We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Yogyakarta to your Saves list
Novotel Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Jendral Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Cologne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I have tried various hotels in Yogyakarta for work trips, but didn't want to take risks during my wife's first visit. Besides, we needed a base north of the tourist centre, Jl. Malioboro, quick to and from the airport, close to the universities and the tour routes to Borobodur Temple, Gunung Merapi (volcanoe) and villages in Sleman regency. Despite the location on a major east-west artery, the hotel offers quiet accommodation and the usual Novotel facilities - and if you pay a little extra, there are rooms with unobstructed views of the Merapi volcanoe. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, compared to what you get elsewhere for similar rates, and staff are polite, helpful and speak pretty good English. We enjoyed the great choice and quality of breakfast, indoors and pool-side, and the a-la-carte dinner and buffet, but also the patisserie (delicious cakes!). Recommendable restaurants, cafes and places for an evening chill-out are close by at an easy walking distance, a late-night supermarket is about 300 m down the road and a shopping mall a similar distance in another direction. Next time, I'll book it again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    282
    111
    13
    14
See reviews for
168
84
56
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kudus, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Brought my sister and her family to do some shopping in Yogyakarta. She has 3 daughters ages between 5 to 9, and for sure, shopping do not appeal these girls. We chose Novotel first and foremost because of its Kids Centre at level 2. Its neaby the gym and spa.

Upon check in, the professional english speaking attend to all room needs. The rooms are spacious and has all the offerings of a standard 4 star hotel. We checked in and the kids straight away went to the Kids Club where they can play, board games, playstation, art & crafts, and so on. Just beside Novotel is the Galeria Mall. We get all our toiletries and fast foods here.

Mommies then left for the famous Malioboro Street to put their bargaining skills to the test and do some serious shopping. Its only 5 mins drive away, or you can take a rickshaw (becak) for a leisurely ride to Malioboro street.

The pool is designed for adults. Kids have their own "pool" but it can only fit around 5 children comfortably.

Breakfast is served with international dishes as well as the local cuisine, Gudeg (a must try if you come to Jogjakarta).

However, the price has increased a bit from last year. But its still within our budget. I dont mind paying for the extras that Novotel has to offer.

Novotel, my no 1 Hotel in Jogja!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We have just returned from Yogyakarta today. Two days ago, (23 May 2010), we had two drinks at the hotel lobby bar at Novotel Yogyakarta hotel. We ordered one black label (with ice - single shot) and one glass of Gordon gin and tonic. The bill for two drinks came to Rupiah 254000, which is about US$27! The bar tender didn't give us the bill, he just told us the amount. Because we weren't used to the exchange rate, so my husband paid. After we left the hotel, we thought that the drinks were way too expensive, considering the ambiance of the lobby bar (which is very casual), and the fact that the same drinks would have cost us R160 000 at our hotel - the Phoenix Hotel, which is also a four-star hotel and much better ambience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

if you get good price for this place not even bother to book. This is for sure one of the best hotels in Yogyakarta, though you might also reconsider Ibis with better location and for less money.

Don't go to the lobby bar in this hotel as totally overpriced!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I stayed for two nights in the Novotel in Yogjakarta with my parents and aunt.

GOOD POINTS:
* Rooms: Spacious, clean, comfy bed
* Restaurant: Large, clean, nice setting. Liked both breakfast and dinner buffet. There was a chef, which prepared your choice of meat on the spot.
* WiFi: Free and fast!

MINOR POINTS:
I stayed too short to discover any minor points.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

for a 4-star hotel, I think the room is standard, no different with other 3-star hotels. the amenities are also basic. nothing special about the building design. the breakfast is so-so, they serve the same menu for breakfast. I had better days staying at lower star hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

My parents are going to Yogya for a running festival run held on March 25-27 2010. So I booked superior room fro them via internet booking. As my Dad is a holder of BNI Credit Card, so he get a good deal with the price. Juz I have mistakenly booked dates on April 25th-27th. My Dad immidiately called the reservation officer at Novotel Yogyakarta , she said that it's all from the system and she couldn't changed it, she asked to modified it from the internet. Then we hung up. I asked my Dad to call them again and asked how to modiefy it from the internet. and the answered surprised me she said 'wait let me ask someone' . Why did she suggested somthing that she even didn't know how to ???. Then she came back she suggested to call Accor and gave the no. We called Accor , and the officer didnt sure about it as well.He promised to call us back. but till now we never received any call from them. We got so dissapointed that we finally have to loss Rp. 1.500.000 as we finally decided to take another hotel . I was really annoyed, pissed and dissapointed of the way they 'care' about the guests especially in such a small case of only to change the date.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Yogyakarta

Address: Jalan Jendral Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Yogyakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Yogyakarta is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Yogyakarta. Ideal for both holidays and business trips, the hotel offers spacious, contemporary rooms, a business centre, free WiFi internet access and meeting facilities. No stay in Yogyakarta would be complete without a visit to the Buddhist Temple of Borobodur, the largest in the world. The hotel features two restaurants, two bars, a fitness centre, swimming pool, spa, a Kids Club, boutiques and a full range of activities. Novotel Yogyakarta also provides a free shuttle to Malioboro for your pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Novotel
Novotel Jogja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.