We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering the Price, Rather Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ViaVia Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ViaVia Guesthouse to your Saves list
ViaVia Guesthouse
Jl. Prawirotaman 30, Yogyakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 329 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Singapore
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Considering the Price, Rather Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I usually stay in slightly more upmarket hotels (4 to 5 stars) but was advised by a friend who lives in Yogyakarta that I might appreciate this place. I must say I did. I stayed her for three nights in the third week of January and certainly considering the price I must say I had an excellent stay. I stayed in a downstairs room of which I forgot the name. It was a spaceous room with a twin-bed, a/c and private bathroom. The room was clean and somewhat spartanly decorated with only a slightly odd picture's of somebody's feet on the wall. I was not altogether convinced by this piece of art but I can see its attraction. The room also contained a little desk and chair. The bathroom was very simple. The room comes with towels but not toiletries as can be expected for this price. The shower was absolutely brilliant, in fact one of the better showers I came across in a hotel in a long time. Almost instantly warm as well. The sink is small with a small ledge to put your stuff on. Toilet was clean, nothing much to add here. I did come across a rather large cockroach when I walked into the bathroom once, and there were some tiny beetles on their way somewhere. It did not particularly bother me. One has to keep in mind that this is a simple bed and breakfast, clean, but close to an open and most of all tropical garden, so insects do tend to roam rather freely. The staff speaks fluent English and is generally very cheerful and helpful. Breakfast was complimentary. The first day I had an omlette and toast, the second day there was a toatie with tomatos and onion. I am sure one can request for something else but I went along with whatever was on the menu. The outside garden is pleasant and a good place for a beer though it is a short walk to many other estalbishments nearby, among which the cheerful ViaVia Cafe, owned by the same people. Yes, I do recommend this place: it's simple but it gets the job done and moreover it is really quite affordable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaviaj0gja, Manager at ViaVia Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mbaas,

Thank you very much for this thoughtful review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, and thanks to your friend for recommending us!

You must have stayed in the Papua room, and the photo on the wall is taken at a party in honor of a local leader in Wamena. Local customs is to dress up and adorn the body with animal grease and ash, hence the photo. I agree that the aesthetics can be debated, but I find Papuan customs very intriguing. We hope the photo will inspire (?)(!). Discuss. :)

Bugs - from time to time, yes! We are working with a certified company to manage. We are again looking into what we can do to improve! Thank you for the inputs.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
50
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here over the New Year's holiday, which is peak season, so the price was somewhat higher, but it was still great value. The rooms are simple and small, but full of lovely touches. I enjoyed the furnishings made of recycled materials (toilet paper roll made of an old doll, storage box made of old tires...). My room was also equipped with an ensuite outdoor, bamboo bathroom, which was a very nice touch.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts they made were delicious. They were very polite and friendly to both me and my friend.

The location is great: down a gang/alley, so it's fairly quiet, but close to Jl. Prawirotaman, which has many tourist facilities (tour booking, motorbike rental, cool restaurants-- including the ViaVia Cafe!-- and small shops).

Anyway, highly recommended for your next visit to Yogya!

Room Tip: Kalimantan and Sulawesi rooms, if I'm not mistaken, have the bamboo bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place. I stayed in the Jawa room, which is small, simple and shares a bathroom with another room. But the price was very reasonable, especially considering everything else that comes with staying here - great wifi connection (best I've had after 3 weeks in Indonesia), good breakfast and, most of all, excellent staff. Dani, Sami and everyone else here make you feel very comfortable and at home, even if you spend much of the day out, as I often did. Their English and knowledge of the city is also very helpful. All in all - good place, great value, excellent staff. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just outside the centre but you can rent a scooter/ bike for nothing or use the bus to get to the centre.
Rooms: very good and clean and shower outside (nature shower), different choises, with arco or fan, both are good and cheap.
Service: great! Very friendly and honest staff.
Location: small garden to have breakfast or lunch which they make with love. Quiet place close to a busy street

The viavia-concept is :take care of the vulnerable environment. Always good.
Also go to the via via booking office and book a cooking course with Made. She is a great cook.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

stayed 2 night at via-via, [java and sumatra room]. small room, but clean and comfortable. good internet connection. good breakfast and also take away breakfast if you want leave via-via more early in the morning. next trip, i will take sulawesi or kalimantan room, with small terrace and outdoor bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Place:
The guesthouse is situated inside a narrow "gang" or alleyway about 30-50m from the main road, Jalan Prawirotaman. It's private enough for a good night sleep and yet near then main road where there's a massage place, restaurants and a convenience store at the corner. The guesthouse is surrounded by tile-roofed native Yogyakartan homes that it feels so livable and native.

Accessibility:
Taxis can bring you to the place, but walking is more preferable.

The Room:
I stayed in 3 rooms which is adequate if you're a solo traveler. The beddings smell nice and are clean. They are comfortable enough for a good night's rest. There was only a small contraption to hang your clothes onto, but sad to say, the place lacks a cabinet for your clothes or a small table/console to put your bags. I hope the staff would rectify this by using the space under the bed as a storage space, much like a trundle bed. The rooms are clean with white tiles and high cielings, and each is equipped with muted yellow bulbs for lighting and an overhead ceiling fan.

The Bathroom:
Depending on which room you're booked into, it can ranged from a shared bathroom to a private shower with earth-toned tiles and bamboo to an open-air bath with a mango tree growing beside the shower head. All the baths have rain showers installed and the water pressure I have to say is strong and have good hot and cold options.

The Staff:
The staff are fantastic and so friendly. They know you by name and are so accommodating when it comes to requests for food, storage and tours. The speak very good English (not impeccable) that one can bond with them quickly. I can assure you they will make your stay memorable.

The Price:
The price is cheap and competitive. You get more than what you pay for in this guesthouse. This alone MUST be your deciding factor. And besides, with the quality of the Viavia group, I can say that it will suffice, or even surpass, your expectations (since their quality control is European in nature)

Rating: 4/5

Room Tip: Choose the room with an open-air bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaviaj0gja, Manager at ViaVia Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you, thank you, thank you and thank you for this thoughtful review!!

First of all, thanks for the great words addressed at our (I agree, fantastic) staff! I will make sure they know!!

Also thank you for the inputs on storage space. We will look into it again to come up with some better solutions.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to write the review! Hope to see you again!

All the best,

ViaVia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed one night at Via Via and wish we could have stayed one more. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We stayed in the Bali room, which while small is very clean and has a private outdoor bathroom. There is a lovely communal terrace out back. The guesthouse is located south of the Kraton in a quiet area of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaviaj0gja, Manager at ViaVia Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sha,

Thank you for your review!

Don't you just feel like reading your book in that bathroom? I like it very much too!

We get so much great feedback addressed to our staff, and again, I will make sure they know their work is appreciated!!!

Hope to see you again!


Best wishes,
the ViaVia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ViaVia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViaVia Guesthouse

Address: Jl. Prawirotaman 30, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your ViaVia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ViaVia Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.