We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1001 Malam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1001 Malam to your Saves list
Hotel 1001 Malam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sosrowijayan Wetan, GT I/57, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The courtyard is a tranquil garden setting with a fish pond. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is courteous and accommodating. It is very close to Malioboro and restaurants. Every room has a table and 2 chairs outside of it, they bring your breakfast to your table each day. Mr. Tom picked us up from the airport, we also went on a sunrise tour to Borobudur with him. He is a wonderful asset to the hotel. I highly recommend 1001 Malam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    163
    30
    10
    1
See reviews for
33
118
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Until today i still at this hotel staying for a week.. it was gambling by choosing this hotel for my visit for my work.. i stayed at different hotel before, but second i am here gave me good impressed that why i wrote this review.. realy happy to be here all people are nice and friendly. Quick booking. In the city and close to importance spot and bars. Realy recomended to stay at 1001.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is very good. located in a strategic area. Only 5 minutes from the station and Malioboro street. The hotel is ideal for the solo backpacker or couple who wants a cozy, safe, and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the updside and near the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Easy access to shopping famous street Jl Maliboro. Easy to have/find local food or fast food.

Very friendly staff, room not so big just nice to fit 2 ppl's. Breakfast nice and free flow coffee/tea.

Near hotel we have "mosque". Laundry/Saloon is near by.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Fitst time i was confuse which hotel i will choose for hotel to stay. Than i browsed online and open their website. I email them yhe reapond quick and seems like they are prodessional. I open also ttopadvisor to see how happy people stay at thiis hotel. I saw many people satisfied so i decide yo book online. And yess i had great choise i feel so happy and homy. Rrcomended and bravo for this hotel to make all guest happy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast, delivered in your room for free, nice rooms and atmosphere although a little overpriced at 450k a night.
Friendly employees, even let us store luggage when we already left the hotel a few days ago.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Let me start this review by saying that I love Jogja. Yes, I do! I love the atmosphere with its rich Javanese traditions and cultures. I took both my sisters, a niece and nephew and we chose to stay here. We enjoyed staying here and be close to the locals that resides along the alley just outside the hotel. We felt safe and was always given service with a smile and warmth by all the staffs. I must especially mention that Pak Tom, our tour guide and driver throughout our stay has been very accommodating, patient and diligent in his duties. This respectable man went the extra mile. Everyone of us miss him. I highly recommend any visitors to use his service when in Jogja. Matur nuwun, Pak Tom! Thank you, Jogja and Hotel 1001 Malam. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Address: Sosrowijayan Wetan, GT I/57, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 121 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
artistic, new, ethnic, elegant, traditional hotel in the heart of malioboro area... each of our 16 rooms comes in a different painting that will take ur breath away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1001 Malam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.