We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Food in Yogyakarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Cuisine - CLOSED

Colonial Cuisine
Jl. Timoho No. 31 | Opp. Ganesha APMD, Yogyakarta 55225, Indonesia
0274566518
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, International, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Colonial Cuisine serves Indian & World Cuisine.
Pune, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food in Yogyakarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We searched this place on the Internet and went searching the address. The location is quite alright, though not very close to the central area.
The ambience is simple, but comfortable. The best thing was food. We sampled almost all variety of Indian food, over 3 meals and we liked all the curries, soup, papad, rotis, nans etc. For people who cannot tke spicy food, it would be a good idea to instruct them to prepare the food mild.
The service is extremely prompt, about 15 min is all it takes to get the food for 4-5 people.
We really loved this restaurant

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not good. Avoid.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The building is very nice. The waitstaff were super eager and happy to have a customer since we were the only ones there that evening. However, it was sad that an Indian resto could be out of lentils! They had mediocre curry. There were many little red bugs in the annis seeds and sugar that they gave us to chew on for an after dinner treat. I would not recommend!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Cuisin... I, Manager at Colonial Cuisine, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Thanks for taking time to comment on your visit to Colonial Cuisine. We appreciate the same.

We are sorry if you were not fully satisfied during your visit to Colonial Cuisine. We understand that you did not like the Curry prepared by us. We understand consistency in food preparation is a difficult job and sometimes dishes do not come up to the expectation of a guest. We appreciate your inputs and would improve on consistency of food served by us.

We sincerely apologize if you found ants in the Saunf/Gula Batu you had at Colonial Cuisine. We have introduced small plastic packets for keeping Saunf after your suggestion. Thanks.

We hope you visit us again and your experience next time is great.

Regards
Management
Colonial Cuisine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Cuisine also viewed

 
Sleman, Yogyakarta
Sleman, Yogyakarta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.