We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta to your Saves list
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Laksda Adisucipto No 38, Yogyakarta 55001, Indonesia (Formerly Hotel Saphir Yogyakarta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Hotel is decent. The Staff is pretty friendly. The pool is good too. The downside:

(a) Location: The Hotel is located near the Airport; but at a comfortably far distance from the city, and hence, if you want to be visiting the city frequently - then you got to travel a little;

(b) A little confused staff: While the staff is good and friendly - they are a bit confused. I don't know if caught them on their weak point or were they just simply lost.

Baring the above - good hotel, pretty OK OK maintained - seemed recently renovated to give a modern touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
14
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Its a nice hotel. near to airport. nice exterior though rooms were rather old. but rooms are very clean with comfy bed. nice spread of breakfast, more on the indonesian cusine. i would come back to this hotel. wifi is free and strong even in the room. had free transfer to airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Priyo, Manajer at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We plan to do renovation in the beginning of 2014.
Hopefully you will expirience a more pleasent stay in the next visit to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Andreas Priyo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I really love the room, so spacious and bright. Wifi connection so great, help my work better. Breakfast with so many choice is really made my day. Location wise is good. Room service is so fast. All staff were so friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
We are consistently maintain our excellent service to all our guests through the hotel facilities include Breakfast variety and unlimited Free WI-FI in room & public area

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Daniel Tony Wibowo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surabaya
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I got special rate on 21-22 December. Great room a little bit smelly at first but the do it well and response quick on our complain.

Nice swimming pool but we don't have time to swim, it is rain when we come.

Great taste and choices of breakfast. Do try Gudeg ( the serve it in breakfast)

Room Tip: please choose rooms opposite the main street to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
We apologize for any inconvenience experience you had during your stay and we ensure that it wont occur again the future

Regret to hear that you can't enjoy the swimming pool because of rainy and hopefully you can enjoy it during your next visit.

For breakfast, we have a lot of variety and completed with Traditional Yogyakarta menu "Gudeg" and others menu served during breakfast time

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is my second time returning to this hotel. Loved the location.Room is clean, cosy and comfortable.Good spread for breakfast- a lot of choices of fruits and traditional food.

Loved the free internet availability in the room and all public area. it was nice and good facilities.

Check in was a breeze. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Security at the hotel is good. Taxis easily available just outside the hotel.

Room was old design but, comfortable and clean. Another comment is, they give me best rate to stay in best locations in city center of Yogyakarta city with the best rate for 4 stars hotel.

Only 15 minutes by becak going to Malioboro and also 5 minutes by becak to the biggest shopping mall in thies city called Ambarukmo plaza. and huge swimming pool , my kids enjoy very much.

For sure i will be back to stay next trip to Yogyakarta ... good rate and good location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
We are consistently maintain our excellent service to all our guests through the facilities & staff by doing partially renovation & regularly training to all staffs

Close to tourist attraction such as Malioboro, Museum Afandi, Plaza Ambarukmo, Traditional market, Prambanan temple etc and can reach by Becak, Taxi and Trans Jogja (Public Transportation) .

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I will start by saying our stay was at the end of the Indonesian School Holidays when Yogya is very busy, and this was one of the few available hotels.
That said, it compared poorly to other properties I've used in the past, and to make it wore was at a vrey higher price due to the season.

The lobby is large, and looks like it was quite nice when new- 20 years ago. The tooms are adequate, and good sized, and I will say kept clean.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing that made me want to eat other meals in house.

The location was good, and as mentioned in other posts you could reach the bigger malls or Malioboro Street with a fairly short cab ride. The street in front is the main road from the airport and therfore busy. The security guards were great about watching and offering to help any guests crossing to the convenience store on the other side.
Conclusion is Average and not a place I will probably use on my return if others are available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We apologize for any inconvenience experience you had during your stay. Yes indeed on that period we were busy with school holiday season and now we are doing improvement through renovation to all hotel facilities.

We also improve our service through excellent staff and other benefit such as shuttle service to Malioboro on request.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

i like stay in saphir because a comfort place, strategic place between the town and airport,for weekend I have special price and I thought that it's cheaper than other hotel especially weekend.and the warm greeting from the staff made me comfort when I lived in that hotel for 2 days..

Room Tip: room with balcony is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
New Saphir Hotel is a Four star Hotel that provide a good accommodation for business and leisure traveler, with facilities: Meeting room, Ballroom, Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool include kids pool, lounge, free shuttle service to malioboro on request & free wi-fi in room & public area

Located at center of Yogyakarta as one of famous tourism spot with a lot of interesting places, such as Keraton Yogya (King palace), Prambanan & Borobudur temples, Merapi volcano, Parang Tritis beach and famous batik area in Malioboro.

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto No 38, Yogyakarta 55001, Indonesia (Formerly Hotel Saphir Yogyakarta)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a conveniently central location in the city center and business district , Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta is the most comfortable hotel in this exciting city.Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta is a great place to conduct business, catch up with friends and family, or just relax. Next to the city's most famous shopping center, Ambarrukmo Plaza, our hotel offers a comfortable and an unforgettable experience. Warm , friendly service awaits you from the moment you step through the front door until the last stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.