We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction from the hotel service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Yogyakarta to your Saves list
Novotel Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Jendral Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Satisfaction from the hotel service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My stay was at Novotel Hotel was quiet short around 4 nights only, Within this short time, The hospitality & dedicated service from the hotel staff was commendable. I must appreciate the service of the hotel staff and would like to express my willingness to take Novotel Hotel experience in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear afzalj_13,

thanks for taking the time and share your experience on tripadvisor.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
gm@novotelyogya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    305
    119
    16
    14
See reviews for
178
92
60
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogor, Indonesia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Service: we waited so long for xtra bed & had to call many times
1 day, the cleaning service did not give mineral water for xtra bed
buffet breakfast: everyday the menu almost the same. Only main course they changed the menu, for example: nasi gudeg, changed to nasi with different menu.
Salad, potato & sausage, variation of fried rice / noodles, soup, fruit, bread & cake, cereal, almost nothing changed,
For me, 3 nights here is enough. More than that, we must look for outside breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Helenbogor_Indonesia,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Novotel Yogyakarta has one great asset, it's staff who are very willing to help and be accomodating which makes up for some of the minor drawbacks.

The rooms are satisfactorily appointed, though it is somewhat bemusing that instead of hotel pens, mechanical pencils and a small pad are the only stationary provided. The bathrooms are in need of a renovation if only to bring them up to date as things are just a little bit worn.

The buffet breakfast is a fine selection and the pastries and fruit are generally a good bet, the indonesian selection appears to be quite good as there is a strong amount of local custom. A take-away breakfast is available for those that need to leave early in the morning (which is common here due to tourists going to Borobudur or Prabahan), this which is generally satisfactory. Their latte is particularly good with a chocolate dipped cinnamon quill, just a pity I can't get one to go with my take-away breakfast.

Gym facilities are a nice suprise at this hotel and a good perk for a business traveller looking to maintain their fitness regime.

In my encounters with the staff they are friendly, accomodating and responsive sorting out problems quickly. Dinner service at the restaurant has improved and while the specials are enticing the menu staples are fine, if occasionally not executed exactly as per the menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear MEW2011,

thanks for your time sharing your experience in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Novotel Yogyakarta and I will share your comments with my team as it is always encouring to all our staff.

We strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and I hope you will be visiting us again soon.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
gm@novotelyogya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel was superb. The room is nice, the pool is really cozy. The staffs were very helpful and nice. I like the ambience at the lobby, it smells really great and also they play a Javanese music instrument so you can really feel the 'Yogyakarta' by only entering the hotel.

I heard that the spa here is quite good, but unfortunately I havent tried it. I stayed there for 3 nights, for business. Thank you Novotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Gemala C,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
gm@novotelyogya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Novotel Yogjakarta. The hotel was ideally located in the centre of town and the staff were exceptionally helpful in arranging transportation, drivers, places of interest and tips on how best to manage our time so that we could see and experience all Yogja has to offer. I can't say enough good things about the staff at this hotel. They were just so friendly, pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast buffet was an ideal and tasty way to start the day and the pool was a perfect place to stop after a busy day out. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet and whilst the bathrooms are fairly compact the only issue I had with them was the rather ineffective hair dryer.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Helen-Bogor,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
gm@novotelyogya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

If you went to Yogyakarta for business trip, Novotel is the best way to save your time. This hotel is near to the airport and next to the hotel on the cross road, there is Gallery Mall that supply your daily needs. Clean room, nice bathroom, free wifi, quick room service for laundry, and yummy breakfast. I love Novotel...

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Gilbradi H,

thanks for taking the time to comment about your recent stay in our hotel. My team and I are always happy to ready that our guests are satisfied with the service we provided.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
gm@novotelyogya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked 2 room and got 701 and 709.Only get 1 key and when I request another key,they declined it.
We were on our business trip.
When We open the 709 room inside still the guest only wear a towel ?!(what?)
We were horrified and exchange 709 key with 706.No apologise no comment what so ever.
Both room the aircon is hot air, we cant sleep because worried someone will enter our room,breakfast was bad in term condimen bubur ayam were not fresh,no cracker,towel and linen were outdated.we also was stuck in the elevator for 7 minutes.
Will we stay again?
No Never

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Tsa_RyszardMom,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I have investigated with my Managers concerned and found out that the Front Desk Agent has not followed our procedures which resulted in giving you the key of room 709 while in our computer system you were checked in into 707.

We are able to provide you with additional keys and I am again sorry that this was refused to you.

Please be ensured that we strive to provide excellent service to every guest and your feedback has helped us to improve ourselves. We are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Related to the incident with the elevator, I cannot find any report. Please contact me directly under gm@novotelyoga.com so I will be able to follow this up.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Yogyakarta

Address: Jalan Jendral Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Yogyakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Yogyakarta is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Yogyakarta. Ideal for both holidays and business trips, the hotel offers spacious, contemporary rooms, a business centre, free WiFi internet access and meeting facilities. No stay in Yogyakarta would be complete without a visit to the Buddhist Temple of Borobodur, the largest in the world. The hotel features two restaurants, two bars, a fitness centre, swimming pool, spa, a Kids Club, boutiques and a full range of activities. Novotel Yogyakarta also provides a free shuttle to Malioboro for your pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Novotel
Novotel Jogja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.