We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place as a base for the area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dusun Jogja Village Inn to your Saves list
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place as a base for the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place has a great atmosphere... It is very well designed and decorated... very comfortable. Good location, close to plenty of good food. Drops down from 5 stars because of old bed! Looks good, but springs gone! Some folks might find the 4:30 wake-up from the local mosque a tad irritating. Staff were fanstastic. Food in the hotel very good. Clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    91
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
149
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Dusun Jogja Village was a nice place to stay in Yogyakarta. It is less than 10 minutes away from the busy shopping center of town with easy transportation anywhere around Jogja. The staff is very good, prompt and courteous. The restaurant has decent food. They also set up all our tours around Jogja very quickly and easily including the sunrise entrance to Borobudur. The grounds and rooms are well kept and the quiet garden like atmosphere is a nice relief from the hustle of the little city. We did not use the pool, but saw many other guests enjoying it. We are a young couple, but saw many families staying and seemingly enjoying this hotel. The rooms are private and the amenities are above average. There are two very fast internet connected computers available as needed in lobby. The hotel is also located near a large supermarket. The movie room with large screen is an added touch that we used during down time! The breakfast could use some improvement - egg corner is great, but the pancakes and other foods should be prepared fresh. The juices were watered down and would be better chilled. Overall decent place to stay in this budget range and good location. Also, a note, the morning prayer did not bother us. It is not as loud as I expected based on other reviews. So if you are a heavier sleeper, you shouldn't be too bothered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your comment and suggestion concerning our nJogo Restaurant. About the juice, we added ice cube into it which after some times it melt and might caused it watery. We have discussed this with our FB department and do our best to address the problem immediately.

Hopefully you enjoyed during your stay in Dusun and would like to have another experience here with more positive improvement certainly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, an oasis in Yogyakarta. The way it has been set up with beautiful plants and water features makes it very beautiful and peaceful.

I highly recommend the deluxe room with balcony, it has a cosy couch to lie on. It is great value for money.

Yes, you really can hear the mosque next door but I can't imagine anywhere in Yogyakarta where you won't be able to hear one. It did add to the experience but was a little annoying at 4am. I got back to sleep easily but bring ear plugs if you think it may annoy you.

The bed was wide and very comfortable. Aircon and water temperature were perfect.

We had a couple massage which was 2 hours, massage, body scrub, body mask. It was great, but very firm and vigorous so only for people who like that kind of massage. It was only 480 000 for the 2 of us too. Very good value for a hotel spa service. The staff in the spa were very professional.

We mostly ate at the hotel and the food was very good, both the western and Indonesian dishes. Again, great value and no extra charge for room service. On the days we left before breakfast starts at 6am the hotel packed a picnic breakfast for us and had tea and coffee ready for us to drink before we left.

We booked a driver for Prambanan temple through the hotel and the hotel organised the temple tickets for us too. We also asked about going to Borobudur before sunrise. This is done exclusively through another hotel next to Borobudur (I forgot the name, starts with M?) as they have some sort of rights to it or something, so I assumed we would have to organise it ourselves, but no! Dusun organised it all for us. They arranged the tickets with the other hotel, a driver to take us there at 3:30am and to pick us up and take us back to Dusun when we were finished. Excellent. I highly recommend this sunrise tour, you are allowed in to Borobudur at 4:30 am while it is still dark and watch the light come over the temple at dawn. Amazing sight. Borobudur doesn't officially open until 6am and by that time it is already light.

It was very convenient to be able to charge everything to our room, food, drivers, temple tickets, massage and pay on credit card at the end.

As many people have said the staff are very friendly, and genuinly friendly. It really adds to the experience.

Overall, I would not look anywhere else for a place to stay in Yogyakarta. It was excellent.

By the way Solo airport is a 2 hour drive away (google maps is not reliable on this one). We flew Silk Air from Singapore so they land in Solo. Dusun still organised airport transfers though and the drive is quite interesting and the roads are good so no problem with Solo.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with balcony was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We are very thankful for your positive feedback to Dusun JVI. Your satisfaction is our main reward. We are delighted to give the best at your service during your stay that could exceed your prior expectation as we always work to find ways to improve our services and quality.

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated. For the morning prayer, we do provide earplug for free at our reception.

We hope your experience at Dusun JVI can be memorable and can also be shared with more friends. We look forward to your return in Dusun Jogja Village Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a deluxe room with a terrace overlooking the pool. It was fantastic and the staff were very friendly and attentive, especially Peter!!! We will definitely be returning soon.
Would highly recommend this hotel for its value for money, friendly staff and the excellent food. Dinner in the hotel restaurant on our last night was superb. Thank you!
Paul & Stacey

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind reviews...and would love to welcome you back soon, with more friends and families. Cheers..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Loved this place! So many positive things about it. Loved it so much that I booked myself back in again after visiting Borobudur.

Outside there are scooters and cars and trucks, a teeming Asian city with few concessions to aesthetics. But just through the door the courtyard is fantastic, surrounding a pool, with a swim-up bar and restaurant, and a scattering of trees. The sound of jungle birds fills the air - though I think it's piped from speakers.

The rooms are sublime, cool and ethnic, with scattered art and dark wood furniture smelling romantically of linseed oil.

The restaurant does very good Indonesian food (though there was a minor drop in quality on my return - perhaps a different chef - and the western food is unusual) and my first ayam sate of my visit was utterly delicious. Great breakfast buffet too.

But what really makes this place special is the staff. So friendly, so professional, and even on my impromptu return they remembered my name.

The only negative is not the hotel's fault: the call to prayer which starts at 4.30am. But this affects the entire area, and the hotel even provides complimentary earplugs.

One of the most charming hotels I've stayed at in twenty years of travelling in Asia. It's a bit pricier than many of its competitors, but still fantastic value and so much better than a huge anonymous chain. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The "deluxe" rooms at the back are larger with a separate bathroom and a lovely balcony lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked in to "Dusun" for Easter with friends, and despite being very early for our 2 o'clock check in due to flight times the staff were very accommodating and ensured they had one room ready for the two couples to store bags and use whilst waiting for th other.

The rooms, we stayed in deluxe rooms, were spacious and very clean with balcony overlooking the pool with small daybed. Bathrooms were also spacious with full bath and plenty of amenities.

The hotel was a little out of town and in the heat I would not recommend that you walk, instead grab a rickshaw which are often waiting across from ther hotel to take you into town. We started walking buit despite our determination ended up with a rickshaw - don't forget to bargain and you can aklso organise for relatively little Rupee to have them stay with you all day and take you to the main sites in town.

The hotel staff at all times were very helpful, but the restaurant when we ate there was understaffed and service was poor, also the food was very average but this could of been due to the staff shortage - would strongly recommend you eat elsewhere as there are plenty of places out and about - ask the hotel for whereto go

We had one night at Via Via and would not go bvack and another at Gajong Wong, which although is a BIG cab ride across town was worth the trip

The hotel pool is lovely and has a swim up bar, the bar tender Peter is a wealth of information and happy to have a chat whilst you sip your drink.

Well worth staying and we would certainly recommend you stay at the Dusun, but be warned the mosques start at 4:30 am!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time writing reviews about your recent stay with us. Comments such as yours are important to the continued improvement of our service offered here at Dusun Jogja Village Inn.

We deeply apologized for the inconvenience you had at our restaurant. It was Easter long weekend holiday and we had full occupancy where all guests were having dinner at the same time and indeed our staffs were rather overwhelmed.

We had made immediate corrective response regarding this matter. We assure you that this uncomfortable experience will never happen anymore. We look forward to better serve you on your next stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable.
The room was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed, my husband couldn't believe he was even able to watch English premiership football in the room !!
It was a peaceful place to come back to and relax after a busy day.

Lovely food, lovely everything !! Will definitely come back next time we are in Yogya !!

Thank you all.

Sue and Robin James

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
May we extend our thanks to you for your kind words about Dusun Jogja Village Inn. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back in Dusun in near the near time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusun Jogja Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Address: Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusun Jogja Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusun Jogja Village Inn is the pioneering boutique hotel in Yogyakarta, an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural capital of Central Java. With a friendly Environment, the 22 boutique hotel's rooms and suite are designed in such naturally tranquil compound, adopting the concept of Javanese 'dusun' (or village). The whole complex exudes such an intimate space for you to relax after enjoying Yogyakarta and its eclectic historical and cultural heritage surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Dusun Jogja Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Jogja Village Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusun Jogja Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.