We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a family feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poncowinatan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Poncowinatan to your Saves list
Hotel Poncowinatan
Jalan Poncowinatan no 3, Yogyakarta 55231, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel with a family feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I kinda like this hotel for many reasons. It's a walking distance to Malioboro. It's very near to a landmark called Tunggu (tower). It's a short distance to a trans bus pick-up point too. The staff are exceedingly friendly & it does feels like a family there. The food served taste home-cooked & pleasantly delicious. I have a very spacious room which was nice. Looks new. The only letdown is that it could be really noisy as guests tend to mingle in the assembly area & talk so loud such that if you stay in the first floor, it can really be uncomfortable. Maybe you can request to stay at the second level but I don;t think this will really help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed here for a quick layover for a very early morning flight. I chose a standard room with a ceiling fan (no A/C) and paid around $15 (US) so it was super cheap. The room was hot and stuffy without the A/C and if I was staying for more than one night, I would have probably changed to an A/C room.

The location is by itself and away from the main activities of Malioboro Road. No places for eating or shopping within close walking distance.

The other thing to note is that the toilet in the standard room was a squatter. I don't know what kind of toilets are in the other rooms.

Overall, it was cheap and clean enough for a quick stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The four of us piled into a deluxe room (queen + single) which costs IDR 375,000 per night (additional IDR 35,000 for extra person) and comes with TV, air-con, hot and cold shower.

Thankfully the room was fairly spacious so we had sufficient space to maneuver around. We learnt from one of the becak drivers that the hotel is pretty new, which probably explains its cleanliness and relatively new furnishings. Room service is provided every day, including change of fresh towels and complimentary mineral water refill - not bad service for a 'budget' hotel. The breakfast provided is delicious (tastes may vary) although the portion is a little small.

Location is great at 5-15 mins away from the train station depending on one's walking speed. The side street is well-lit with the market running late into the night - we had no difficulty getting late snacks on more than one occasion. One slight drawback of it being located next to the market is that light sleepers may get woken by the hustle and bustle as early as 530am. Getting a becak ride to the main Malioboro area was easy on the main street as well.

Overall a great place to stay for its clean rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast and location. =)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We are on our way back home after spending 6 nights at Hotel Poncowinatan. It was a very enjoyable stay. Our first night was in a fan room which is priced 150,000. It was a bit too warm for us so we switched to a superior room (250,000). As we were staying for 6 nights we got a very discount on it. The hotel is new and very very clean. The staff is very nice and always offering to help. It is a 5 min walk to Malioboro street, and we rented a scooter to go to further places in the city (scooter was 35,000 per day). The breakfast is Indonesian, which we weren't sure we would like at first, but turned out to be excellent, in fact, way better than the dry white toast that they serve in most of the other hotels. Every morning they change slightly the breakfast menu but all were delicious, with tea or coffee. There is a market that is very active on the street every morning, very local, which is nice if you want to buy some fruits at low cost. In the rooms you do not hear the cars and it is quiet. Connection of wifi is good. There is no pool though, but we realized we didn't need it as the AC was available and we had hot and cold showers. They offered to clean the room every day and gave us more water and tea (as we had a boiler in the room to make tea or coffee). There are a lot of restaurants in the area, but as Yogya is a big city, I would recommend renting a scooter or car to enjoy most of this city. All and all we loved our stay at Hotel Poncowinatan and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good value - clean rooms, nice staff, AC, Wifi, good breakfast, and location!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Poncowinatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poncowinatan

Address: Jalan Poncowinatan no 3, Yogyakarta 55231, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very nice hotel with cheap price and good location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Poncowinatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poncowinatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.