We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homestay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Kayen Family Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rumah Kayen Family Homestay to your Saves list
Rumah Kayen Family Homestay
Jl. Kaliurang Km 7.3 | Gg. Cikal Dempet No 12, Yogyakarta 55283 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Grenchen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely homestay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a perfect room with a clean bathroom and huge and comfortable bed! The staff is incredible friendly, helpful and always smiling. They bring you the ordered and good breakfast (included in the price) to the table in front of your room. During eating we enjoyed a wonderful view over the paddy fields. If we needed a taxi, a massage or whatever, they organised it for us. Thank you very much!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a lovely, comfortable and friendly place this is! We arranged an airport pick-up and were glad we did as it's not the easiest place to find. Having your own transport is an advantage as it is a bit far out, but we hired a very good scooter from them. They also order food in from nearby restaurants if you just want to relax in the evening.

The staff are wonderful, gorgeous rooms and there are some really nice artistic touches around the place. Bathrooms are good, beds are excellent, good breakfast, good free wifi, free tea & coffee all day long, a relaxing courtyard garden downstairs with a perfect swimming pool for cooling off after a hot day exploring and upstairs has a fabulous terrace gazing across the rice paddies.

It's oh so peaceful and relaxing, I've rarely slept so well and wish we were still there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Professionally run home-stay. Managed by a family who have the right hospitality mindset. Started from the arrival where you're received as they were in great anticipating of your arrival till the eagerness to help on various chores and requests. Something you'll find missing when staying most lower budget hotels throughout indonesia.

Location indeed is stunning, although a bit further away from the city, however they are always on hand to arrange transport if needed. Rooms are good, comfortable beds, but they do differ from each other a bit. The homestay was quiet on arrival though and we picked the upper level rooms which have a nice adjoining living room overlooking the padi fields. In general the place has many great small little seating areas to relax or dine in.

As for food they are on-hand to help to arrange delivery to the villa which works out to be extremely cheap (local pricing) and breakfast is a bit limited, but at extra charge you can order a few more portions if you need to. They have an honour system for drinks, so take as you need. We also took a massage as they can arrange therapists to your room. They were good and professional, but naturally with normal beds it could be a bit of a strain for your neck. Perhaps they could get a few roll-away massage beds for the future.

This really sums up the place, you're treated with utmost hospitality and respect, so you're expected to return this favor and keep the place relatively tidy as you're sharing common areas with other travellers.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at Rumah Kayen twice in the past 3 weeks (went to jogja, went home then went back two weeks later). I was really doubtful about the place prior to visiting, but when I arrived I knew I made the right choice.
Rumah Kayen is exactly the house every Indonesian city dweller dream of--nicely set in a quiet neighborhood but still close to main street (Kaliurang), surrounded by rice paddies, an open concept home that allows the sun and cool breeze to come into the house. Furthermore, it's decorated in Javanese style, and having Javanese roots I feel right at home. The decor is wonderful, making this place a homy place indeed. They also have a nice pool. This place is really suitable for families, but even foreigners will enjoy this place if they want to experience staying in an Indonesian home.
The room I stayed in (family room) on the 2nd floor is spacious, clean and has wooden flooring. The bathroom is beautifully designed and clean as well. Breakfast was delicious. If I'm not mistaken they have about 5-6 choices (you have to place ur order the night before). Also, they even made juice drinks off the fruits my mother brought for our trip.
The hospitality in this place is unquestionable. The people are so nice & helpful, and at our 2nd stay we felt like they treated us like family. If I had to point out a flaw, it would be that it takes quite a while to get the hot water running. And the reception area smells quite a bit, the way some Javanese houses smell like (I think it was the wood). But honestly, with so minor flaws chances are you won't notice them.

Rumah Kayen is by far the best place I've stayed in Jogja (and I've been to Jogja many times). I really recommend it for people who want to relax, for families and for those who want to stay at a homy, Indonesian home with genuine Indonesian hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Super clean, all staff helpful, super fair prices. Surounded by padi fields, a very small street with hardly any traffic, yet still truly close enough to airport and city centre. The family homestay is well devided into the guest room area (6 of the 7 rooms) and the family area at the other end (with only one room close to the family area). Swimming pool, court yard with car park, all well enclosed (good safety - including a full time night watch). The hosts are both professional architects and recognised artists - the house in itself is a piece of art (in architecture and design), plus all the art collection decoration inside, much of which was created by the hosts themselves. I will be back for sure. Suitable for honeymooners and professionals, and holiday makers - also good to accommodate a larger family our group using several or all rooms. I can highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Rumah Kayen Homestay is a family run business undertaken with great care and love! The staff members are attentive and kind, the meals delicious, and the rooms immaculate! Sit on the veranda overlooking the rice fields, listen to the birds, sip juice and relax into a deep peacefulness amidst the bustle of Jogja. Then, walk the quiet streets of Kayen, listen to children laugh, and head to a local warung for a great meal! The City Center and South Jogja are very accessible--I was usually at the City Center in ten minutes! Rumah Kayen made my four month stay in Jogja sweet beyond words!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Rumah Kayen Homestay is the place to escape the hussle-bussle from the big city.
The homestay is at the end of a little alley in the ricefields. When you have a room upstairs the views are wonderful. The have a lovely big swimmingpool, very clean and good working wifi.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is indonesian style, very tasty.
They have really kingsize beds, very comfy.
The only thing is that to reach the center of Yoya, you need a taxi and it is a 20 minutes drive.
But the taxi is so cheap, 2 euro only, no problem at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumah Kayen Family Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Kayen Family Homestay

Address: Jl. Kaliurang Km 7.3 | Gg. Cikal Dempet No 12, Yogyakarta 55283 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rumah Kayen Family Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Kayen Family Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.