We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfy hotel tucked away from the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Dusun Jogja Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT GET MORE
Ranked #3 of 105 hotels in Yogyakarta
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice comfy hotel tucked away from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Service was splendid and we had our pickup right on time. The hotel looks a bit plain from the outside but once you enter the premise and into the inner courtyard, its transformed into its own secluded pool with all the rooms surrounding it. Gives us a very warm and comfy feel with the surroundings, food was great and nice little "early" morning breakfast boxes ready at 4am ! Very nicely thought of. Rooms overlook the pool and its a 2 storey building. We had the room upstairs with a nice balcony and day bed to relax. Rooms has that Jogja/Balinese feel. Overall we hope to come back again and spend a bit more time in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Love to read your review and knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable. We are also looking forward to have your return in Dusun Jogja Village Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    79
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
129
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here at the Dusun. Gotta say, when we arrived, i was a little disappointed with the lobbys facade. It was a little bare and plain. But once we stepped into the path leading to the rooms, it was a very nice suprise to see beautiful landscaping and a nice big pool. It has a very nice resort feel to the whole place, and its plain to see whoever tended to the gardening and landscaping, it was done with much care and love. We stayed in one of the rooms on the 2nd floor,which had a spacious balcony overlooking the pool, very nice indeed.Rooms were very comfortable and clean as well. Ah, the only setback is the hotel's logo is a gecko (yeeeeks) and has plenty of gecko symbols and gecko themed deco, so if you are not a fan, it can get quite creepy!

Hotel location was not bad, walking distance to some eateries. Nothing much to shop tho. But not a problem since a short taxi ride away is very cheap and convenient. Perhaps 10 mins away from Malioboro.
Hotel staff were very warm and friendly. Ready smiles and cheerful greetings whenever u see them.

Overall, i think that Dusun is a very cosy and lovely little hotel. Its nothing glamorous, but if u are looking for something comfortable, cosy n warm, relaxing and with a local touch, its quite perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
It is great to know that you can enjoy the different atmosphere once entering our hotel. Many guests also say that our front part is rather disguising for what is inside. About the gecko symbol it is meant for a positive philosophy of the hotel founder, therefore we hope it does not lessen the comfort of your stay. We invite you for another memorable experience in Dusun with more family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice and clean rooms with very nice surroundings and service. The staff is very helpful and the food variety is fine yet what they have on the menu is very tastefull.
You can't feel that outside the hotel is a hectic city...

Room Tip: Superb place to fall back to after a hectic walk-around in the city or after visiting Borobudur or P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Your kind words is greatly appreciated. Any suggestion would be very welcomed and hope to have the chance to be at your service again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I wish there was a rating category of 'good,' 3.5 stars, because three is too few but four is too many. The people at the front desk were very warm and friendly and we always enjoyed interacting with them, at all hours of the day. The grounds were lovely, the pool inviting, the landscaping was beautiful, and the room was average.

There were cobwebs in the corners of our room and it seemed a little tired; we had a room on the second floor facing the field behind, and our room had a small porch overlooking the pool. There was never too much noise from the pool, though perhaps the hotel wasn't full when we were there. But it was fine, cool enough AC, quiet enough (we were prepared for the morning call to prayers by the sweet girl at the front desk, who gave us earplugs), clean enough bathroom. Nothing really fancy, but just fine.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was more of the same: fine enough, nothing special, but fine enough. The first morning I got the nasi goreng, and the remaining mornings I ate fruit and an omelette. It was fine.

We stayed a couple of nights and then drove to Solo where we'd planned to stay two nights, and then return to this hotel. They kept our luggage for us so we didn't have to haul it along. We were so unhappy with our hotel in Solo we decided to come back a day early, and the staff found us a room, even though they weren't expecting us until the following day.

All in all, we were left with a warm feeling about this little hotel. It's within walking distance from a range of restaurants, from low-key to fancy, and the staff were so kind. If we return to Yogyakarta, we would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are truly grateful for your feedback. Review such as yours are critical to the continued improvement of our service offered here at Dusun Jogja Village Inn. We noticed some points that we should address and hopefully we would be able to present you a better service and experience on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a great place: nice authentic rooms with an outdoors bathroom (with bathtub). Great pool, great surroundings, nice staff. It is quite close to the prawirotan street with other restaurants and touring companies. Also Milas is around the corner. Very good value for money. Would stay here again without a doubt!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Highly appreciate your lovely review. Any suggestion would be great input for us to continue and improve an excellent service to all of our guest. We are happily looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, CZ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful little oasis from the busy noisy streets.
Decorated with taste, fantastic large pool, and friendly helpful staff: All you need to feel good and enjoy this quiet base to discover the area.
Walking distance from Prawirotaman where you´ll find restaurants, spas, and travel agencies.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Very thankful for your kind words and for recommending Dusun Jogja Village Inn. Hope we can present you a memorable stay that you would like experience again. We are always welcome your return here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Yogyakarta is intense, dense, loud, odorous. Dusun Village Inn is the exact opposite. Quiet, peaceful, and idyllic, it is a welcome respite from the hustle, bustle, and grit of Yogya. We loved our deluxe room overlooking the pool and lush courtyard garden. The service was excellent: personal, warm, and thoughtful. They prepared us a breakfast box to take on our early morning flight, arranged for very early airport transport at a fair price, and welcomed us with the most refreshing ginger tea. It's the intangibles of great service that elevate this place from a decent hotel to a really memorable place to stay. The restaurant is tasty--homemade Nutella and made to order omelettes--and it's also walking distance to some great restaurants. Great place to stay while visiting Prambanan and Borobudur, and also nice to lounge by the pool with a fresh juice. Really good value for money too. Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
May we extend our thanks to you for your kind words. We are all pleased to know that your stay here at Dusun Jogja Village Inn can be memorable. Also thank you for recommending us. And we look forward to welcome you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dusun Jogja Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Address: Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusun Jogja Village Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusun Jogja Village Inn is the pioneering boutique hotel in Yogyakarta, an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural capital of Central Java. With a friendly Environment, the 22 boutique hotel's rooms and suite are designed in such naturally tranquil compound, adopting the concept of Javanese 'dusun' (or village). The whole complex exudes such an intimate space for you to relax after enjoying Yogyakarta and its eclectic historical and cultural heritage surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Dusun Jogja Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Jogja Village Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusun Jogja Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.