We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to rest....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Pendopo Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added De Pendopo Homestay to your Saves list
De Pendopo Homestay
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Prawirotaman 1 No. 573 | (Behind Eclips Hotel), Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 328 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
PERAK MALAYSIA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best place to rest....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

we stayed here on 20/01/2012 - 24/01/2012....we absolutely loved it here!
it was our first time in jogja and we were unsure of the place that we should stay but once i found the reviews in trip advisor...i book dependopo straight away! thanks a bunch!!
our trip in jogja was a tiring trip (because we went to almost everywhere on motorbike) and the weather was quite hot....BUT when we got back to dependopo....the one thing we looked forward to is the cold shower (of course they have the hot shower also) and the comfy room!!....it was even more beautiful at night!!
just 1 thing that they could improve is to change the pillows....it was a bit flat for my neck....but other than that everything else is EXCELLENT! for all the tourists going to jogja and u are on budget but want a 5 star service....DO try dependopo!!
thanks budi + ira (and love and kisses to amor!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    40
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
76
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

i had a 3 weeks stay at de pendopo and i hv to say that i really enjoy it. the owner were so nice and helpful, trying to make our stay as comfortable as they can.

At first look, the room makes me say "wow". the downside of it were not much lightning n many mosquito. but when u see the bathroom, u will say "wow" again it's a transparent roof bathroom, u can soak while looking at the sky!!!

one more thing , i really like the location. so many restaurants nearby that can even do delivery to ur door. or if u feeling like cooking, u can cook at the homestay:)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This place is a gem! We stayed here for 2 night in December and would have loved to stay longer but it was booked :( A few side streets off a main road, it's in a perfect location for exploring. Riyadi & his family make you feel so welcome and they do whatever they can do to help. I travelled with 3 other girls and we felt the place was like our second home by day two! The rooms are spacious and have lovely seating outside. Bathrooms are wow.
Actually has a quaint & romantic feel to it with the added bonus that it is traditional Javanese.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for spending your time to write such a lovely review. We are happy that you decided to stay with us with your best friends. It is such a nice atmosphere to have your and your friends coloring my family environment. Yes, the place is in the walking distance to all good restaurants, spa, and travel agent for adventure in Yogyakarta, whether is historical visit to prambanan to rafting experience in elo/ progo river. We hope that you share this wonderful experiences to your friends and relative so more people coming to visit Jogjakarta , enjoy the culture and we will always be grateful to host them in our romantic Javanese house: de pendopo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Nilai, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stay for 4 days 3 nites here and this is our first time staying in a homestay. All I can say is magnificent and wonderful! The manager who takes care of the homestay is really friendly and helpful.. When we have to go to airport early in the morning, he woke up and cook our dinner even though he is sleepy. LOL.
The scenery is nice as well. The price is cheap as well, as compare to other homestay.
When I first saw the pics, I thought it was just a picture and I don't hope much for the room's decoration. But when I came to de pendopo, me and my roommates were amazed by it.. It doesn't look like a hotel room at all, It's clean and the bathroom looks exactly the same with the pics (without the candles of course. lol)
Keep it up and one day when I visit Jogja again, I will definitely come back.. ;)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is such a happy feeling for us to read the review from you. Thank you for staying with us and to write this good review in tripadvisor. Yes, we choose to name our place as a homestay rather than a hotel because we want to have better interaction with our guests, the ability to share the information about cultural, the culinary, the art and tradition of Javanese people, that in hotel may not be possible. The pictures are showing the place, but the ambience and wonderful charming atmosphere, we get it from your presence in our place. The early breakfast is part of our dedication to make sure that you are not having empty stomach for your long trip to the next destination of another adventure, so that you will enjoy your trip better. The candles as mentioned in the pictures are based upon request. There are some candles that have wonderful fragrant to relax that we believe can add the romantic aspect of your holiday in Yogyakarta. Just feel free to ask in your next visit to dependopo homestay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my hubby,we wanted to try different part of Jogja. I liked the interior of this place the minute i walked in,it's very homey..the bedroom was comfy, the place was located nearby few little restaurants and cafes, We liked the area because it's relatively quite and was not "too touristy". The only input I would suggest to the owner is to add a sink in the bathroom..but in general, this is a very good place if you're on budget..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a nice review for us and your kind attention. We are delightful that above all homestays and hotels scatters in Yogyakarta, you choose our place. You are correct that we are not located at the main street that is “too touristy” and noisy but it is in the walking distance to the nice restaurants, café and spa. We hope that when you are tired with the hustle bustle of Jakarta, you can come to visit us in the weekend, just to enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the cultural city of Jakarta with fresh and good quality of food for inexpensive price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our stay at De Pendopo was a really good one! The room is very quaint and cozy. The toilet is also really wonderfully decorated. It has a wooden and a hut feel to it. Very nice. They also prepared insect repellant and insecticide in your room in case any insects came in.

Breakfast was included in our package and Pak Budi is always up early even at 4.30am or 5.00am to serve us when we needed to leave early for our tour. He makes really good breakfast! He is also warm and can converse fluently in English so if you need anything, it will be easy to ask for assistance from him.

The only thing that I think you have to take note of is that the place is a little bit out of the way and taxi drivers or beca (rickshaw) drivers can't easily figure out its exact location. De Pendopo will give you a map when you book with them online so be very sure to PRINT THE MAP. You are going to need it to get here. Keep your eyes peeled for YELLOW SIGNBOARDS that point the way to De Pendopo. These signboards are quite small but glaring in colour and contrast to the buildings around it so look out for them. They willhelpyou find the place. Also, once you're settled at De Pendopo, be sure to still carry the map along when you go for your tours because getting back, you might still need it to show to the drivers.

A helpful tip: You might want to ask the drivers to stop you at Eclipse Hotel along the main road once you're familiar with the area. It's much more visible and you can walk in from there.

Other than that, you also have to inform Pak Budi personally when you would like to have your sheets and towels changed. Hanging the sign for room service outside does not seem to work because the helper is busy with her other tasks and it is understandable that she might have overlooked. Not an issue at all once you've informed Pak Budi.

All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay! Thank you De Pendopo!

Room Tip: Choose either one of the further back rooms because they are away from the main hall and will be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your generous review. Please accept our apology for the delay of the response. We were having good time when you were staying with us at dependopo homestay. Yes, the sign is in yellow color so hopefully it is bright enough and contrasts with the background. Our location is behind the hustle and noisy main street of prawirotaman street, so it is quiet and have a peaceful atmosphere. But the direction signs expected to help you to find the place. Just mentioned prawirotaman street one, all taxi driver and becak are familiar with the name of the street and just like you said, the location is behind the Eclips hotel. It is just two minutes walking from Prawirotaman street that full of nice and inspiring restaurants, art galleries and spa. I hope that you will come back again and visit Yogyakarta fo another nice adventure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I went to Indo for our honeymoon and after staying at the beautiful Rumah Dharma in Borobudur we had booked De Pendopo.... We actually went to Prambanan and the Ramayana Ballet so we had a really late arrival. Upon arrival we were taken to our room which was incredibly dusty and smelled terribly like moth balls, I unfortunately suffer from allergies and had a really hard time sleeping.
I would not want to stay at this place again although I must say that the people were really nice.
If you are looking for a place to lay your head and are in a low budget and don´t really care about the dirt then you might have a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank your for your review, it is valuable for our quality improvement. However, we never use moth balls in our rooms and we are very sure with this, as we only have 4 rooms and so it is easy to manage and ensure the quality of our service. We always change the bed sheet, bed cover and pillow cases before every single guest arrived, even for any time bed sheet changes can be arranged easily during the guest stays at our place. Towel is always cleaned and disinfected. We would be very happy to take you to the doctor if we knew that you are allergic to something as we have very good relationship with the best English speaking doctor in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Pendopo Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Pendopo Homestay

Address: Jl. Prawirotaman 1 No. 573 | (Behind Eclips Hotel), Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — De Pendopo Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Pendopo, a romantic boutique homestay in Yogyakarta, is an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural Yogyakarta. Facilities: 24 hours wi-fi, vast garden with tables and chairs and kids swing, private bathroom with bath tub and hot water, air conditioned room, 32 inch Panasonic Vierra LCD TV, veranda, shared chiller and pantry, a public desktop computer and printer, a public Samsung home theater with 42 inch LCD TV, a pendopo (Javanese hall). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your De Pendopo Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Pendopo Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.