We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended restaurant near Prambanan Temple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kali Opak

Kali Opak
Bokoharjo village | Ngablak, Prambanan, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
+62 (0) 274 652 2976
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 443 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Recommended restaurant near Prambanan Temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Tucked in a quite village, on the bank of Opak River, this restaurant is often recommended by tour guides. We visited it before Rayamana Ballet, 5-10 min drive away. Not easy to get there on your own.

Their signature dish is gurame bakar (grilled fish with sweet sauce). Try the guava juice too.
Prices may not be cheap by local standard, but it's worthwhile compared to other food choices for those who are watching the ballet at Prambanan.

Tips: arrive early to beat the crowd, give enough time to get back to Prambanan before show starts at 7:30pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On our way to Prambanan, we stopped by Kali Opak as was recommended by our driver. We had the sound of the nearby river on our side, Grilled fish (gurami), fried prawns, kangkong and iced tea. Great food and nice ambience. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Restful riverside Resto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited Prambanan and decided to eat nearby. This Resto is tucked away in a little quiet village just next to the Prambanan temple complex, but to access it, you might be able to walk from Prambanan along the road next to playground in the direct opposite direction to the main exit to the shops and the car park. We decided not to chance it, and took the car around the village roads to reach this resto. Our driver informed us that many visitors for the Ramayana dance performance would have dinner here.
As luck would have it, the resto was pretty quiet at lunch. After entering via a non descript entrance, it opens up to a lovely hidden gem of a restaurant, with a babbling stream beside it, and shaded by large bamboo clusters. We tried the Gurame Bakar (Grilled Gourami/carp fish, in a special sweetish sauce), kangkung and sauted long beans, chicken bacem, and the Sambal Terasi (not enough, so we asked for more!). All the dishes were tasty and delightful. And although the portions were smallish, we thought that it was worth the trip out to experience the peaceful ambience of resto Kali Opak. Our meal cost INR250,000 excluding drinks and made a family of 5 happy and satisfied.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Truly amazing. A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our tour/taxi-driver brought us to this resto near to the Prambanan temples ground. It is such an amazing find cos the entrance is nothing to suggest it is a resto. However inside it is like a completely different world.

The ambience is great. The dishes are amazing and great, especially the grilled fish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Food were amazing, fresh and very delicious.. We ordered grilled carp (gurame bakar) as their recommendation, sautéed morning glory with seafood (Tumis kangkung seafood), they were both very delicious.. And Sambal terasi was very delicious too. Hearing sound of bamboo leaves, water and wind at the same time made eating at Kali opak is the best experience ever..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kali Opak also viewed

Sleman, Yogyakarta
 

Been to Kali Opak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kali Opak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.