We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel - highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dusun Jogja Village Inn to your Saves list
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Dusun Jogja Village Inn for 8 days over the Xmas 2012 holidays. We travelled as a family (husband and 3 teenage kids). My husband and I had lived in Java 20 years ago but it was our kids' first visit to Java. We chose this hotel on recommendations on tripadvisor - and we are very pleased we did. We had 2 deluxe rooms upstairs overlooking the pool. They were very comfortable, quiet (we didn't need the earplugs kindly provided by reception) and the a/c worked very well ! The large pool had a lot of use from the kids and the restaurant was very good - the meal selections were small , but the food was excellent. We wanted to make particular mention of the staff. Pak Dhouri and team in the restaurant quickly became firm friends with the kids and the welcome was always warm and genuine. The kids were sad to leave Pak Dhouri and his team. The staff on reception and the tour desk were very helpful and we organised through the hotel, a car and driver to Borobudur and Prambanan. We also made good use of the becaks outside the hotel. We highly recommend the Dusun - we will return !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We extend our thanks to you for your kind review.. It is a pleasure to have you stay with us, as you and family have become our own extended family. We are glad that you enjoy the experiences offered here in Dusun Jogja Village Inn and would love to welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    95
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
160
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yogyakarta was our first destination on a recent 2-week tour of Indonesia. We booked this hotel based on TA reviews and were not disappointed. Although not in the very centre of the city, this is not a bad thing; it was nice to be away from the grittiness and hustle and bustle of downtown noise and traffic.

The grounds are breathtaking -- from the koi ponds at the entrance to the landscaping around the pool, restaurant and guestrooms. The pool is large and very inviting, but our rushed schedule sadly did not allow us an opportunity to use it. We booked two deluxe rooms on the second floor and these provided us with a good-sized private balcony and very satisfactory accommodations. We were also delighted to find that we did not have to fish around in our suitcases after 30 hours of travelling to search for our electrical adapters; all of the electrical outlets are universal.

The staff at the inn are incredibly warm and friendly, with constant smiles on their faces and an obvious eagerness to please. We were offered earplugs when we checked in since a mosque is very close by. (Having travelled in Morocco last year, we were accustomed to hearing the early-morning call to prayer). Breakfast was nice, with an omelette station and both Western and Indonesian offerings and an assortment of fruit on the buffet table. I quickly got used to eating chicken, rice and noodles for breakfast, and have developed quite an addiction to the ubiquitous sambal asli (hot sauce).

We also took the time to visit the large supermarket that is, rather conveniently, only about a half-block away, picking up some fruits and snacks, as well as Indonesian condiments to bring home with us.

On our last night, we had a 6 a.m. flight out to Makassar and the hotel packed us a lovely boxed breakfast to take along with us.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor offer a more private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are committed to providing you with the best services and memorable experiences in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. Therefore we are delighted receiving your positive feedback, this will be a good motivator for all staffs to keep improving our services. We invite you for another fascinating experience in DUSUN..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fantastic place to escape. Well run. Deserted pool with no crowds. Very helpful staff. Limited food but what they do they do well. Really enjoy staying here. Location is good to attractions and airport. Like a little oasis in the city. Rooms are a little old but extremely clean and well maintained. We had a family room which is two rooms joined together with the two single beds in a very large sized room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We highly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. Our concept is indeed giving you the tranquil of Jogjanese traditional in a distinctive way. We would love to welcome you and family for more experience again in the near time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is just great and they really put a lot of effort into the small things- for example when you check in they give you free earplugs because there is a mosque nearby, the rooms include mosquito repellant (much appreciated) and universal adapters for your electronics- just to name a few. The hotel feels secluded though it is not too far away from downtown Jogja with a nice pool area and gardens. The staff are very helpful and really make you feel at home. A little gem of a place, was sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, we are honored that our services and facilities can be pleasant and fulfiling to you during your stay. We always welcome you in DUSUN on your next visit as our own extended family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

During my trip in indonesia, i frequented many four or five stars hotel and resorts.

No one of of them let me the same feeling than the Jogjakarta Village Inn : In JVI, I felt my self not in a standard hotel but at home. I not has been considered as a but a welcomed guest. And it goes beyond commercial speech! I really experienced it!

My stay at Jogakarta city begin by my transfer from the airport. A nice taxi man belonging to Blue Bird Company had a gentle and interesting conversation during the trip from airport to hotel.

Once arrived he refused the additional tips i was ready to give.

1 - Welcome :

Once arrived at the lobby, the front officer welcomed me politely but warmly. I was offered a divine fresh local drink!

While administrative stuffs were being processed my luggages was transferred to my room. The front officer briefed me about general service information like time slot for having breakfast or service proposed by the SPA

2 - The Room

While i was going to my room, i noticed that most and certainly all room have a view on a the large swimming pool of the central court.

An employee working in a stand provided clean towels to some people enjoying the ending afternoon on the long chairs laid out around the swimming pool.

In my room the air cooling device had been switched on a few minute before my arrival. Nice attention.

The room was spacious and well laid out. The bathroom was very clean, spacious and lightened by the day light most of the day.

The room in itself was elegantly decorated in a traditional but modernized indonesian style. It was far from the old fashion neo colonial style you can find in some hotels!

A list of little things proper to great hotels that i noticed:

- All the domestic and international TV channels were perfectly set up and broadcasted.
- Wifi signal was perfect everywhere!
- Towels, bed, glasses everything in the room was perfectly clean!
- Hot water was at good temperature all day long.
- The mattress was of very good quality! My back appreciated!

But all of that was nothing compared to the service and the staff professionalism!

Incredible : no one of them was not smiling! All the staff i spoke with was nice, careful and and I had interesting and nice conversations with most of them

3 - The restaurant:

Arrived late, I decided to have a dinner at the hotel restaurant. The choice of the card was not excessive but all the proposed courses was fully mastered by the chief : same recipe than the room decoration, traditional indonesian food but smartly modernized!

All ingredients were fresh, tasty and healthy!

Despite all that, the most delicious things this night was not the dishes but the atmosphere of the hotel : the owner of the hotel stayed there during the week I spent at JVI : A smart one hundred life and self made man!

He politely and discretely enquired about the well being of all the guests of the restaurant that night.

Then he returned to his table where he pursued his dinner with a famous indonesian model (indeed he also is a fashion stylist,a professional photographer and even a movie player ! : i told you a on hundred life self-made man!)

The next days he kindly organized different trips for us and spent many of his precious time with us. Unforgettable moments!

That point is what makes the difference of the JVI from other places. From the top of the management to the bottom of the staff,all the employees are of a high level of professionalism. But not only that, they are also of a high level of human quality.

The hotel is not far the center of the city and in case of need a modern supermarket is very close to the hotel!

I can not recommend you a better place in Jogya! Staying at JVI was not only a stay it has been a whole experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We truly appreciate your lovely words regarding your stay with us. Indeed you are lucky to meet one of our three siblings hotel owner, Mr. Paul, as he is not always in town. We are pleased to welcome you home in DUSUN at any time as our own extended family. Warm regards from all JVI family..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

small and beautiful hotel, nice and helpful staffs. love the hotel love the people. it is just the breakfast little bit dissapointing. small portion with very little variance or choices. i was here low and high season.. both times the breakfast were served with the same choices.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We thank you for sharing your reviews regarding your stay in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. From time to time we always strive to improve our services and quality, therefore comment such as yours are critical to our continued improvement. We wish to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice location. Love their salt pool. The menu portions are BIG, you don't have to worry about getting hungry too soon. Unfortunately the hotel does not have a non smoking area in the restaurant. Also they should ban the use of spraying mosquito during eating time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We thank you very much for your review. Every feedback is greatly valuable for us to improve our services and quality. We use outsourcing for the insect spraying task and we have coordinated with them to arrange better schedule to not do the spraying during meal time. Apart from that we hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us adn we do wish to have the chance to serve you again in DUSUN on your next travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusun Jogja Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Address: Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#10 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusun Jogja Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusun Jogja Village Inn is the pioneering boutique hotel in Yogyakarta, an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural capital of Central Java. With a friendly Environment, the 22 boutique hotel's rooms and suite are designed in such naturally tranquil compound, adopting the concept of Javanese 'dusun' (or village). The whole complex exudes such an intimate space for you to relax after enjoying Yogyakarta and its eclectic historical and cultural heritage surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dusun Jogja Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Jogja Village Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusun Jogja Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.