We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice traditional ethnic atmoshphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mirota Batik

Mirota Batik
Jl. Jend. A. Yani 9 (Malioboro Street), Yogyakarta, Indonesia
+62 274 588524
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Shopping in Yogyakarta
Type: Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pretty nice traditional ethnic atmoshphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was so enjoying the atmosphere, it's so ethnic with the dupa smell (traditional aroma therapy) all around the shop and the gending jawa song (Javanese traditional song). We were so enjoying the moment for we didn't realize we had spent quiet long times searching for batik at the shop. It was almost 9 pm, the officer had announced all the customers through the microphone that the shop was going to close at 9 pm. Knowing that the shop was going to close soon, we decided to come again here tomorrow night, because we still needed to buy some batiks for oleh-oleh (gift).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    76
    14
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“one stop shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

there is a lot of junk to wade through, but also lots of gems at very good prices and different levels of quality to cover the range of my needs. the kitsch factor is also fun. i bought all my souvenirs for jogja from this one spot in an hour. clear fixed prices and paid by credit card.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Looking for batik for ladies and kids, don't bother going there! The quality or model are limited with poor quality. Much difference from 3 year ago when i went there. But the chocolate Monggo is still there and still taste amazing

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best shopping in Yogya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

If you want to buy cheap and all in one place this is the one. Great variety of tradiitional goods, fixed and very good prices (no negotiatons). Must see in Yogya! You wont leave without bag of souveniers and presents.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE MUST DO IN YOGJA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the best and cheapest gift shop i have experienced in indonesia , they only stock the best of indonesian art , craft , batik and antiques , you can spend hours browsing around the 2 floors in air/con comfort and still only manage to see a fraction of what they offer , the place is crowed with indonesian shoppers who really know value for money .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirota Batik also viewed

 

Been to Mirota Batik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirota Batik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.