We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A1 service hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arjuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arjuna to your Saves list
Hotel Arjuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Margo Utomo / P Mangkubumi No. 44, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“A1 service hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arjuna Hotel is located in Jalan P. Mangkubumi (P.Mangkubumi Road), which is a credit for me to get a Trans Jogja local bus from Airport direct to the hotel. The bus stop (Mangkubumi Halte) is just right in front the hotel. Taxi ride will be 20-30 minutes to the airport depending the traffic.

Location -
Area is quieter compared to Malioboro street, a good night rest is reassure.
Is 10-15minutes good walk to the happening Malioboro Street and Malioboro Mall. One can also take the 'becak' (trishaw) ride from the hotel to Malioboro Street for a few rupiah only, do get the hotel to arrange for you, no additional cost.
Trans Jogja local bus stop is just right infront the hotel, which you can use this transport to get to the place of attractions.

Reception -
Simple and staff is well manner and friendly. We were greeted with a cold welcome drink while they preparing our check in. Receptionist handed us a Jogja map and nicely explain to us how to walk around the city. No forgotten the concierge, very helpful and approachable.

Room (Superior) -
The room has good sunlight and not noisy. Generally is clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facility were provided, however refrigerator was not provided in a superior so it is a little disappointing because with the hot weather in Jogja, you don't have a refrigerator to store cool drink. Air-cond in the room is not cold enough. Bathroom come with toiletries kits and clean towels.

Breakfast -
Varieties of local and western breakfast. I really like the 'Jamu corner', they served herbs tea for the breakfast guests. The restaurant is next to the swimming pool. Lots of nice old photos of Jogja City hanged on the wall. The only disliked of the breakfast restaurant is this place is not a non smoking area.

Note -
Try the massage recommended by the hotel. It is actually behind the hotel or you can arrange them to come to your hotel room. Very reasonable and good skill.
The hotel trishaw is good and reasonable.
Make use the bus stop, Trans Jogja bus is the cheapest and convenience transport in town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear SanHec,

We are sincerely grateful for the long review you wrote regarding to your stay at the Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. The feedback, both positive and constructive, is really much appreciated because we believe that it really helps us to develop and to improve our services. We will note the points you have made and pass them on for management to consider, especially the minibar issue. However, I am glad to inform you that the restaurant is a non-smoking area, except the seats outside next to the pool.

All in all, it sounds you had an enjoyable stay with us and we could not be happier about it. Once again thank you for the comments and we are hoping to see you again in the near future. The same masseurs will be here waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
23
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came across this hotel by chance and were initially quite impressed by the front desk reception staff. We were shown the Deluxe, Standard and Superior rooms and the price was very reasonable at Around AUD52 per night. The duty manager was kind enough to upgrade us to the Superior room which would have otherwise been around AUD80. The rooms itself are extremely well kept and the 24hour room service was excellent. They even provided us with breakfast boxes for our sunrise tour to Borobudur, which was plenty for 2 people. We therefore requested for one breakfast box for our early morning flight departure on the last day. I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel as it is very close to Malioboro Street ( which is the main shopping strip of Yogyakarta). The staff are extremely friendly and the manager Tino is a exceptional host.The hotel also has a swimming pool, restaurant and chemist shop. All in all we had a very memorable stay and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear rfox21,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at the Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay and truly hope to see you back in the hotel very soon. On behalf of the whole staff, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and services. Certainly this feedback will help us to improve and to ensure that all the guests will get an enjoyable experience as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Value for money hotel in great location. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food excellent and reasonable price. The rooms were clean and had everything you need shampoo soap ect and there was a complementary coffee tray which was nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is also near the train station so great for arriving and leaving. Well done Arjuna.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear chinkynorthofengland,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. It is pleasant to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would even recommend us to everyone. I am sure that this feedback will be encouraging for our staff as we are trying to ensure that our guests get a memorable experience here in Hotel Arjuna. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am actually surprised to find so little review for this hotel. I have traveled to many countries and stayed in many hotels but this is the first establishment that made me want to write a review.

When we first arrive, we were greeted by smiling, friendly staff at the door and the reception counter. While waiting for the front desk to arrange for our rooms, I was pleasantly surprised when a female staff appeared at the reception area and offered us refreshments (guava juice, it's really good!).

The internet service in Arjuna was tip-top. In addition to a computer in the reception area for guests, the Wi-fi is well and kicking in our rooms. I have never had such a fast connection while staying in a hotel room! They have different wi-fi for different areas of the hotel, but as a guest you are still allowed access to these wi-fi areas with the same password, so one can be assured of fast connection whether in the room, the cafe, reception area or even the poolside.

The only slight glitch to the service was a mix-up on our hotel rooms on the day we arrived. As I was travelling with my Mum, Aunt and my two young siblings, we requested two adjoining rooms. However, there were no adjoining rooms available to us during that time. As it turns out they had (accidentally or not I am not sure) placed another guest in one of the adjoined rooms meant for us.

Even in this cloud we had seen a silver lining. The young man at the reception counter politely and apologetically informed us of this error, and asked if it was all right if they house my Mum and two siblings in another room and relocate them to the adjoined room the next day when the other guest has checked out. He personally took us up to the rooms he mentioned to see whether we were all right with the arrangements. And because this new room is very close to our original joined arrangements anyway, we decided to spare him the trouble and remain in the allocated rooms throughout the trip.

The rest of the staff was also very friendly, polite and full of smiles. The breakfast buffet were superb and had different varieties every day. Arjuna is also located near the Malioboro streets (some 10 minutes of walking), so it was very convenient when my Aunt decided to go hunt for a more comfortable footwear at 8:00pm at night before our big trip to Borobudur and Merapi the next day.

I would definitely recommend Arjuna for a good stay in Yogyakarta. As a fellow reviewer previously said: it's a 4 star hotel with a 5 star service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear AnneSB2012,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. We are sincerely grateful for hearing all those pleasant things you mentioned. Once again, we would like to apologize for the mix-up with the rooms and thank you for your understanding in the situation. It is delightful to hear the positive feedback about our staff and service because it will give us confidence to maintain the same level or even improve from that. We are hoping to welcome you back to Hotel Arjuna in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here as a stop over as it was close to the train station. The hotel is modern, clean and in a great location.
We cannot speak highly enough about the service here. Also we were able to organise a trip to Borobodour as well as get suggestions for our onward travel.
The breakfast buffet has a good selection. We also had lunch and dinner here and were impressed both times with our meals. Swimming pool is squeezed in beside the restaurant but very enjoyable after a long hot day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jackie M,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read about your enjoyable stay with us and our staff will definitely be delighted for the good feedback concerning their performances. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First impression => it's very good hotel with lovely staff, located near malioboro street market, tugu rail stations, and 25 minutes from adi sucipto airports.

Access => 10 minutes walks from tugu station, 25 minutes from adi sucipto airport, 10 minutes walk from malioboro street. There is Trans Jogja stop bus near hotel that can make you easy to roam yogya.

Room => very nice, very complete for a suite, with living room an private balcony

Conclusions :

Pros :
1. very nice hotel and staffs are very helpful
2. complete access to hotel, near to railways station, airport, and Trans Jogja bus stop
3. with decent rates, you can have suites room

Cons :
1. avoid peak or school season, it will be hard to booked this hotel
2. there is lack for electric plug for gadget, so if you bring so many gadget you can call helpdesk or, unplug some light room
3. the keys are able to open from outside, eventhough using card key(how come the security so lame here.......)
4. the sound proof is very lacked here, if your neighbour room speak loud. you can here it clearly......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mr Jambrong,

We are sincerely grateful for your comments concerning your stay in Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. Since we are a quite new hotel we are pleased to hear your thoughts. This way we are able to improve the premises of the hotel as well as the services. We have acknowledged the cons mentioned by you and actions will be taken to make sure our guests can get the best experience possible at the Hotel Arjuna. For high season peaks, we truly recommend to book the room early in advance.

On behalf of the whole staff, I would like to thank you again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arjuna

Address: Jalan Margo Utomo / P Mangkubumi No. 44, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arjuna 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta is situated in Malioboro area, the tourism and business district of the city, and only a few minutes away from Tugu railway station. Trans Jogja city busses are stopping right in front of the hotel ready to take you to Sultan Palace or to Prambanan, one of the most impressive Hindu temples in the world. The hotel is approximately 25 minutes from the Adisutjipto International Airport.We offer 72 rooms in five different types: Standard, Superior, Superior Pool view, Deluxe and Suite rooms. All the rooms are equipped with AC, hot & cold water, tea/coffee maker, IDD telephone, TV with satellite channels, and free WiFi. Breakfast buffet is included in the prices and served in our Srikandi Coffee Shop. Additionally, outdoor swimming pool, business center, Taman Sari Pool Bar and Dewi Kunthi Spa & Reflexology are available for our customers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arjuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.