We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service or just bad luck?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta to your Saves list
Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Dagen 8 | Malioboro, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad service or just bad luck?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I spent two nights in Yogyakarta last weekend. Big curiosity with the rapid growing of hotels in Yogyakarta took me try two different hotels. The first night was alright, but the second was bad. After checked-out from the first hotel, my friends and I went to the beach in south Yogya. We arrived back to Yogya at 9 pm to check-in in Whiz hotel in Jalan Dagen. We were so tired that we felt a nice and warm shower could refresh us. But, no soap came out from the liquid soap box in the bath room, while I was already flush myself with shower. Very bad. My wife then called the reseptionist to refill the soap. Two times called and same answers : "We will send our staff to do that." After 20 minutes, no one came, so I dressed again, go down and half-yelled the front desk staff : "Is it that difficult to refill the bath soap in my room?". I left him and joined my friends who waited for me outside. With some nice reviews from other travellers here, I was wondering "was it just a bad luck for me?" No, it was a bad service from the hotel, and unfortunately we paid too much for this mediocre hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azis S, Manager at Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr.Ronny Joni,
Thank you for staying at Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta during your visit to Yogyakarta recently. We thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are very sorry to find that your stay was not comfortable. Please accept our apology and give us a chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    68
    60
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
29
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location at the heart of Malioboro, an easy short walk from the train station and a couple of blocks from the heart of the back packer area. The room was clean and perfect size for two. The wifi was reliable and fast. Breakfast was also yummy. The most outstanding part of our stay was the hospitality of the staff. They were kind and helpful-always a smile at hand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azis S, Manager at Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear lil_birdie,
Thank you for your valuable feedback during your visit to Yogyakarta recently and stay at Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta. Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denpasar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice location, clean room but small. The staff is friendly. Breakfast is delicious. There are a lot of restaurants near the hotel. Suitable for short stay or business trip but not for traveling with children

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located in the heart of Malioboro, gives an easy access to go shopping, dinning or just wonder around Malioboro Mall. The room size was small, simple and clean but not so much for a privacy. The breakfast also come in a small package... so if your looking for more variety, it's better just to walk outside

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Unlike most other hotel rooms, Whiz hotel had a separated toilet and shower in the room, divided by a glass wall. The exhaust fan in toilet area didn't work well, so the unpleasant smell always there during my stay. Shower runs very slow, it took so long to clean my hair from shampoo. Also, the water leaking to foyer area.

Breakfast was fine, they served local meal (gudeg, etc), but there's no american breakfast. Although bed was so comfy, i would not go back

Room Tip: choose room where the air ventilation works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The room's size was okay, simple and pretty clean, bed was comfortable for my liking. The ventilation in the toilet wasn't working well so it had foul-smell, sometimes even had cigarette smells either from other rooms or somewhere else (note: it was a non smoking room). Me and my husband didn't complain about it though as it was still bearable. The staff were very friendly and smiley all the time. Hotel is strategically located just next to the main shopping area of street shops, mall and morning market. I would recommend this hotel for the location and staff service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Bali
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Very convenience and comfort. Located in the heart of Malioboro, giving us an easy access to go shopping and dinning. Price is reasonable. Had a great time with my family while staying in Whiz hotel Jogja.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta

Address: Jalan Dagen 8 | Malioboro, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a very strategic area on Jalan Dagen, Malioboro, at the heart of the city’s tourism business district, truly gives added value for smart travellers seeking the best possible services and facilities at affordable rates.Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta is surrounded by friendly amenities that include various shopping centers, eateries and other commercial sites.Indeed, guests are taken into the comfort of home with the rooms that are designed in modern and comfortable interiors. Aside from the hotel’s 24-hour security that ensures both safety and privacy, the presence of our friendly staff with their genuine smile reflects our friendly hospitality that makes our guests’ stay truly enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whiz Hotel Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.