiters were unable to better explain the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Basically, this is a bar, but with the sky as your roof. It's a nice place to hang out, but not to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxenFree, Public Relations Manager at Oxen Free, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Andi R,
thank you for taking the time to review our venue. We would like to ask to ask why you consider that Oxen Free is not a nice place to eat? What did you try from our menu? We pride ourselves on our food and it is of our opinion, and many of our regular customers, that we have some of the best food in the area if not Jogja. If we have the pleasure of your company again please let us know by mentioning your review and we will provide you with a complimentary meal so you can taste how good our food is.
Again thanks for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped here a couple of times for food and drinks and the prices were really reasonable. Service is fast and the outdoor area is a lovely place to relax. Great respite from the hustle and bustle with the perfect balance of patrons to make it a friendly atmosphere without being crazy busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool Pub in Malioboro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a cool-looking pub, where Jogja Hipsters congregate for a good night out. Drinks are low in alcohol content though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxenFree, Public Relations Manager at Oxen Free, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
stilldelving thank you for visiting us and taking time to review our venue. We would just like to clarify that all of our drinks are standard pour at a minimum with many of our cocktails being extremely high in alcohol content. If we have the pleasure of your company again may we suggest you try our Apricot Kiss, Martini (100% alcohol) or our Boston, Orange Blossom and Lychee Martini (almost 100% alcohol). Or if you are completely crazy ask the bar to make you an Armageddon ;) Again thanks and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good for hang out and lil' tipsy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

located in small street of sostrowijayan, this small cafe offers us various menu, it's kind of small but hips cafe, many europians who are in college in yogyakarta.
my friends order long island, and get drunk because it is so strong... but the music and ambience is cool... kinda hot because its outdoor but the value is so less expensive...

recomended for hang out with friends...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxen Free also viewed

 

Been to Oxen Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxen Free, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.