We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Jogja” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio 76 Silver Class

Studio 76 Silver Class
Purbayan KG 3/1190 Kotagede, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
+62 274 714 7676
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must when in Jogja”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A friend who had done the class the prior night recommended we do this class - and it was awesome! Really relaxing and a great experience. Never done any jewellery making before.
The studio is so serene - and the teacher - Mas Agus - really helpful and friendly.

Thank you for a great experience - and definitely something that should be tried!

We wrote up about it on our blog http://agentmorphedesign.com.au/broadcast/2013/01/28/day-4-from-the-cave-to-the-palace/

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Varies Often
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Getting into the spirit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There is so much great art in this city, and in my opinion there is no better way to experience it than by getting involved. Agus' silver smith class allows you to just that. As a first timer to jewellery making I was a little bit nervous about soldering, and to top it off my design was ambitious for a beginner to say the least. With Agus' guidance and encouragement I completed my piece without compromise. I can't wait to give my mom her personalized silver pendent made by me. For the fun, experience, and value take a day and do this!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a must do in Yogya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My three teenage kids (16,15 and 13) and husband enrolled for a class with Pak Agus. It was a highlight of our visit to Yogya. It was a complete hands on experience with each of the three kids (1 son and 2 daughters) making a silver ring of their own design. Pak Agus was a great teacher, patient, funny and with excellent English. He even explained to 15 year old son some of the chemical properties of silver ! (son had been on holidays too long!). We highly recommend this silver making class - it is a must do in Yogya. Thanks very much Pak Agus!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Highlight!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Definitely, definitely worth it - we had a really great time! The instructor makes this course really fun and the jewlery we made will be very special as presents

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salatiga, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must do in Jogja!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you ever happen to be in Jogja, going to this studio will make a good experience! The owner offers jewelry making classes from 3 hours to a couple of days. (see http://indonesiantourismonline.blogspot.com/2010/01/studio-76-silver-jewellery-making.html) I did a arranged course and it was totally worth it! Just make sure you contact him before you come.
Oh and he also arranges great bike rides trough the outskirts of Jogja. A very good way to experience some real culture and have time to take photo's of the beautiful rice fields and villages.
Just ask him about it! He speaks good English, French, little bit of Dutch and who knows even more than that.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio 76 Silver Class also viewed

 

Been to Studio 76 Silver Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio 76 Silver Class, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.