We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new 4* hotel with reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merapi Merbabu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Merapi Merbabu Hotel to your Saves list
Merapi Merbabu Hotel
Jl. Seturan Raya, Depok | Sleman, Yogyakarta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“new 4* hotel with reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I found in internet, a very reasonable price for this 4 star hotel, around USD 40/night including breakfast and when I checked in around 11 pm, the reception was quite fast.
I got a room that face Merapi Merbabu mountain, so I can see the sunrise through my window !

Room itself was okay considered the competitive pricing compare to other 4* hotel in Jogjakarta. There is no refrigerator and safe deposit box.
Pillows are only 2 available for my king size bed.
Newspaper was sent to your room every morning.

There is kettle also on the room if you want to make coffee and tea on your room.

Bathroom is a see through window to the bed room. But there is curtain to close it if you are not feeling comfortable with this window.
Bathroom was quite clean. Hot water was running all the time.

It is correct that the location is not on the center of tourist attraction, but since I didn't have any plan to go to city, I don't mind to stay on this hotel. The surrounding hotel is student community, where it was very easy to find food, ATM, 24 hr mini market, transportation, etc.
KFC in the lobby level is opened 24 hour also.

If in the future I find a promo rate again for this hotel, I am okay to stay.

Room Tip: ask for room that face Merapi Merbabu mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
8
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

2 nights staying at deluxe room, i was feeling nothing but satisfied. the room was extremely clean and everything ran well. The staffs were always smile and ready to help ,even my roomboy offered me a cup of tea while he was cleaning my room and found that i was reading a newspaper.That's something i can't find somewhere else.This first time stay was for business, next time holiday in Jogja I won't think twice to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Grand Dafam MM jogja at March 2012 nice hotel, big room and good rate,, free airport transfer is a great point of service not so far from biggest mall and not so far from Malioboro street its about 10 minutes

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is a fantastic choice away from the 'claustrophobic' Malioboro area. At nights the area outside the hotel just comes alive with many choices of food outlets as well as cafes.

as for the hotel, I can;t find a single fault as the staff are well-trained, from Management to ran& file staff. One word - BRILLIANT !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon after the official check-in time, yet the check in process was too long and unclear. Fortunately, the welcome drink was a relief. Arriving at the room, we were a bit disappointed--the room smelled damp, furniture was in unattractive colors, stuck windows, terrible view outside the window, and unflushed cigarette-butt in the water closet as if the bathroom was not double-checked after being cleaned. The bed was really comfortable, yet there was no safety box in the room. It was disappointing because this hotel was rated a 4-star. The AC in our room was terribly leaking and the engineering staffs were unable to handle it, so they decided to move us to another room. The second room, thank God, was much much better. It was room 229. The breakfast was tasty, with a lot of choices. It compensated all the uneasiness the day before. And one more thing, it was our honeymoon journey, yet it was not really romantic considering the fact that the hotel failed to accommodate our honeymoon set-up, although it had been requested online through the booking engine. Our stay was not really perfect, but the quick response from both housekeeping and engineering staffs when we need something had really been a plus. Look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms end with-29 were quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a large group of students. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The shower could have been improved with a glass door so that the bathroom would be kept dry. The staff were friendly and efficient. The free wifi was unfortunately weak and I had difficulty skyping. The breakfast was an international buffet where there was some variety and acceptable to any palate. The conference rooms which we used were functional but for some reason rather stuffy despite the air con. Near the hotel was a KFC fast food joint and other convenience shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merapi Merbabu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merapi Merbabu Hotel

Address: Jl. Seturan Raya, Depok | Sleman, Yogyakarta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merapi Merbabu Hotel & Resorts Yogyakarta is a four-star hotel perfectly located in the center of business district in the eastern side of Yogyakarta Special Region. Relish the magnificent of Merapi view from the firmly-stood seven-floor building that offers a combined atmosphere of a modern-style hotel. Being close to government office area and only approximately 15 minutes from Malioboro Street make the hotel a perfect choice for either business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Merapi Merbabu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merapi Merbabu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.