We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urgently Need Renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Hotel Jogja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Hotel Jogja to your Saves list
Oasis Hotel Jogja
Jl. Prawirotaman I MGIII / 562, Yogyakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 329 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Urgently Need Renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Staying for roughly a week in this place. Friendly staff but that's it. The place looks and feels old, not properly cleaned, and need renovation urgently. Our bathroom had spiderweb all over the ceilings and our veranda chair was broken. Wi-fi barely worked at all. Should've book a nicer hotel with the same price range which are a lot in the Prawirotaman area.

Room Tip: go to Via Via or nicer places around Prawirotaman. There are aplenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
international
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

... awaits those that unexpectedly stumble across this hidden treasure. I'm not sure where all the rosy reviews for the 'Oasis' came from, but either these people stayed at another hotel … or quite likely in other rooms (?). I had to shift to the Oasis from my other (quite nice, friendly) hotel for organizational reasons, and expected at least a similar minimum of adequacy for a small budget hotel. The Oasis is down a tiny dark alley off Jogyakarta's main tourist hotel strip … which could be moderately enticing were it like any of the other small lanes in town, but oddly, this one is a slit between two high concrete walls, with a flickering light half way along.

My cell, … ehhhrr 'room' (number 11, in case anyone wants to make sure they avoid it) is perhaps the most minimally spartan of any hotel room I have experienced anywhere in the world. Not only does in NOT have even a simple, tiny wobbly desk and chair (i thought these would be pretty standard) but the tantalizing scuffed grey walls would exhilarate anyone after visiting the city known for its mythical splendour as Indonesia's storied cradle of independence. You don't need to search long to NOT find the equally mythical 'terraces' that apparently grace each room, as your initial glance back across the cell only reveals a couple of barred windows next to the door you just entered through.

I did, with great humble sincerity ask the reception if they perhaps had another room. "No!" Perhaps a little table … anything really … ? "No!" I'm not quite sure if they understood my request, and that it was actually both reasonable and serious, but the answer was terse … not quite the friendly, or even the polite Javanese 'monggo' you would expect anywhere on the street.

The place seems adequately clean enough, although it's a bit hard to tell for sure as the sheets, pillows etc somehow merge seamlessly with the room's cheery overall dingy patina. Breakfast? Haven't made it that far yet … and not entirely sure I will.

Oasis … ? Only if you have a great sense of sardonic humour.

Room Tip: As in the review ... avoid 11. Not sure if any of the others are any better, but you certainly can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The little hotel was near many delicious restaurant. The room met with the expectation of sleeping. The breakfast was just so so. There was no lift in the hotel. If you had heavy luggage with you, it might be not convenient, although the warming staff will help you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This little hotel was very nice. The receptionists were really friendly and nice.
Our room wasn't big nor small. But it was clean and quite neat. We didn't find any problem with the small bathroom also. The breakfast was quite good, they served fried rice with egg.

The location is hidden from the road, you have to enter the alley first. The parking area is just enough for 2-3 cars. But the location of this hotel (Jl. Prawirotaman I), is quite far from the downtown such as Malioboro, Keraton, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was slightly off the main street - down a narrow street. Most of the taxis we took did not know where it was. Lots of restaurants on the main street. About a 10 minute drive from the main areas of the city or a long walk! Hotel was quiet and rooms were pretty clean. The bathroom could have been cleaner as the shower looked dirty or moldy. They really should invest in a toilet paper roll cover as ours kept getting wet or falling onto the wet floor. The main room was clean though and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was not very exciting - toast and a fried egg for all three days. Wifi worked well in the room and in the lobby area. Nice little terraces outside the room and very well maintained public areas with a koi fish pond. Booked our tour to Borobudur/Prambanan with the hotel and it ended up being just the two of us and one other man. The following day we did the full day tour to Candi Ceto/Sukuh and it was just the two of us again. It was great and the tour company they use is friendly, professional and not expensive.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room - we had some ants in ours. Not a big deal, as it is common over there - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is my first time staying in Oasis Hotel, the hotel is only 100meter inside from the main road of Prawirotaman 1 street. The room was nice, with good air condition, small bathroom:( too small, funny with the tv position because they put in the wrong position at all (they need to rotate the bed position for made the guest watch properly) location was great because really peaceful and quiet, the staff was OK, the breakfast was good (we had Gudeg, the Jogja traditional food) and they bring the food to our room exactly at 08.00am like what we request.

They have 2 different door to access to the room (if you get the room in 2nd floor) like we had, we was stay in room no.7. One door is goes to the balcony terrace and one from the main door to the room:) the rest was OK.

Room Tip: I think all the room position its OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my friends ( 5 people ) and got the room in 2nd floor. All of the room are small enough and it seemed that they have problem in doing 'lay out'. For example, they put shower at the edge of small bathroom and we must pass the closet first. I think better they put the closet at the edge of this 'very small bathroom' :(. Second, they put the bed facing the window while the tv is located in the right side of the bed (how can we watch, then?). Maybe they have tried to put the bed facing the tv, we didn't know.
the hotel only has arround 11-12 rooms and you must book first to make sure that you'll get the room. Don't expect too much about the service. It seemed that the crews is not capable. They must call many times to one person only to get one information even we have listed down the simple question. Some children from other rooms ran here and there, scream and knocked our door in the night and morning. It seemed that their parent didn't care about what they did and let them bothering other guests. One thing that we like is only : every room has its own verandas so we can take breakfast and relax there. Room rate is suitable for budget traveler like us, just arround idr 210.000 to idr 235.000.

Room Tip: Choose the room in second floor which is facing to the the small alley , so you can take breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Hotel Jogja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel Jogja

Address: Jl. Prawirotaman I MGIII / 562, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Hotel Jogja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Hotel Jogja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.