We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little paradise in big city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Dusun Jogja Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT GET MORE
Ranked #3 of 105 hotels in Yogyakarta
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Little paradise in big city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice, quiet oasis near the busy center of Yogjakarta. Lovely constant air-conditioned rooms with daily room service. Cosy restaurant openend from 6 pm till 10 pm, just next to the pool. Food is ok.
Extremely friendly, always smiling staff, willing to give tips and tricks about what to visit and what to avoid. Special thanks to supervisor "Dori" and "Hendra" for the perfect service!
We visited this hotel during Ramadam, ear plugs were offered by the hotel upon arrival to minimize the sound of the minarets.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We highly appreciate your feedback. We had passed your kind words to our staffs to encourage them more in doing their service. We are all pleased to know that your stay with us was memorable and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    79
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
129
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We - a family of four, two young children - stayed here for three nights.

Hotel: taken care of well, beautiful grounds, fantastic swimming pool which also has a shallow baby/kids pool. I read somewhere that the pool has salt water instead of chlorine, which is great for my son as he suffers from eczema. Several fish ponds which entertained the children for hours!

Room: we booked a superior room with an extra bed. The room was smaller than the photos on the website suggest. We thought the room was on the small side - even without the extra bed, a superior room is basically just twin/double bed, a (small) wardrobe) and a tv cabinet. There is seating outside the room. Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and toilet. All very clean and the room was nicely decorated. Next time, however, we will book a larger room. Also our room was on the second floor. No problem for us, but those with smaller children or travelling with the elderly might want to book a room on the ground level.

Other facilities: free and fast wifi, excellent! In the lobby there's a few seating areas that are quite comfortable. There's also a small library and a movie room (which we didn't use). The restaurant is pretty good and not too expensive considering it's within a hotel.

Location: close to Prawirotaman area and jalan Tirtodipuran. Not too far from city centre either. On the corner of the road there's a supermarket which is convenient too. We enjoyed being away from Malioboro and staying in a quieter (yet accessible) location of Jogja.

Staff: absolutely wonderful! The comprehension of English - particularly reception and restaurant staff - is good. Staff were brilliant with the kids. This is an excellent place to stay with children.

Value for money: considering that about a year ago we paid almost the same amount for a private villa at Pondok Terra, I would say that Dusun is on the pricier side. Then again - it was high season when we stayed, and many other hotels charge as much or even more. But we had a lovely stay, so..

Would we stay here again? ... Yes!

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground level if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We truly appreciate your time for writing the lovely reviews towards Dusun Jogja Village Inn. We are more than pleased knowing that you and family had a good experience staying with us.

Larger room for family is available in Deluxe B room, perhaps you would like to try on your next visit. Any suggestion of how we may improve the quality of service would be greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcome back you and family in the near time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in 2 hotels in Jogja with our 4 children. This was twice as expensive than the other, but definitely worth it. Wish we had stayed longer. Lovely pool, charming room and beautiful garden setting. Peaceful and relaxing. Our kids went to the movie room whilst we enjoyed a drink by the pool. We were not really bothered by the calls from the mosques. The hotel is a 10-15min walk to Jln Prawirotan with decent cafes but not walking distance to the Palace and the big shopping area of Malioboro but taxis are easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are glad that you and family enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities offered in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. Your feedback will be a supportive encouragement to all our staffs. We are expecting your return in the near time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love this place! Everywhere you turn there is something beautiful to look at. Beautiful room, beautiful furniture, beautiful pool, beautiful garden. The staff were friendly & helpful. There's a mini-mart just a couple of doors down & international power points. The treatments at the day spa were not so good. My daughter was dis-appointed with her manicure (therapist didn't trim her cuticles & only one coat of polish). My 90 minutes full body massage did not include a head massage. Aside from that we had a great time & would definitely come back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor has direct access to the pool but not much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We thank you very much for your feedback. It is critical to the continued improvement of our services offered here in Dusun Jogja Village Inn.

Regarding your treatment in our spa, we sincerely apologize that it did not meet your expectation. We had trained the therapists for basic steps of manicure, however we will give retraining for manicure and pedicure procedures to prevent similar cases occur in the future.

Once again we thank you and look forward to welcome your back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had been to Jogja a week back and had stayed at Dusun for 4 nights. Almost like a resort, the room had the old fashioned look with the four poster bed and the antique furniture. The staff was friendly always having a smile on their face. Being vegetarians, the restaurant did have some options for us, so after a tired day we didn't have to run around for food. There is a supermarket close by and also Milas restaurant ( again vegetarian options) is quite close by. Malioboro is also about 2 kms from this place. Overall a great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We extend our thanks for writing this review to us. Any suggestion, trivial as it may seem, would be greatly appreciated. And we would love to have the chance to better serve you on your return stay in Dusun Jogja Village Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff is friendly and nice, the rooms are clean and look very nice. The pool is great and the restaurant is good.
On the first day they made us pay for only one breakfast because I had only eaten fruits, I thought this was very thoughtful and nice.

We had a one hour couple massage for a very reasonable price and we really enjoyed it

The only problem is that the hotel is not really close to centre of the city (which, compared to other places in Indonesia, is not amazing). But cabs are so cheap that at the end of the day it does not make a big difference

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate your kind feedback. Hope you had a nice stay in Dusun Jogja Village Inn and would love to experience more with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Jogja was the first stop on our Indonesia trip - and the hotel was a terrific start! Located a bit outside of the centre, the hotel is organised like a real resort, with a huge pool smack in the middle. This means that you can walk and visit all day, and return to a relaxing evening back at the hotel. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms clean - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback about your stay in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. As always, it’s great to know that we can present you a nice and memorable stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dusun Jogja Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Address: Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusun Jogja Village Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusun Jogja Village Inn is the pioneering boutique hotel in Yogyakarta, an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural capital of Central Java. With a friendly Environment, the 22 boutique hotel's rooms and suite are designed in such naturally tranquil compound, adopting the concept of Javanese 'dusun' (or village). The whole complex exudes such an intimate space for you to relax after enjoying Yogyakarta and its eclectic historical and cultural heritage surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, AsiaRooms, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Dusun Jogja Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Jogja Village Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusun Jogja Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.