We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casa Es Tu Casa

Mi Casa Es Tu Casa
Sosrowijayan Wetan GTI/141, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
+62274582967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 438 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Indonesian, Spanish, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: MI CASA ES TU CASA is a restaurant located in the beautiful city of Yokyakarta, Indonesia, a city with plenty to see and plenty to learn. Whenever you are ready to kick back and relax, we invite you to come and have a nice home made meal in a quiet ambience, good music and friendly hosts.We serve all kinds of food, from indonesian Sate Ayam to spanish Gazpacho, all made with love and caring!
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We don't quite understand all the positive ratings, especially from Lonely Planet. It will get full, but mainly with folks with the Lonely Planet guide at hand (like us). Paella was poor, as was the beef and risotto. There many better places to go..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mindanao, Philippines
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great package, ok restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This an ok restaurant in a GREAT location (directly accross from 1001 Malams), and a super manager/owner who can arrange tours of Jogja andall the way to Bali (if oyu have the stamina for a mini van). This restaurant also has specials - peala and two kinds of snake (python, cobra) freshly caught in the rice fields. Surprisingly good. If you are in this area, I'd recommend giving it a try.

Oh, almost forgot, GREAT place to meet other travelers to chat and exchange information.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cold food long waiting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The ambiance is great! But the food just took too long and the sateh (chicken) was cold... My dish came when my friend finished his dish and after that we got the starter. My dish (a vegetarian curry) was ok, spicy and still warm :-) and a good price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, very slow service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Went to mi casa es tu casa for dinner. Had to wait a couple of minutes before we were seated which is a good sign, in terms of popularity of the place.

When seated, we had to write down our order and wait. I don't mind to wait long for my food, especially when I'm on holiday but this took way too long. After 1.5 hour the food finally arrived at our table which tasted good by the way.

Conclusion: if you don't mind to wait over an hour for dinner, go here. If you're in hurry, avoid this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Tasty food, friendly staff, clean bathrooms, good prices and choices. Good location near Malioboro, and always playing nice music!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa Es Tu Casa also viewed

 
Yogyakarta, Java
Yogyakarta, Java
 

Been to Mi Casa Es Tu Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casa Es Tu Casa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.