We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in outskirt of Yogja” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Alamanda Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alamanda Bed & Breakfast
Jl. Kabubapten/ Intersection Ringroad Utera | Gang Trini 1, Yogyakarta 55291, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 304 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in outskirt of Yogja”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Encountered overbooked issue thus not able to stay in Junior suite. However owner Frans was quick to resolve the issue. He is really thoughtful, helpful and attentive to our needs. He will take care of you very well. Have a memorable stay in the villa. Driver Tony and Juno were both helpful as well.Very good breakfast as well made by Richie who also can accomodate vegetarians.
Overall an awesome stay! Thank you very much, Frans and staff !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
66
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff is very friendly and the food excellent! Frantz is always happy to give you advises on things to do in the region and truly cares about his guests. The rooms are clean and very nicely decorated. As we were on honeymoon, they put beautiful flowers on arrival.
I would recommand this B&B to anyone !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Well...well, my title kinda sums it all, doesn't it?
Was travelling with 2 other friends and we wanted something different, something more traditional and yet not compromising on comfort and cleanliness and Alamanda certainly surpassed our expectations.

Booked the hotel through the website directly and corresponded with Frans prior to our arrival and everything was very well taken care of, from picking up from the airport to dropping us off at another hotel on our last day at the bnb. We got a hut because there were three of us and it was modeled after a typical Javanese hut, wooden and all. And it had an outdoor bathroom, you can even see stars at night while showering.

Aside from that, Frans provided us with information of things which we can do when we arrived and told us that everything can be customized as to what we wanted. We visited Mt Merapi, Peramban, some caves and rapids, and Borobudur all with one of his driver, Hastono who we thought his name was Donald all these while till the last day!! The trips were very well planned and Hastono took care of our every needs, he took us to street stalls which were void of tourists and bought us traditional Javanese snacks on our drive journey back. Fran and his team were also very generous and eager to make your stay an awesome one. While waiting for lunch to be prepared, we got bored, and they lent us their motorbikes to take a ride around the village at no cost.. and when we got back, food was ready!

The food which Richie and his team whip up is totally amazing! You can literally taste the effort put into cooking the meal. Unfortunately, aside from breakfast, we only had 1 lunch in, the rest with all restaurants outside.

I highly recommend Alamanda to people who want an awesome vacation away from the busy city yet still a high level of convenience. It is definitely one of the more memorable moments in Yogya.. :)

Room Tip: Get the huts! :) Wifi is intermittent, but dude, start talking to your travel buddies :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberwil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was by far the most expensive room (junior suite) we had on our whole trip to Java and Bali. And I am sorry to say, not the best. It is a bit too much to call it Junior Suite. The view was good. But honestly the maintanance neglected. Frans' staff is all young students wanting to practice English. What a good idea of him, but they need training, they need to learn to clean for instance. And to take care of the plants. Our driver though was a lovely young man. The idea of an open bathroom is charming, but I do not want to have fights with an army of ants in order to use the toilet. But all this was compensated by Frans' eager to help his guests. His picking up and bringing is quite special and quite important, because the guesthouse is so far out in the countryside. And then on top of it does he charge very little for transportation. And the breakfast is sumptious and very delicious. Often are the plates decorated by Richie.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

alamanda b&b provides tip top excellent service to its guest. The owner and staff were attentive to our needs and offered great advice to what to do and where to go! Everything was nicely planned and we didn't hv to worry bout anything :) our tour guide, Tono, was extremely helpful and accommodating as well! Really loved our stay at Alamanda and the awesome spread of breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thankful and blessed to have such nice people looking after us during our short stay at Jogja. Well done!! :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a joglo, one of two room accomodations in the middle of the rice paddy. Both joglos were just a short walk to the main reception area and other rooms and were nicely decorated. Both joglos had an attached but open air bathroom and shower and a small patio.

The food was really good - hats off to Richie and the service was great. Now Frans was a character and in a very good sort of way. Funny, helpful and delightful to talk to. Guests were both young and Older, like us but all friendly.

Tour excursions were easy to arrange and the drivers all spoke good English, though most would tell you that they didn't. Very humble! There were 6 of us one day sharing a van, 4 old Americans and 2 cute young Dutch couple and we had a wonderful time sharing stories.
Again, I got a chance to see all of the rooms and they were all lovely but we really enjoyed the joglos which were out of the hub of the reception area.
Would highly recommend for a fun experience in Jogjo

Room Tip: Loved the Joglos!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Alamanda was our favorite stay in Indonesia. We were picked up from airport and all of our trip was organized by Frans. We told him what we wanted to see and from then on it was organized. There was a car at the door and we had 2 different drivers who showed us around, even helping with bargaining at the market and organizing a replacement pair of earrings from a silversmith when I lost one. Food was great, thanks to Richie and all the other staff. We were driven to fantastic restaurants, either with others or on ourogives and given a phone to ring the driver when finished. Rooms very comfortable, everything you need is covered.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamanda Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Bed & Breakfast

Address: Jl. Kabubapten/ Intersection Ringroad Utera | Gang Trini 1, Yogyakarta 55291, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Bed&Breakfast Deluxe kan je wel zeggen ligt net aan de rand van de stad Jogjakarta, het is een prachtige villa midden in de rijstvelden en het heeft 3 kamers, en 4 prachtige bungalows in java style midden in de rijstvelden voor het huis. De eigenaar is Nederlander, met een top team vcan jonge enthousiaste medewerkers die u graag ECHT jogkarta laten zien. Het is 15 minuten met de auto naar het centrum en 20 naar de luchthaven dus ideaal gelegen , frisse wind geen geluids overlast van verkeer en zeer schone lucht, bij ons kunt u nog de vuurvliegjes zien iedere avond en dat is het toippunt van zuiverlucht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alamanda Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.