We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with average price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malioboro Inn

Malioboro Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Malioboro Inn to your Saves list
Malioboro Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Sosrowijayan No 23 - 25, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Bekasi, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel with average price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in standard room, on the second floor of minimarket across the main hotel. I've got the room with balcony, quite big rather other room in the same floor. Clean and bright bathroom. This hotel is at good location, not far from the main road Malioboro. There's a breakfast at hotel. Price range 350k for standard

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for a night just yesterday with my husband, location was great on the best part of Yogya (the Malioboro) next to tugu train station.

We went to Yogyakarta from Jakarta by train, Senja Utama (no AC, Rp250,000 or USD24/high season rate, depart Senen, Jakarta at 0830pm, arrive Tugu, Yogya at 5am). We called hotel the day before to inquire about a very early check in (at 5am). They allow early check ins, but only if your room is cleaned and ready. We said to the reception, after hours and hours of travel, it's the next best thing to having a shower, so we really need this early check in. So he said, we will try our best to accommodate your request, but make no guarantees:( Aaargh!. The staff then offered us to use employee's bathroom if we can't get our early check in. What a friendly family service, we really appreciate it.

We arrived in Yogyakarta at 5am, since we have no other place to go, we headed for a hotel (we rode becak = Rp10,000). To our surprise, the check-in went smoothly, no need to wait and no extra charge!.

Actually all went well with the hotel. The room was neat and clean and the space was just enough. Much better than we had expected.

Minus points are:
1. the shower (it will take about sometime for the upper element to heat it's water),
2. buffet style breakfast (limited food selection, it only included Indonesian breakfast menu (steam rice, nasi goreng, 2 proteins and 1 veg), chicken porridge, fruit platters, instant coffee dispenser (nescafe)/tea/juice/water. No selection of bread.)
3. the indoor pool was SO small.

Tips:
- From the hotel you can actually walk to the train station. Head to Gang Sosrowijayan wetan (Next to malioboro mart/convenience store), at the end of the gang you turn left until you find abadi hotel yogyakarta, the train station is right in the front of the Abadi hotel.
- From the tugu station, find your way to abadi hotel, turn left until you find the second turn/GANG (Second GANG, gang nomor dua).
- From/to airport/SOLO: airport is only 10 minutes from Tugu train station. Prambanan Ekspres (Prameks) trains runs around 10 times daily between Yogya and Solo. This train is a good option for a day trip to Solo from Yogya or Yogya from Solo. Estimated travel time to Solo is an hour. Rp10,000 per way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This place is pretty flash looking from the road and measures up okay when you get inside with small but tidy rooms and a small but nice pool right in the middle.
They offer free Wifi internet but it does not work in all rooms so you have to go downstairs where there is complete coverage.
Buffet breakfast is included in the room rate but all the food is local Indonesian cuisine so if you want a western style breakfast forget it.
The location of the hotel is a big plus as it is within walking distance of the railway station and only about 2 mintues off the main shopping area of Malioboro which also has the main route for the local bus service.
So overall this place is more than acceptable but if you are a foreigner you may feel a little out of place at times as it definitely is more aimed at locals than tourists.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Seemed brand new when we three couples from South Africa stayed there in Sept 2009 - IMMACULATE. Superb value, small but adequate rooms, best showers we had in Bali-Java. We were the only westerners there so breakfast was so-so, but they tried! Bedrooms are all situated around a small paved atrium/courtyard with a pristine swimming-pool. The passage walkways surrounding this central swimming pool court-yard (and the stair wells ) are hung with oil paintings and there are two carved chairs and table outside each bedroom. The position is ideal on Sosrowijayan, directly opposite Gang 1, a quaint narrow alley with tiny shops, accommodation and Superman Restaurant where one night a blind musician played (as usual we were the only westerners). Within easy walking distance, in Malioboro (with all its motor cycles and becak taxis), is Beringhardjo indoor market, packed with locals. Across the road from there is Mirato Batik where you can shop in comfort. Above that we made a gem of a discovery - the rooftop restaurant.... elevated private "pavillions" where we could even get beer!

Room Tip: Swimming pool is right outside ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malioboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malioboro Inn

Address: Jl. Sosrowijayan No 23 - 25, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malioboro Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Malioboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malioboro Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.