We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with lots of charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kampoeng Djawa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kampoeng Djawa Hotel to your Saves list
Kampoeng Djawa Hotel
Jl. Prawirotaman 1 no. 40, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Farmington Hills, MI
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place with lots of charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at Kampoeng Djawa for 6 days and it was fantastic! The staff was very kind and would always make sure I was having a good time. The room was quaint and had a lot of Indonesian style. Though the walls seemed thin and I could hear the people in the room next door, it didn't bother me much.

Just a heads up, this is Indonesia and there are a lot of animals even in the city area. A lizard was in my room at one point and every now and then I could hear a mouse squeak and skitter on the roof. To some people this may be a setback but again, I wasn't bothered by it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
8
41
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Frankly, it is below my expectation. The hotel was so small, but their service is excellent!

They have no parking lot, so the guests park their cars on the street. It's safe, they said.

The hot water is unstable but since Yogyakarta is hot, it's forgivable.

I was stayed in suite room, two beds, not recommended for couple (they set the beds lengthwise).

Breakfast (gudeg) is delicious and they serve afternoon snacks.

Perfect for budget travelers.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, choose the room with shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I think this place ll'be once of favorite hotel/guesthouse in Jogjakarta. Good value, good service and all staff very helpfull and nice, they can help you to planningjogja tour. Ilike my breakfast when I'm stay, opor ayam (very nyumi but not ready everyday)

About the room decoration is unique, adapts from room in java kampong..about location in tourist area prawirotaman, more comfotable than sosrowijan area I think.

Tips to around Jogja please using motorcycle bike rent just 50.000 - 70.000rp/day it's more cheaper than you use travel..enjoy Jogja trip!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Traditional built guest house. Location is just perfect. Breakfast served with local food, quite delicious and the portion is enough for each of us.
Staff very friendly and helpful. While check in, the very heavy baggage was taking by them to the first floor. Via the conversation, the staff say both the room upstair was luxury room. Then, we found it was true!!! Hahahaa...The design inside the room was great. Unfortunately, we found cockcroach in the room,but they try their best to clean it up for us immediately. Their advise on transportation and tour very reliable.
Good value for money. Sure will come back next time.

Room Tip: For those who are scary to step on the stair, kindly request the ground floor room because the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Traditional built guesthouse with a beautiful courtyard. Clean and spacious rooms with private "terrace". Every day free afternoon tea with delicious pastries. Staff is friendly and helpful. You can book tours at the reception (we did one to Borobudur; do not book with included breakfast, it's crap!). Location of the hostel is in the middle of a touristy neighborhood with a lot of restaurants, travel agents and laundry services but quiet a long walk from the town center. Good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights in Kampoeng Djawa. Kampoeng Dajwa definetely has its own charm, the rooms are clean; the staffs are friendly, if you need help with the tour and transportation, their advise is very reliable; we love the afternoon tea time and looking forward for it ^_^

The location is perfect, you can easily reach the main tourism place such as Taman Sari, Sultan's Palace and Malioboro either by walking or get a becak who can easily found when you step off from the hotel. Dont worry about your meal, you can find numbers of really good restaurant that provide western food or if you are into local food, in the morning there is a quite delicious Gudeg seller and there is angkringan (warung nasi kucing) open in the afternoon just across the hotel that provide you with delicious home style food.

Definitely will be back for stay in this hotel again:)

Room Tip: If you cannot stand the hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in Kampoeng Djawa with my boyfriend for one night. We booked through internet and it said that the type of the room is Luxury Suit.
Pros; the room itself was nice with Javanese interior. The staff are really friendly and helpful. They let us get the room quite early. The afternoon snack with clay tea pot was good.

Cons: We had room on the 2nd floor with balcony facing the road, room no.8. We had trouble sleeping because of the noise from the street. The toilet wasn't flushing properly, the shower was spoiled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampoeng Djawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampoeng Djawa Hotel

Address: Jl. Prawirotaman 1 no. 40, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kampoeng Djawa is an ethnic traditional design guesthouse. Bringing you the comfort and the warm of Yogya's village atmosphere.An Ethnic Design Hostel with Traditional Java Concept Living and Atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Kampoeng Djawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampoeng Djawa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.