We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey come, try and have a french mediterranean experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranea Restaurant

Mediterranea Restaurant
Jalan Tirtodipuran no 24A | Mantrijeron, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
0274 371 052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 501 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mediterranea Restaurant by kamil is providing French and Mediterranean Cuisine in a Cozy Place From Tuesday to Sunday, we are Open for Lunch Time at 11am non stop untill 11pm.All Recipes are made by The French Chef Kamil.
JOGJAKARTA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hey come, try and have a french mediterranean experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good atmosphere, the restaurant is like a house with several different rooms and we have a look on the cookers also...but the most important is to discover the tastes of the differents mix french mediterranean food.

Thank you for the time there where, as a french, and demanding on food (french always complain about food), i have a good time created by the ambiance and the dishes i'had tasted.

Go & try by yourself and discover the mediterranean taste !!

Keep rocking Camille !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    72
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food, good enough prices. Definitely the best place we found on this street & its extension (Jl. Prawirotaman) south of the sultan's palace in Jogja.

They also do carryout, & we enjoyed some great pizzas at our hotel one night when some of our group were too exhausted to eat out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Not Like I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

An Indonesain friend from Jogja and I had an enjoyable evening at Kamil's restaurant. The interior was nicely done, the place very clean, the tables far apart to provide privacy, the service excellent, but the food average. By reading some prior reviews I expected a more gourmet experience but found it more a typical "good food" experience. Now the food was fine, just not excellent. we had a good salad and a tagine. Now I have had a number of tagines in Morocco and this one was not well spiced. The chicken was cooked expertly but the veggies and spices were ordinary. I did notice some adjacent tables with pizza and calzones and they looked delicious -- and for those I would return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had dinner at Mediterranea last week and met the Owner Kamil. Special of the day amazing (we went twice), huge portions.
Indonesian and western customers, few french people as Kamil is French !!!
Would definitely go back next time an in Yogyakarta !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Utterly Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant is something else. The food is world class, yet offered at fantastic prices. I dined here with two others a few nights ago, and in total (including desserts and drinks), our bill came to somewhere around $30 (or 300,000RP). I'm from Australia, and to eat at a restaurant of this quality back home would've cost our table in the region of $120-140. We had the chicken shish kebab, which is a thing of beauty and came with a huge side of scrumptious sauteed potato, duck confit with a delicious mushroom sauce and generous helping of mashed potato, and the daily special which was smoked salmon served on top of a potato base of some sort (I've forgotten what it was called!). For dessert, I highly recommend the apple pie.

The restaurant itself has a really nice, relaxed vibe to it. It's not small and cramped, but open and spacious, without being too big. The service was also excellent - the waiters/waitresses were extremely friendly and efficient.

It truly was a five star experience. Be sure to check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranea Restaurant also viewed

 
Bantul, Yogyakarta
 

Been to Mediterranea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranea Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.