We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Ballet Purawisata

Ramayana Ballet Purawisata
Jl. Brigjen Katamso | Mergangsan, Keparakan, Yogyakarta 55152, Indonesia
+62 274 375705
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ramayana Ballet, performed at Purawisata Yogyakarta, Indonesia is a perfect place to watch Ramayana Ballet. Only 4 minutes from Malioboro Street. It has been staged regularly every night since 1976 and it has received an award from Indonesian Record Museum (MURI). It also has been performed at Open Air Stage (only will moved to Indoor if it rains).
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beautiful costumes and characters. Well played out but the stage was small as we had to watch it inside due to the rain. Still enjoyed it tremendously.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    55
    25
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Watched the one in the city center, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our hotel told us that the show was not available at the Prambanan Temple during our very short stay in Yogya, so we ended up watching the one that is performed in the city center.

To me, the Ramayana Ballet Show is another version of the Kecak Dance from Bali, it seems to me that 90% of the story of both show are the same (please correct me if i'm wrong). The only difference is just the background music of the Ramayana is with Indo musical instruments instead of men shouting for the Kecak. While during the show, we were disturbed by the prayer broadcast from a mosque, and as well as a wedding banquet that was set right outside the outdoor theater :S

Quite a disappointment for me, I wish I could watch the one that performs at the Prambanan instead. I believe that one would be much better (at least there will be a better venue background + setup?)

*Ticket + Hotel pick-up costs Rp250,000 / person

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I do wish we'd seen the outdoor one, but the indoor one was wonderful. Pay the little extra and get the best seats if you can afford it. You can go buy a couple of drinks at the bar and bring them in, and you can still photograph the temple at night, even if it's inside. Well worth it. Stay at the Sheraton to be nearby.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth watching..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

An excellent Ramayana Love story just like Romeo & Juliet except this live happy ever after. Ticket is a bit pricey which is IDR330,000. I suggest that you take a package with dinner. Their buffet dinner is quite nice. Very interesting place to be especially at night. Will not disappoint you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enthralling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

was apprehensive at first but i got hooked as i watched it. very detailed and the costumes are really beautiful. the play and characters were properly depicted and it was very engaging. a good experience indeed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramayana Ballet Purawisata also viewed

 

Been to Ramayana Ballet Purawisata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Ballet Purawisata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.