We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with nice ambient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta to your Saves list
The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Mangkuyudan No. 32, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice hotel with nice ambient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

stay here on company trip for family day.
the hotel is looks like a palace. however the room is such a turn off. does not reflect the place at all.

however the swimming pool area is nice.
easy access to public transport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Good morning Mr. Asrul. We are thankful for you and friends to stayed in The Grand Palace Yogyakarta. Now we are proudly presents our new rooms, bathrooms, products and services. Hope there will be a chance for us to serve more you in the near future. Warm greeting from The Grand Palace HOtel Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

thanks The Grand Palace Hotel, it good place and service ecxellent to me. location is not far from airport and town city. swiming pool is cleaned. however this hotel is be the best for me. You'll be the first one for next my trip...

Room Tip: deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Hello Mr.Josse. We are proud to make you satisfied with our service. Now we have renovate our rooms, bathrooms, and also innovate our products and services. Hopefully you can realize your wish for come again to Yogyakarta, and of course make The Grand Palace Hotel as your very first choice to stay. We are thankful for your trust and satisfaction. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

While booking my tour to Indonesia, I was recommended this hotel by a local travel agent. On line it looked great and grandeur. Arriving at the reception and checking in, looked like the choice was right.
Roman style pillars and a pool surrounded by trees gave the impression you were having a GRAND stay. Even more impressive when they advised I was getting a free upgrade to the deluxe room. But that is where the impressiveness ends.
The deluxe room was anything but deluxe. Its the size of a standard room, and bare necessities. There were stains on the tiled floor that looked like old dried ketchup, the sheets and pillow cases old and faded, and one pillow had dried stains that I assume were part of the ketchup on the floor. Yes it was red. The bathroom reasonably sized, had a lingering sewage odor that refused to go away.
10mins later after calling my agent, the front desk staff was up at my room and offered to move me back to the originally booked room. Downgrading from deluxe to standard.
The standard room smaller in size was actually a bit more comfortable, with just a bed and tv (not a lot of english channels to watch), but the bathroom was the size of a closet, literally.
Probably in the range of 5ft by 5ft. Open the door, the throne is to the left, a curtain separates the shower and washbasin. Yes they are behind the same curtain, and close to each other. You can have your shampoo and soap in the sink and still grab it while under the shower. The electrical socket for a shaver just above the sink also easily sprayed by the shower water.
Location wise, its quite far from any worthwhile places, and that includes Marliboro shopping street. So you cant really walk around and find any shopping or restos but I presume transport by cabs should be available although I didn't try it.
Breakfast was more towards Indonesian cuisine so forget about looking for eggs and other familiar items.
I think the hotel caters mostly to locals rather than tourists, since all I saw was local guests. This included the next night when bus loads of school kids arrived and created all kinds of chaos.
Running and howling in the corridors till almost 1am, despite the teachers yelling numerous times to keep the noise down. They kept knocking on doors and running off, and several times dialing random room numbers on the phone and hanging up.
At 630am, the same chaos ensued while they checked out and the hotel staff were convinced by the kids to open rooms that had guests under the pretense their friends were still in the rooms and not on the bus. So housekeeping happily opened and tried to enter my room.
Giving credit where its due, the staff do speak good english, and they are friendly and helpful but thats about the only good thing I can say about the place.
Definitely wouldn't go back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Good afternoon Mr.Khalid. Hello Mr.Josse. Thank you to stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. We are sorry for the situation that day. As feedback for your review, we already have renovate our rooms, bathrooms, and also innovate our products and services. Now we have new clean fresh rooms and bathrooms. Hopefully you can experience the new face of The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. Warm greeting for you and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Really nice hotel with lovely furnishings and pool. Room was nice and spacious - would definitely recommend no smoking room - with good facilities. It took a long time to check in as the staff weren't sure what we had booked online, although the manager was really helpful in resolving our issues. Throughout the stay we found it quite difficult to arrange things as the staff didn't seem to pass on messages and know what was going on i.e. booking a scooter etc. But overall a nice place to stay as a treat.

Room Tip: Make sure you select a non smoking room unless you want a musty, old smelling place. Room 117 is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Good afternoon Mr.Lokes. I wish you in great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. And thank you for giving a good suggestion for our next customers. Proudly we inform that now we have renovate our rooms, bathrooms, and also innovate our products and services.Hopefully we can meet again in the near future to spend your holiday in our beloved The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. Warm Greeting for you and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Palace for 2-nights recently and the experience was not bad. Hotel is quite pretty from the outside and staff are outstanding in their level of service (albeit a little struggle with their English).

Downside of the hotel is that it is nestled in a very small alleyway in Yogja so not as easy to go walk on the streets or get to the busy core of the city ---- the hotel was perfect for us though, serving as a base for our tour pick-up each morning.

Breakfast is also OK - they try and accommodate westerners with eggs and some toast but the menu is more extensively Indonesian food (rice, noodles, etc).

Rooms were a good size and relatively clean --- I would do a quick inspection of the bed though. And showers don't always have hot water (keep the water on for a few minutes and it does get hotter).

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and seemed fine. I would check the room/bed sheets when you first g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Good afternoon Mrs.Sereen. Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. To respond your review, now we have renovate our rooms include bathrooms and its amenities, bedsheets, linen, and also innovate our products and services. Hopefully we can meet again to experience the new face of The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is literally nestled between homes and shops. However, transport as in taxis and trishaws were easy to obtain. Restaurants near the hotel offers plentiful local food if you are the adventurous foodie.
The swimming pool is very nice and we had a room on the ground floor facing the pool, so it was a pleasant stay. We stayed in the Superior Room which cleanliness borders on average and so are the bathrooms.
Helpful, courteous staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Good afternoon Mrs.Yeoh. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. Proudly we inform you that we already renovate our rooms and bathrooms, also upgrade our products and services. Hopefully you can come again in the near future. There are still a lot of beautiful places that you must see in Yogyakarta. Warm greetings for your family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the outside, it looked very impressive, I thought I was going back to the imperial times in Indonesia. The staff were friendly but the superior rooms are anything but. The bathrooms are a disaster of very poor design and decoration. Probably a hangover from the roman times.
It would make a good family hotel as the swimming pool looked fun, but definitely not a place I will go back to.

Room Tip: Dont go for so-called 'superior'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Good afternoon Mr.Laurie. Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. To respond your review, now we have renovate our rooms include bathrooms and its amenities, bedsheets, linen, and also innovate our products and services. Hopefully there is a chance for us to show you how much we concern of our customers. We will wait for your coming in the near future. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. Mangkuyudan No. 32, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.