We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Little Oasis..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Hotel Jogja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Hotel Jogja to your Saves list
Oasis Hotel Jogja
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Prawirotaman I MGIII / 562, Yogyakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quite Little Oasis..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed there for 10 nite as my base to yogja solo semarang dieng day trip.Small quite hotel located behind Warung Heru at Jalan Prawirotaman..Just beside Warung Heru a small lane to the hotel..The staff are friendly..hotel are clean..like the small garden..room are small big enough for 1 or 2 person..Nice terrace on the top floor which you can sit and rilex..Not suitable for family because of size..2 minit walk to Jalan Prawirotaman..lot of becak waiting to anywhere in yogja city..around 20ribu rupiah oneway to Jalan Malioboro..alot of western restaurant at Jalan Praworotaman but if u are looking for Asian Chinese Halal food..you should just walk to Warung Cak Sule at Jl. Parangtritis..Few minute walk from Oasis..The price is VERY REASONABLE..food is good nice and not expensive..

Room Tip: stay top floor..you get to sit at the terrace to rilex..and have privacy..ground floor facing small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I really liked this place. It is small, but nice, a simple bed, small bathroom with hot shower, and an ok breakfast. The main reason for staying here was the location in Prawirotaman with great cafés and restaurants. The staff in the hotel is very nice and the only thing that really bugged me was that they did not clean the room even once during my 4 days stay. I had to asked to get the garbage bin taken out and the bathroom was never cleaned. Still, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Belize
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were arriving in yogya in a national holiday. Normally we just go with highest trip advisor review to price. But this time almost everywhere was fully booked so we had little choice. And were a bit worried about some of the bad reviews this place had had.

I can safely say that this place has a bad rep that it doesn't deserve.
The staff were lovely and the room was nice too. It was fine.
The best bit is the location, on a quiet side street away from the key road that you want to be near.
Breakfast was basic, but standard.
Free tea and coffee is a big plus.
Staff were really helpful and even helped us book a Susi air flight that none of the travel agents could do.
Also we survived an earthquake here.

We had a ground floor room.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: We got ground floor room and it had a little veranda, and we liked that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

first i came here,i must looking around bcoz this place not in the main of prawirotaman street,but you must looking an alley with mark name oasis hotel.i stayed for 2 days.with standard room.overall i like the place.very quite and far from disturbance.the interior room is very nice.it has television cable.the bathroom overall enough for me.i like the place.i"ll come here if i hv holiday jogja.nice place for stay.im from Jakarta.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I really wanted to love this hotel. It's budget priced and the staff are very friendly and it's located in a great area of Jogja, near lots of quality restaurants with abundant vegetarian options. My GF, who lives in Indonesia, is used to spartan accommodations and was far more generous in her appreciation of this place than I was. However, I have to be honest - this place has some big issues.

The biggest, in my mind, was the lack of hot water for showers. The water was room temperature at any hour of the day. That made for some miserable showers. (Indeed, the first thing I did when I get home was take a nice, long, hot shower!)

Secondly, the bathroom had abundant insects in it. Lines of tiny ants parading by, mosquitoes, little flies, and, most upsettingly, some little wormy things that seemed to come out of the water and squirmed about after showers. The mildew and old, rundown decor of the bathroom were disturbing too. I tried to spend as little time as possible in there.

The rest of the room was tiny and spartan as well. It was clean and comfortable, but barely fit the two of us (and we're very small people). The television only carried Indonesian channels. Luckily, we had brought some movies to watch on our laptop or we would have been stuck with some very boring and incomprehensible viewing options. They really need to shell out for cable so that there are options for non-Indonesian tenants.

Finally, although the courtyard of the building is lovely (with koi fish, adorable nightly gecko visitors, lots of plants, and attractive decor), they leave all sorts of stuff sitting out under the stairs, like towels on drying racks, children's toys, cleaning supplies, etc., that really detracts from the appearance of the place and makes it look like the sub-standard hotel that it really is.

We ate the breakfast there a few times and it was okay (fried egg sandwich with sambal, mayonnaise, cucumber, tomato and onion), but not the greatest. Although I loved staying in this part of town and would definitely stay in this neighborhood again, I can't say that I'd ever stay in this hotel again. There have to be better options for a similar price HAVE to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Staying for roughly a week in this place. Friendly staff but that's it. The place looks and feels old, not properly cleaned, and need renovation urgently. Our bathroom had spiderweb all over the ceilings and our veranda chair was broken. Wi-fi barely worked at all. Should've book a nicer hotel with the same price range which are a lot in the Prawirotaman area.

Room Tip: go to Via Via or nicer places around Prawirotaman. There are aplenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

... awaits those that unexpectedly stumble across this hidden treasure. I'm not sure where all the rosy reviews for the 'Oasis' came from, but either these people stayed at another hotel … or quite likely in other rooms (?). I had to shift to the Oasis from my other (quite nice, friendly) hotel for organizational reasons, and expected at least a similar minimum of adequacy for a small budget hotel. The Oasis is down a tiny dark alley off Jogyakarta's main tourist hotel strip … which could be moderately enticing were it like any of the other small lanes in town, but oddly, this one is a slit between two high concrete walls, with a flickering light half way along.

My cell, … ehhhrr 'room' (number 11, in case anyone wants to make sure they avoid it) is perhaps the most minimally spartan of any hotel room I have experienced anywhere in the world. Not only does in NOT have even a simple, tiny wobbly desk and chair (i thought these would be pretty standard) but the tantalizing scuffed grey walls would exhilarate anyone after visiting the city known for its mythical splendour as Indonesia's storied cradle of independence. You don't need to search long to NOT find the equally mythical 'terraces' that apparently grace each room, as your initial glance back across the cell only reveals a couple of barred windows next to the door you just entered through.

I did, with great humble sincerity ask the reception if they perhaps had another room. "No!" Perhaps a little table … anything really … ? "No!" I'm not quite sure if they understood my request, and that it was actually both reasonable and serious, but the answer was terse … not quite the friendly, or even the polite Javanese 'monggo' you would expect anywhere on the street.

The place seems adequately clean enough, although it's a bit hard to tell for sure as the sheets, pillows etc somehow merge seamlessly with the room's cheery overall dingy patina. Breakfast? Haven't made it that far yet … and not entirely sure I will.

Oasis … ? Only if you have a great sense of sardonic humour.

Room Tip: As in the review ... avoid 11. Not sure if any of the others are any better, but you certainly can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Hotel Jogja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel Jogja

Address: Jl. Prawirotaman I MGIII / 562, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Oasis Hotel Jogja 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Oasis Hotel Jogja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Hotel Jogja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.